We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
361
36
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
36
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews base camp eagle view masai mara the river game drives domestic airport local women female guide nairobi office walking safari national park amazing experience great safari two nights local community outdoor shower animals grazing
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 407 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2018

We went there with a big group of 40 people, and had a wonderful stay at all 4 camps. The staff is all trough so friendly and helpful, the guides so knowledgeable - we learned so much! The food is super, even for me as a vegetarian. The tents are comfy and nice - we especially loved Eagle View. We just fell in love with this place!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina_503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Nina,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our Camps and always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. It was great hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

I'm a regular at Basecamp - check my earlier reviews. All still stand: it's a brilliant place at its price point, comfortable, with really friendly, engaging staff, knowledgable guides, good food, and a very good location. Here I'll review something different from my earlier visits: how well the guys at Basecamp catered for the birthday of a eight-turned-nine year old girl in our party recently. Richard the chef baked a fantastic and HUGE birthday cake, Seif managed the arrangements perfectly, all the staff laid on a special fire-side singing and dancing session, and Patrick and Jackson made her day when they showed her how to use a REAL Masai warrior bow and arrow. She had a FANTASTIC time. This goes to show that quite aside from great game drives and a comfortable lodge, Basecamp offers lots of little extras like this. Great job, guys thank you.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikePflanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Mike,

Thanks a lot for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination(several times). We were very happy to host you and more so appreciate your positive comments about our camp, staff and your experience. It is a pleasure to know that our services met all your expectations.Our greatest aim is to ensure complete guest satisfaction and memorable moments and we are happy to have matched your expectation. Rest assured, that we will share your appreciation together with the entire staff as a further encouragement within the team to ensure we maintain the best services to our guests. We do hope that on your next visit you will have the chance to enjoy more on your safari and your stay.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

I had the great pleasure of visiting Basecamp during Easter and I can assure you that it was an unique and amazing experience. The camp can offer a variety of well administered activities from walking safari, morning safari, sundown safari and so much more. The food and lodging hold high international standards and the staff is impeccable. If you wish to experience the savanna in a sustainable way in close contact with the Masai culture while enjoying refined luxury, Basecamp Masai Masa is definitely the place for you!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Linn Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Linn,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our Camps and always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We thank you once again for your positive remarks, it is through such interactions that we have continued to improve our service delivery. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable.Thank you and all the best!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2018

This is a great camp to start a trip to Kenya. It has a beautiful layout by a river, everything is comfortable, the staff is super friendly and helpful, the food is delicious, and you are very near the National reserve for game drives. We spent two days here before going to Eagle View, and this was the perfect transition (I would definitely recommend going to the Naiboisho Conservancy also, it's different and less busy - I assume even more true if you go in high season). We went in March and everything was lovely and the drives were as exciting as what I have seen in Tanzania during the great migration. If you aren't sure and may not have the money to go in high season, do not fear, going in March provides an amazing value, the weather is very comfortable, the rain was never too long, everything is green and animals are having a blast with all the food. Our guide was absolutely amazing!

Room tip: ask for a tent on the river if possible, but in the end, you won't spend that much time in there, it's the game drives that make a safari
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Isabel,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. We also thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay at our camps. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

This was my sixth trip to Masai Mara and Base Camp and is was, again, wonderful.... I'll bee back.
When you wake up in the middle of the night of the sound of the lion roar, in the tents...
have a nice breakfast.... It's a dream....

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitaha2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Anitaha,

Thanks a lot for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara for the sixth time as your safari destination. As always we were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our camp, staff and your experience. You came as a guest and you left as a friend, a practice we always aim to achieve as a team. We hope we make your future stay even more satisfying than the last one. Thank you and you are always welcome back.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews