We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Little Governors' Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,017
$970
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,371
$998
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Mara Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$644
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$487
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$720
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
339
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai maratalek riverdomestic airportlocal womengame drivesgreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightstented lodge
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 378 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2014

Coming to Basecamp Masai Mara was just the perfect experience. We were met by a very nice Masai guide with tons of experience and knowledge of the area (we covered "the big 5" in less than 24 hours). The accommodation was great, with spacious and well kept tents. The food was tasty, and the staff were very welcoming. This combined with the unique landscape truly made this a once-in-a-liftetime experience for us.

We also stayed at the sister-camp: Eagle View, which was equally amazing. Would recommend doing both, as you get two different experiences, both places getting very close to the action while being taken very well care of.

Don't miss out on this opportunity!

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sverre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2014

We will never forget Basecamp Masai Mara!
Bring your children. We had great days with the best food and a fantastic staff. Safari game drives are thrilling and rewarding, and the guides at Basecamp Masai Mara are well trained, attention to details and most of all professionalism in everything they do!

Overall the experience was outstanding and deffinitely will be included in my list of places to be visited again in future.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bjørn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2014

If you go with children this is the perfect place. The staff really care for the children, all day! The accommodation is very good. Comfortble tents, much better than expected:-) All the guides are very informative, so you learn a lot about the animals when you are on safari.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2014

We had heard great things about Basecamp Masai Mara. What we experienced was even better than we had expected. Cosy cabins, very nice people, good food and absolutely fantastic surroundings. Thank You Bacecamp!

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014

Apart from a few missing direction markers, I managed to get us here by road, an hour later than expected. Because I somehow got "lost". But I was amazed by the hospitality of the camp staff. The manager, Mr Seif, was quick to help and we were welcomed into our tent (It is a tented camp) and relaxation poured all over tired limbs and sweaty backs.

The initial tent we were put into was starting to show signs of age but the second tent, called the Obama tent because the only person that you know bearing that name spent a few nights in that one, was a really welcome "upgrade". It seemed like that is the ultimate of tents at Basecamp. The epitome of experience there.

It is easier to access the establishment from Talek from Narok but a problem comes in if you don't happen to have a jeep or a tank. There is a river that swells that blocks the route. Therefore the Sekenani gate is mostly recommended though it is almost four times the distance.

They have a guide called Agnes. I won't add any more other than she is G.O.O.D! Spots rhinos from miles away, as if she is in secret communication with them.

Take a few days off. Pay them a visit. They will organize a game drive for you with Agnes at the wheel. Or an early morning hot air balloon flight. Or they will simply just surprise you

Room Tip: Go for the "Obama" Tent!
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews