We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$393
$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$798
$744
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$404
$389
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$664
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,000
$867
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$296
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
339
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai maratalek riverdomestic airportlocal womengame drivesgreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightstented lodge
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 378 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2017

This was a great place to stay while in the Maasai Mara, the food was excellent and the tents were super nice! The Maasai Mara is such a special place, Base Camp made it even better, I loved this place!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miami_FL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! It's our highest priority to keep a high level of satisfaction to all our guests. It was great hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

We spent 2 nights at Basecamp Masai mara and another 4 at their Eagle view lodge in Naboisho and I have to say, that it was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives. Basecamp does a fantastic job of providing you with all the city conveniences that you are used to but at the same time offering you a true Masai experience. The staff are very experienced and very helpful, the accommodation is very comfortable and yet very environment friendly and the food is better than most city hotels! The guides are also very experienced and always went the extra mile to ensure we have a great time. Thanks to them, we were able to see 4 of the Big 5 in just 2 days! I would really recommend Basecamp for anyone traveling to the Mara.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Nitish,

Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience with Basecamp Explorer with others here on Trip Advisor. The fact that you mention that our camps were, without a doubt, the best run camps you've ever been on means a lot to us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything from the excellent service to our outstanding accommodation units and food. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable.Thank you and all the best!

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We chose to stay at this place based on Tripadvisor review and the fact that we didn't want to stay in a 'branded' hotel. We were not disappointed. When we got there, there was a mix up with a rooms which was sorted out asap. We had doubles and the family room which is two doubles (and two bathrooms) joined together. You get a feel of being in the outdoors. The meals were great each night and the waiters would tell us whats on the menu in case we didn't like it and would cook us up an alternative. The food was plentiful and tasty, even the kids enjoyed it, The freshly baked bread, soups, main meals and desserts. Always something different everyday The dining area is covered but open. We hired a car and driver from the place who picked us up from Nairobi and he certainly knew his way around the game park and we saw everything except rhinos. The bathrooms have running hot water, flushable loos and toiletries. Saw the trees the Obama family planted onsite when they visited. Its noisy at night, but thats to be expected. Lots of monkeys around the site too. Would i stay there again? Definately!

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alina206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Alina,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara. Many thanks also for sharing your feedback. We are really happy to know that all aspects of your stay were up to your needs and to your satisfaction. We appreciate your compliments on our Camp and our always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable.Thank you and all the best!

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017

Basecamp, and all the staff, is wonderful. Everyone was very friendly, very attentive to any of your needs. Food is excellent, surroundings are very nice. The tents are well equipped with running water and normal bathroom facilities. Beds can be a little hard, but at the end of the day we were so tired it wasn't hard to sleep. We spent a lot of time around the fire at nite, which was fun. The wifi at the restaurant area was very well. We won't be back to Africa, but if so I would definitely stay here again. Very pleased with our stay. Great memories.

Room Tip: We stayed in #13 and had a nice view of the river. #15 is very close, a short walk, to the restaurant.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share your review with us. It is great to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at Basecamp Masai Mara. Indeed, we are committed to providing the best in facilities and service to all our guests. We deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

We went on a trifecta tour of the basecamp Mara camps over 4 nights starting1 night in talek,1 night at wilderness camp in naibosho and ending with 2 nights at the stunning eagle view camp which was a 1 hour hike through the bush from wilderness. Amazing game viewing with great guides and looked after like royalty! Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear Robin,

We appreciate having taken your time to review our camps and for your positive comments regarding your stay. Basecamp Team is delighted to know that we could meet all your expectation. Indeed, getting the opportunity to watch as the wild animals go about their day in their natural habitat is an amusing and perhaps the most rewarding moment in the Mara. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews