We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,371
$998
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Mara Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$644
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governors' Il Moran Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,190
$1,134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,017
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$487
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
339
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai maratalek riverdomestic airportlocal womengame drivesgreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightstented lodge
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 378 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2014

If you go with children this is the perfect place. The staff really care for the children, all day! The accommodation is very good. Comfortble tents, much better than expected:-) All the guides are very informative, so you learn a lot about the animals when you are on safari.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2014

We had heard great things about Basecamp Masai Mara. What we experienced was even better than we had expected. Cosy cabins, very nice people, good food and absolutely fantastic surroundings. Thank You Bacecamp!

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014

Apart from a few missing direction markers, I managed to get us here by road, an hour later than expected. Because I somehow got "lost". But I was amazed by the hospitality of the camp staff. The manager, Mr Seif, was quick to help and we were welcomed into our tent (It is a tented camp) and relaxation poured all over tired limbs and sweaty backs.

The initial tent we were put into was starting to show signs of age but the second tent, called the Obama tent because the only person that you know bearing that name spent a few nights in that one, was a really welcome "upgrade". It seemed like that is the ultimate of tents at Basecamp. The epitome of experience there.

It is easier to access the establishment from Talek from Narok but a problem comes in if you don't happen to have a jeep or a tank. There is a river that swells that blocks the route. Therefore the Sekenani gate is mostly recommended though it is almost four times the distance.

They have a guide called Agnes. I won't add any more other than she is G.O.O.D! Spots rhinos from miles away, as if she is in secret communication with them.

Take a few days off. Pay them a visit. They will organize a game drive for you with Agnes at the wheel. Or an early morning hot air balloon flight. Or they will simply just surprise you

Room Tip: Go for the "Obama" Tent!
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2014

After a week back in Norway, the experince of Bascamp and the beautifull Mara-area is still a very strong and powerfull memory. With a Group og 19 People, 8 adults and 11 kids, we couldn't have asked for a better holiday experince. The wonderfull staff of Basecamp, wich are all Masai, made our stay a memorable one. Wonderfull people, great food, beatifull surondings and a high standard of the rooms.

Highly recomended!

Room Tip: The all rooms are quiet until the birds Wake up, but it's a wonderfull way to Wake up.... Rooms with view of the river are beautifull.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perarnstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2014

If you are travelling to the Maasai Mara you cannot go wrong with Basecamp properties, Basecamp Mara on the Talek River borders the National Park, then Wilderness Camp & Eagle View in Naboisho Conservancy, all are really good safari bases. We have just returned from 3 nights at each camp and were impressed with all that is offered, community inclusion, ecological projects game drives with excellent guides and wildlife galore in wonderful settings.
We particularly liked the tents at Wilderness Camp & Eagle View.... simply fabulous, with good food and camp facilities at half the cost of the many expensive camps in the area,I know I have stayed in several previously.If you are on a budget then Basecamp is definetly for you.
Go with an open mind, enjoy the experience and don't look for opulence I promise you will be amazed. Learn about the Maasai culture and embrace the warmth of these incredible people,they are so friendly and their knowledge of the wildlife is simply amazing.
Our guides Agnes and Amos especially were first class, we enjoyed our time with them and with staff in the camp who were so helpful.
Askaris patrol the camps at night to keep you safe, here you will experience at close quarters the roar of the lion, it reverberates through your body, and every night the eerie howl of the hyena...truly amazing experiences.
Extended game drives are included in your tarrif which means you get to track lion at dusk whilst they start hunting, we saw them round up buffalo, and kill a topi.....in this conservancy the rules are more relaxed than in the National Park and we rarely saw another vehicle whilst in Naboisho, our many sightings were shared only with other Basecamp visitors.
We saw lions and cheetahs with cubs, the elusive serval cat,the agressive aardwolf, spotted hyenas,elephant,giraffe, buffalo, hippo, crocs and wildebeeste, in fact all you would expect to see in the Mara and more, though the leopard was as usual very secretive.
I would recommend this camp to anyone without hesitation, arrangements from the outset were great.
Evelyne (Nairobi Office) arranged absolutely everything, airport pick ups. transfers to the domestic airport, internal flights, 9 nights accomodation, all food (3 meals per day), game drives the lot, all I had to do was arrange our international flights...thanks Evelyne, just brilliant.
If it's wildlife you want then you cannot fail here at Basecamp. I have been to Kenya 6 times previously and I rate this experience highly, our trip was excellent value for money there is no need to pay a fortune for a safari we had a wonderful time and will definetly go back.
Sincere thanks to Sven and all of your staff, they should feel proud of what they are doing here.

Room Tip: All of the tents at Eagle View & Wilderness are fabulous, tent 16 at Basecamp Mara is where Barack Obama and family stayed.....but all tents here overlook the Talek River.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank leotony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews