We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
354
35
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
35
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews base camp eagle view masai mara the river domestic airport game drives local women great safari amazing experience national park walking safari local community animals grazing outdoor shower animal noises main camp three nights
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 398 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Base camp is a luxury tented camp with many different sustainability initiatives.
We also planted a tree in de reforestation program (not a whole forest as Obama did).
The meals were great and the guids were excellent.
The only negative point is that the camp is located very close to a local village at the border of the national park.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear Carsten,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara. Many thanks also for sharing your feedback. We are really happy to know that all aspects of your stay were up to your needs and to your satisfaction. Indeed, we are committed to providing the best in facilities and service, as well as constantly trying our best to promote sustainable tourism. We also thank you for being part of our effort in reviving the Maasai Mara’s original biodiversity through tree planting. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

This was the best stay in Kenya we had during our trip.
We had a tent near the river, very closed from all the rest. (tent 3 if anyone would like to reserve :) )
The employees are friendly and helpful. (standing outside at ALL times of the day and night to guide you to any point you need to go -> we had an early morning safari and they were there to light us to our vehicle)
The tents are more like houses and are very luxury.
The food was great and was prepared with great care.
The safari's can start from the back of the camp, so you're just a sigh away from the wildlife.
There might be some noises from dogs, but hey ... you're in the wild, it might as well be wild dogs :) (to be sure of a good sleep I suggest ear plugs if you're a light sleeper)
We would surely advice this camp as a starting point of your safari in Masai Mara.

Room Tip: We had tent 3 (with 3 people) which was amazing with an outdoor shower
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear Johan,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On the behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. We also thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay at our camp. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

We had a very mixed experience at Basecamp Maasai Mara. We were there on one of their Basecamp circuit tours to the three main Basecamp camps (Maasai Mara, Eagle View & Wilderness). Because it was booked as a package we didn't get to choose our room and were put in one of the budget rooms - not on the river and not very private with lots of staff walking past the balcony. Worth checking this when booking.

We loved the food here - the chef and kitchen staff were great and they really worked to accommodate dietary requirements - properly substituting food rather than just removing it (unlike at Eagle View). It is a set menu though (aside from dietary requirements), so no choice but there was always plenty of food and it was really good quality.

Our check-in/check-out experience wasn't great with confusing, rude service and things missing from the room (only one chair, one towel etc.). Even though we had told them it was for a honeymoon they tried to put us in a twin room rather than a double, but they did move us when we asked about it.

The main issue with this camp is the location. It is near a local town which means that you get a lot of noise from the dogs at night and the local Maasai sneak their cows into the Reserve at night time right past the camp. There are huge, muddy swathes of land that have been damaged by this process just outside the front door. I can understand why they do it, but if you are looking for a beautiful nature experience, this takes away from it somewhat. It is also some distance from the Mara River, so it is a bit of a drive to see the crossings, although that was OK because you can always chance upon game on the drive.

Our guide was Manfred who was super knowledgeable and exceptionally good at 4WDing (which came in handy as we had a lot of rain). He was just OK at spotting animals and wasn't always very communicative, but overall was good. He was also extremely patient at looking everywhere for leopards which we really wanted to see, although weren't lucky this trip.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you have one of the nicer rooms by the river.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kateus_almora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Kateus,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara and for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! It is through such interactions, that we have continued to improve our service delivery, enabling us to grow from strength to strength. Basecamp Masai Mara is where guests become more than visitors, they become part of the Maasai community. It was great of you to point out on the positives you experienced with our food, chef and safari experience. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We would like to apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our guest's experience. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with our guests and we want you to arrive as a guest, stay as a friend, leave as a partner. It will be our great pleasure to host you in the near future and have another opportunity to ensure we deliver at the service levels that Basecamp is renowned for.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017

We started our safari in Masai Mara and spent three wonderful nights at the Base Camp Explorer. We had an awesome and comfortable tent which faced the river and the baboons were right outside.
The food is delicious.
We also appreciated the Masai guides on the property.
A special Thank You to our safari guide Alex! Truly was a pleasure spending time with him.
And, BE SURE to stop in the gift shop - all items locally made and support the women in the community.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bas0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! It's our highest priority to keep a high level of satisfaction to all our guests. We will certainly recognize Alex for his great effort to make your safari more memorable. We look forward to another opportunity to create an exciting experience for you.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

The great jungle safari in Masai Mara is the biggest and the best experience of a life time.
We saw at least a million animals in 10 days with live action of group of lionesses backed by Lion planning a kill.
100 Elephants goon in one direction and another 90 cross crossing them in midst of ants like gathering of wildest beast around them.
Dozens of Hippos together with a dozen of alligators on the other side of the river with a gun man by your side on border of Kenya and Tanzania big migration.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank SKKHANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate having taken your time to review your safari experience with us. We strive to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainability and commitment towards the local community. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you. We hope to welcome you back sometime, soon!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews