We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
349
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame driveslocal womengreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityanimals grazingoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 388 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

We loved the Basecamp at Masai Mara and we were so excited of staying at Obama Tent (now I can tell everyone that I’ve already slept on Obama’s bedJ).
This place was magical, so peaceful and natural. The river view from our tent was simply amazing. The tents are secure, clean and comfortable.
At night we were strongly protected by the Masai guards…and they really have hard work…one night I wake up and there were getting leopards away from the resort.
It’s common to see animals on the river, during the night, drinking water and sometimes trying to cross the river, but there’s always a Masai vigilant to guard your tent.
By morning they escort you to the breakfast with a smile and full of stories to tell you about the adventures of previous night and show us the
Special mention to Ben, which served us every meals with a smile.
All meals were so good, diverse and tasty and the everyday soups were delicious , even my kids loved their soups.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank PateLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Patel,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our Camps and our always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We thank you once again for your positive remarks, it is through such interactions that we have continued to improve our service delivery. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable.Thank you and all the best!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

Masai Mara base camp and eagle view camp are the beautiful place with amazing game drive .
Wilderness base camp is the best for me ,because is the place for doing amazing walking safari and meeting true Masai people with good heart .
Big thank to all the staff specially to Murfied our fantastic guide ,Do robot our powerful safety guard during walking safari and Edward very professional maître hotel .
I will never forget them.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lud2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear Lud,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! Indeed, getting the opportunity to watch as the wild animals go about their day in their natural habitat during a walking safari is an amusing and perhaps the most rewarding moment in the Mara. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Honestly, I couldn't have dreamed of a better experience. Richard and Sampson were the best guides anyone could hope for. They were hilarious and very knowledgeable and Sampson can drive a safari truck like you would not believe and has the eyes of a hawk. We saw so many animals, even on days when others saw very little.

The accommodations were lovely and comfortable. They put hot water bottles in our beds at night. The food was great. The people who ran the camp really made it. They were so friendly and warm and I miss them already. I learned a lot from them and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear Brigitte,

Basecamp Team would like to thank you sincerely for finding time to write such positive remarks about our Camp. It is a pleasure to know that our services met all your expectations. Having such positive reviews motivates us to always make an effort to maintain high standards both in service and experience to make our guests always feel welcome in our Camp. Indeed, getting the opportunity to watch as the wild animals go about their day in their natural habitat is an amusing and perhaps the most rewarding moment in the Mara. We will certainly recognize Richard and Sampson for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Base camp is a luxury tented camp with many different sustainability initiatives.
We also planted a tree in de reforestation program (not a whole forest as Obama did).
The meals were great and the guids were excellent.
The only negative point is that the camp is located very close to a local village at the border of the national park.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear Carsten,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara. Many thanks also for sharing your feedback. We are really happy to know that all aspects of your stay were up to your needs and to your satisfaction. Indeed, we are committed to providing the best in facilities and service, as well as constantly trying our best to promote sustainable tourism. We also thank you for being part of our effort in reviving the Maasai Mara’s original biodiversity through tree planting. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

This was the best stay in Kenya we had during our trip.
We had a tent near the river, very closed from all the rest. (tent 3 if anyone would like to reserve :) )
The employees are friendly and helpful. (standing outside at ALL times of the day and night to guide you to any point you need to go -> we had an early morning safari and they were there to light us to our vehicle)
The tents are more like houses and are very luxury.
The food was great and was prepared with great care.
The safari's can start from the back of the camp, so you're just a sigh away from the wildlife.
There might be some noises from dogs, but hey ... you're in the wild, it might as well be wild dogs :) (to be sure of a good sleep I suggest ear plugs if you're a light sleeper)
We would surely advice this camp as a starting point of your safari in Masai Mara.

Room Tip: We had tent 3 (with 3 people) which was amazing with an outdoor shower
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear Johan,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On the behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. We also thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay at our camp. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews