We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
348
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame driveslocal womengreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityanimals grazingoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 387 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2017

This was a great camp - the location is unique surrounded by so much wildlife. The food was very good and the service was great. The entire staff had a customer centered approach and made us feel welcomed, comfortable and safe. Interesting nights listening to the animal noises but with the warriors constant guard you always felt safe. Even though it is an eco camp, you have all the comforts you will need. We so enjoyed our time and wish we would have had a few more days at the location. They anticipated our needs and focused on top level service. It was our son's birthday and the surprise celebration they provided with their traditional song and dance was so wonderful and touching. Can't say enough good things about our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate having taken your time to review our camp and for your positive comments regarding your stay at Camp. We are always open to our guest feedback and views. Our greatest aim is to ensure complete guest satisfaction and memorable moments and we are happy to have matched your expectation. We will certainly share your feedback with the entire staff as it will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously ensure our guests have a more memorable safari experience. We do hope that upon your next visit you will have the chance to enjoy our camp a little bit longer.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

This is a gem within the Masai Mara.

We came for just an overnight stay from Nairobi, and aside from the wonderful game drives (there are never any guarantees but we saw 5 cheetahs, 5 separate prides of lions including several cubs, as well as elephants, hyenas, crocodiles, giraffes, hippos etc in fact we only failed to spot a leopard and a rhino over our two days), we were treated to a lovey and comfortable tent (with proper eco-shower and bathroom facilities) within a stunning setting with thoughtful, attentive and very friendly staff.

We do not have a bad word to say about the place and would highly recommend it. We had an amazing overnight stay that will remain with us forever.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Dear Christophe,

Thanks a lot for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. We were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our camp, staff and your experience. You came as a guest and you left as a friend, a practice we always aim to achieve as a team. We do hope that upon your next visit you will have the chance to enjoy our camp a little bit longer.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Our best recomandation to this exciting camp with very friendly Staff and goodlooking "rooms".
We experienced all We came for, and was very happy with our guide Manfred. We felt so lucky!
We stayed for 3 nights in 2 different camps, and that was just perfect for us. Remember to bring thick clothes - the morning and evenings are cold. We used wool etc every day.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank kariroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Dear Kari,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On the behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. Thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay at our camp. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We will certainly recognize Manfred for his great effort to make your safari more memorable. Hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights with Base Camp as, well, our base camp for a first afternoon and two full days of game viewing. Our tent was more than comfortable, spotless and poised on the lip of the Talek river bank among fever and giant fig(?) trees. The restaurant boma is rustic and real, and the nightly campfire ringed by Maasai men is not just for atmosphere. The night resounds with the noise of the real African bush: distant hyena and lion, very close leopard and baboon, and one drifts awake to be aware of regular and reassuring torch patrols around the tents through the night. Base Camp's meals are hearty, honest, wholesome and wonderfully plated, and the staff are warm and welcoming at all times. One if our reasons for visiting Kenya was a big birthday (later in the year) for my wife, Liz. The entire restaurant and kitchen staff gave her an early birthday surprise that will remain in our hearts forever.

If we can make it happen, we will return to the Mara because one visit is never enough. When we do go back, Base Camp will be, well, a base camp! Asante sana, guys! Your welcome and work are what make Kenya special!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our camp, and for taking the time to write a wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the guided tour in the Masai Mara. Our camp aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our camps in the future.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

This was a great place to stay while in the Maasai Mara, the food was excellent and the tents were super nice! The Maasai Mara is such a special place, Base Camp made it even better, I loved this place!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miami_FL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! It's our highest priority to keep a high level of satisfaction to all our guests. It was great hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews