We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Eco Lodging in the Mara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basecamp Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent two nights at Basecamp, in a luxury tent. This provided a separate bathroom and an eco toilet which was quite acceptable to the non camper in our family. The setting here, on the river, is very special and we had loads of monkeys and baboons at hand so the advise that we accept a security guard to accompany us after dark was well taken.
Service here is outstanding. Like other camps in the Mara there is a set menu but it was quite good and the extras (wine & soft drinks) were reasonably priced. The camp is well located for forays into the game preserve. One fun feature is the group of trees planted by a U.S. Senator from Illinois who later became President, who visited here with his family while still a Senator. This is a well-located, well-run, smallish camp with great food and service. Definitely worth its rating, or even more.

Room Tip: It appears that all the tents are located on the river, or not far from it. That's a great loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not only is Basecamp Explorer a comfortable place to stay with super friendly staff and delicious food it also makes good sense. Basecamp has 3 properties in the Mara and they are all founded upon the principles of sustainablity which are ultimately the best for the environment and the community without asking the guest to sacrifice on quality.

Our group of 4 had a wonderful experience. Our Masai guide, Moses (who is THE BEST) picked us up at the Olkiombo airstrip and began showing us the amazing breadth of wildlife in the Mara on the drive back to Basecamp Explorer. The guides on these properties are Masai and the Mara is their backyard. They are highly experienced and qualified, but as I said, we think we got the best of the bunch, so go ahead and ask for Moses and tell him Staci Summers sent you.

Room Tip: DO keep you tent zippers locked as instructed, as monkeys or baboons will help themselves to your be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalStaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon k, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Staci S,

Thank you staying with us at Basecamp Masai Mara and for your positive feedback.

At Basecamp Explorer, we are committed to responsible and sustainable tourism which are our core pillars for our existence and this has attracted recognitions and awards both locally and internationally.

We work very closely and in partnership with the local communities in the areas we operate in and without a doubt, this has left a positive foot print over the years.

Thank you for the special mention of our staff who ensured you had a wonderful experience and we have recognized their efforts in customer service.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards
Eric Gaku
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at this property for some much needed R and R after a Habitat for Humanity build. The location was wonderful. Waking up in the morning and watching the herds of zebra and wildebeest in the savannah was such a great way to start the day.
The tents are very spacious and comfortable. The outdoor showers are a nice touch. And being that close to nature was thrilling. Food and service were exceptional. We lacked for nothing.
Our guide. Moses, was so knowledgeable and thoughtful regarding the wildlife in the park. Our experience on the game drives was so much richer than I had ever expected. He accommodated our every request and seemed to customize the drive to cater to our whims. We spent so much time observing each animal in its' environment and never felt as if we were rushing from one experience to another with no time to absorb what we were seeing.
We also booked two nights at Darobo Bush Camp. This was probably the best two nights of our almost 3 week African adventure. The tents are smaller but the cots and bedding are so plush and comfy. Love the hot water bottles in the beds. The outdoor toilets and shower are rustic but very serviceable. Food was always amazing and so plentiful.
Spending so much quality time with the staff and Masai guides around the bonfires in the evening was a true highlight. I will never forget the staff for their friendliness, attentiveness and obvious love of the animals and environment.
I never imagined that I would see all of the big 5, as well as just about every other animal in the area, in only 4 short days. Listening to the animals at night (some right outside of our tent) was a huge plus for me. And as long as you are not anxious about being so close to the animals it is a great way to experience the wildness of Kenya. Bush camping at its' best.
And we truly never missed not having electricity. That only added to the experience.
Did i mention how amazing Moses (our guide) was? The best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gewels59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon k, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Gewels59

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara and Dorobo Bush Camp.

Basecamp Masai Mara is a Gold rated Eco Camp and all our tents are spacious & comfortable and we are glad that this met and exceeded your expectations.

Aside from employing and running on Solar energy, our partnership with the local community has established a strong bond that has left a positive footprint in all our camps in the Mara region.

As a way of learning more about Flora and Fauna in the savannah, we offer you an opportunity to get close and personal with nature and the vast experience of our guides, ensures you have an amazing adventure.

Thank you for the special mentions of our staff who made your experience memorable and we always recognize their efforts in customer service.

We have 3 camps in the Mara region and having stayed in two of them: Basecamp Masai Mara and Dorobo Bush Camp, we will be glad to host you at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho on your next visit which is only a few minutes drive from Dorobo Bush Camp. The 3 destinations collectively offers you a authentic African safari adventure.

Warm Regards,
Eric Gaku,
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The tents are great and service very friendly. Special praise to our Massai guide, Anthony, who was very knowledgeable about the animals and life in the park. Employees of the restaurant were also great.

Two remarks:
For ecological reasons the toilets in the tents have no flush, so be prepared!
Also, as a family of 5 we were supposed to be in one big tent, but once we arrived, we were placed in two separate tents. Make sure to confirm many times that you have the family tent (it was in our reservations) to avoid disappointments!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank brasil80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

All AAA here, perfect location to go on game drives. Just be prepared that you are not the only only one out there.

Tents are great, food and service perfect. Manager Saif a really nice guy who will do anything to make you feel even more comfortable. Relocated us to a nicer tent upon request. No 16,15 and 5 are the best tents BTW.

Beware of the "Masai village visit". Entrance fee 20$, ok so far, nice dance and talk. However, in the end they get a little pushy trying to sell you 2$ jewelry for 50$ upwards.

Other than that a place in paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Masai Mara Basecamp! Loved the privacy the "tents" offered and the silence and wild life there. The staff were super friendly, making us feel very welcome and happy. This place really opened my eyes for Eco-tourism and will make me think twice before booking other holidays around the world. I have recommended this to many people and might even return one day! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just arrived to Nairobi after a fantastic three night stay at the lodge. Everything has been so nice, and everything from gourmet meals, children activities, friendly staff and not least the Eco based and sustainable travel, giving back to the Masai society, exceeds all our expectations.
We also wants to tell how satisfied we have been with our guide, Agnes. She has so much knowledge about the animals, the nature and what to do and not to do to preserve the delicate ecosystem. In addition she was fantastic with our to kids, and showed us so many unforgettable scenes. We will return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per Håkan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,109 reviews
3 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
6.2 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#14 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#25 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
707 reviews
16.9 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
888 reviews
25 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Masai Mara

Address: Talek, C14, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $282 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basecamp Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Masai Mara provides 12 spacious and luxurious tents, bordering the Masai Mara National reserve, on a lush peninsula in the Talek River, with spectacular views of the savannah. You have your own veranda overlooking the river, bathroom en-suite with a hot solar heated shower open to the sky. Enjoy the amazing wildlife from your tent, the fig-tree platform, or in the open-air bar - a responsible approach to the classic safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Basecamp Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Masai Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Basecamp Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing