We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$998
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Mara Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$644
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,017
$970
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$487
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$720
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
339
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai maratalek riverdomestic airportlocal womengame drivesgreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightstented lodge
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 378 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2015

My good friend and I stayed at Basecamp Masai Mara for just 3 days, wishing that we could have stayed longer. From the moment we arrived, I knew that we were in the right place -- picked up at the airport by our Masai guide and on the way spotting 3 cheetahs! Upon arrival, we had our own little luncheon table on the grass overlooking the river -- so peaceful -- with delicious food and drink. The tent cabins were comfortable and the fireside chats with the Masai and the owner who happened to be there and our the other guests topped off our day. Two game drives a day led us to watching wildlife up close that was unforgettable, coupled with stories from our guide. And the best is that the support that the business gives to the local communities -- their schools, women's workshops, water -- and the ecological way they run their business. Hoping to be back again and again!

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2015

A safari with Basecamp Explorer has got to be the ultimate safari experience in our time. Seeing hoards of animals, lion cubs playing, cheetahs on the hunt, hyenas on the prowl, baboons picking lice off each other, crocodiles warming up in the sunlight and all kinds of other sights is an incredible experience. The amazing thing about a safari is that you get to see wild animals in their natural habitat, doing exactly what they do without the presence of people – this is something you can never get close to in a zoo or even a natural reserve that feeds or otherwise interferes with the wildlife. With Basecamp you get to go right out in the wilderness, with amazingly knowledgeable Maasai guides/drivers, and not only see but also learn about all the animals and their place in the system. Basecamp’s concept of renting local farmers’ soil for the Naboisho conservancy is also very interesting, and it secures an important income for the locals, as well as protecting the area from further expansion of non-ecological tourism – and, of course, making for exceptional experiences for the tourists. The Naboisho conservancy has the world’s most concentrated lion population, and one can safely say that you’ll notice. Basecamp Explorer may not be cheap, but it offers high quality on all areas, from the staff, cars and tents to the food and service. Every meal is an absolute pleasure, the tents have modern bathrooms and they have managed to find well thought-through eco-friendly solutions for everything. I would recommend this 100%, and I hope that people are not frightened by the news of terrorism in Kenya – though this is terrible, it is far from Maasai Mara, which continues to be a safe place to travel to.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

A fantastic camp where we couldn't really have asked for more. We stayed here during our safari and are so pleased (we knew nothing about it before arrival...had no idea what to expect).
The camp overlooks the Masai Mara and is wonderfully peaceful. All the staff were really helpful and the food was incredible. Stories around the fire in the evening and really worth going on the camp tour to hear about how Eco friendly the camp is...great to see how little impact they are able to have on the environment.

The tents are really well equipped with a really comfortable bed and the outdoor shower was fantastic!

Will definitely return if I come back to Masai Mara!

Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Elspeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2015

What an amazing experience!!! We were picked up by our lovely safari guide, Agnes, at the Ol Kiombo Airstrip. On the drive into Basecamp, she pointed out lots of animals grazing in the area. The drives each morning and afternoon were wonderful...never missed seeing animals. Agnes was extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and was never bothered by our request to stop and take photos or enjoy watching them in their natural habitat. The food was awesome, very tasty and beautifully presented. The staff at the camp were very accommodating and so enjoyable to talk with. We were even able to get one of the staff to join us in a game of UNO for a little bit. I was most impressed that there are guards on duty to walk you from one area to the other after dark. Basecamp truly knows how to take care of their guests. I will definitely recommend this camp to anyone I know traveling to the area for safari. It was an incredible experience!!!

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2015

We stayed 2 nights at Basecamp and the one night at Wilderness camp. This was my first safari experience and I was blown away! Our lovely Masai guide Steve was as knowledgeable as as he was enthusiastic about the wildlife and the environment. Although it was low season we had a great safari and saw lots of wildlife, many of which were known personally to Steve! The camps were very comfortable and the staff unstintingly helpful and friendly. The chefs catered for my vegetarian meals with great flare and I had some of the best meals of our trip to Kenya in the middle of nowhere, I particularly enjoyed the remoteness of Wilderness camp. It was lovely to sit by the camp fire at night and then to lie in bed in the morning watching the wildlife in the distance.

Room Tip: You can ask to stay in the tent Obama stayed in!
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews