We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$948
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$393
$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$664
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$798
$744
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
339
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai maratalek riverdomestic airportgame driveslocal womengreat safariamazing experiencenational parkwalking safarilocal communityoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightstented lodge
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 378 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Basecamp Masai Mara is something special. Wonderful safaris walking and in open cars With skilled Masai guides in an area With an extremely high density of Mammals. In two days, we saw lion, leopard, Cheetah, elefants, giraffes, hippos and loads of antilopes and zebras. The staff at Basecamp are friendly and all smiles, and the Eagle View camp that we stayed in is just wonderful. Thanks to Basecamp for a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paaldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Me and my "kids" (33 + 18) spend 6 lovely christmasdays in all the three Basecamp -camps (2+2+1). We loved it! Excellent locations, spacious and very comfortable tents, deliscious food, outstanding service and friendliness from everybody - from the managers to the cooks and waiters and to the guards and guides. This is really a once in a lifetime experience! The very competent guides made us see all there was to see : lots of lions, gepards, lepard, hippos and even a rhino ++ all the zebras, giraffes and antelopes. So great and so exciting. And the thought that these camps are driven in a very admirable and sustainable way just add to the great experience. We were overwelmed and will most certainly be back! Thank you for the most wonderful Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorfrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent two nights at Basecamp, in a luxury tent. This provided a separate bathroom and an eco toilet which was quite acceptable to the non camper in our family. The setting here, on the river, is very special and we had loads of monkeys and baboons at hand so the advise that we accept a security guard to accompany us after dark was well taken.
Service here is outstanding. Like other camps in the Mara there is a set menu but it was quite good and the extras (wine & soft drinks) were reasonably priced. The camp is well located for forays into the game preserve. One fun feature is the group of trees planted by a U.S. Senator from Illinois who later became President, who visited here with his family while still a Senator. This is a well-located, well-run, smallish camp with great food and service. Definitely worth its rating, or even more.

Room Tip: It appears that all the tents are located on the river, or not far from it. That's a great location.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not only is Basecamp Explorer a comfortable place to stay with super friendly staff and delicious food it also makes good sense. Basecamp has 3 properties in the Mara and they are all founded upon the principles of sustainablity which are ultimately the best for the environment and the community without asking the guest to sacrifice on quality.

Our group of 4 had a wonderful experience. Our Masai guide, Moses (who is THE BEST) picked us up at the Olkiombo airstrip and began showing us the amazing breadth of wildlife in the Mara on the drive back to Basecamp Explorer. The guides on these properties are Masai and the Mara is their backyard. They are highly experienced and qualified, but as I said, we think we got the best of the bunch, so go ahead and ask for Moses and tell him Staci Summers sent you.

Room Tip: DO keep you tent zippers locked as instructed, as monkeys or baboons will help themselves to your belongings if you don't! Also, ask to visit the local Masai village boma. We paid $20 each but got quite a show and tour of the boma while learning lots about the traditional Masai way of life.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalStaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon k, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Staci S,

Thank you staying with us at Basecamp Masai Mara and for your positive feedback.

At Basecamp Explorer, we are committed to responsible and sustainable tourism which are our core pillars for our existence and this has attracted recognitions and awards both locally and internationally.

We work very closely and in partnership with the local communities in the areas we operate in and without a doubt, this has left a positive foot print over the years.

Thank you for the special mention of our staff who ensured you had a wonderful experience and we have recognized their efforts in customer service.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards
Eric Gaku
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at this property for some much needed R and R after a Habitat for Humanity build. The location was wonderful. Waking up in the morning and watching the herds of zebra and wildebeest in the savannah was such a great way to start the day.
The tents are very spacious and comfortable. The outdoor showers are a nice touch. And being that close to nature was thrilling. Food and service were exceptional. We lacked for nothing.
Our guide. Moses, was so knowledgeable and thoughtful regarding the wildlife in the park. Our experience on the game drives was so much richer than I had ever expected. He accommodated our every request and seemed to customize the drive to cater to our whims. We spent so much time observing each animal in its' environment and never felt as if we were rushing from one experience to another with no time to absorb what we were seeing.
We also booked two nights at Darobo Bush Camp. This was probably the best two nights of our almost 3 week African adventure. The tents are smaller but the cots and bedding are so plush and comfy. Love the hot water bottles in the beds. The outdoor toilets and shower are rustic but very serviceable. Food was always amazing and so plentiful.
Spending so much quality time with the staff and Masai guides around the bonfires in the evening was a true highlight. I will never forget the staff for their friendliness, attentiveness and obvious love of the animals and environment.
I never imagined that I would see all of the big 5, as well as just about every other animal in the area, in only 4 short days. Listening to the animals at night (some right outside of our tent) was a huge plus for me. And as long as you are not anxious about being so close to the animals it is a great way to experience the wildness of Kenya. Bush camping at its' best.
And we truly never missed not having electricity. That only added to the experience.
Did i mention how amazing Moses (our guide) was? The best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gewels59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon k, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Gewels59

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara and Dorobo Bush Camp.

Basecamp Masai Mara is a Gold rated Eco Camp and all our tents are spacious & comfortable and we are glad that this met and exceeded your expectations.

Aside from employing and running on Solar energy, our partnership with the local community has established a strong bond that has left a positive footprint in all our camps in the Mara region.

As a way of learning more about Flora and Fauna in the savannah, we offer you an opportunity to get close and personal with nature and the vast experience of our guides, ensures you have an amazing adventure.

Thank you for the special mentions of our staff who made your experience memorable and we always recognize their efforts in customer service.

We have 3 camps in the Mara region and having stayed in two of them: Basecamp Masai Mara and Dorobo Bush Camp, we will be glad to host you at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho on your next visit which is only a few minutes drive from Dorobo Bush Camp. The 3 destinations collectively offers you a authentic African safari adventure.

Warm Regards,
Eric Gaku,
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews