We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,371
$998
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Royal Mara Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$644
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$487
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$720
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,000
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
339
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai maratalek riverdomestic airportlocal womengame drivesgreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightstented lodge
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 378 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2015

We just had the privilege to stay at Basecamp for 5 days. Best stay ever!! I have stayed at many different hotels and resorts, but, nothing compares to the service we received here. Even The Ritz-Carlton does not compare to the service we received from the team at Basecamp. Everyone we met was pleasant and helpful. We received real genuine care! The tents are beautiful, the property is comfortable, food is amazing, and the view is the best. As an Eco resort, they are top notch. You can see how their solutions not only save, but, also contribute to the area around the camp. A truly amazing experience, and, we cannot wait to go back!! Thank you very much to the Basecamp team for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaymanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2015

A lovely small camp in a beautiful setting, right on the edge of the Mara. Lovely lodges, beautifully thought out and built, all overlooking a small river. The food, although a set menu is excellent and beautifully presented. Everyone is very friendly, very attentive and very focused on making your stay a good one. The beauty is that it is an Eco camp which is fantastic. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Lodge 13A and 14 are in an excellent position.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2015

We underestimate the time it would take us to driver from Mbale Uganda to Basecamp (do not follow Google Maps!!) There was a much better and smoother way to get to the camp than the one Google Maps told us to use - so I recommend you do NOT take the road into Talek gate but rater come through Oloololo Gate where the roads are much much better then drive through the park to ge tto Base Camp. Thank goodness the Camp Manager Seif came to our rescue as we were lost in the dark in the middle of nowhere!!

An incredible experience and a beautiful camp awaited us once we got there. Wonderful setting with great safari tents and delicious food. Very good value for money.

Would totally come back and stay here - just will drive through a different way. Also if you are thinking about going to Serengeti from here - do NOT go to Sand River Gate which is closed. They may let you through but you will have an absolute nightmare with immigration. So you are better off driving to Isebania border to Tanzania and entering the Serengeti through the Western gate.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dangusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015

I spent two days at the Basecamp Masai Mara and it was amazing. The staff were very nice and knowledgable, the rooms were beautiful- exactly what you want out of a safari trip. Not to luxurious but still very nice and somewhat romantic. Even if you are traveling alone. lol Food was good, game drives we saw everything but the Leopard in the two days and the migration had already left the Maasi. I would highly reccomend this place to others, they have a very good set up here.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saskatchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2015

We stayed two days at Basecamp Masai Mara, two days at Eagle View and one day at Doboro Wilderness camp. Each place had its unique atmosphere and style and all of them offered fantastic wildlife spotting and safari experiences. Our safari guides were very skilled in animal spotting and we had interesting discussions about the development of the masai culture in the modern world. The sustainability profile of the camps are excellent with solar eletricity and circular water and suage systems!

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews