We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
350
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame driveslocal womengreat safariamazing experiencenational parkwalking safarilocal communityanimals grazingoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 389 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at this property for some much needed R and R after a Habitat for Humanity build. The location was wonderful. Waking up in the morning and watching the herds of zebra and wildebeest in the savannah was such a great way to start the day.
The tents are very spacious and comfortable. The outdoor showers are a nice touch. And being that close to nature was thrilling. Food and service were exceptional. We lacked for nothing.
Our guide. Moses, was so knowledgeable and thoughtful regarding the wildlife in the park. Our experience on the game drives was so much richer than I had ever expected. He accommodated our every request and seemed to customize the drive to cater to our whims. We spent so much time observing each animal in its' environment and never felt as if we were rushing from one experience to another with no time to absorb what we were seeing.
We also booked two nights at Darobo Bush Camp. This was probably the best two nights of our almost 3 week African adventure. The tents are smaller but the cots and bedding are so plush and comfy. Love the hot water bottles in the beds. The outdoor toilets and shower are rustic but very serviceable. Food was always amazing and so plentiful.
Spending so much quality time with the staff and Masai guides around the bonfires in the evening was a true highlight. I will never forget the staff for their friendliness, attentiveness and obvious love of the animals and environment.
I never imagined that I would see all of the big 5, as well as just about every other animal in the area, in only 4 short days. Listening to the animals at night (some right outside of our tent) was a huge plus for me. And as long as you are not anxious about being so close to the animals it is a great way to experience the wildness of Kenya. Bush camping at its' best.
And we truly never missed not having electricity. That only added to the experience.
Did i mention how amazing Moses (our guide) was? The best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gewels59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon k, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Gewels59

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara and Dorobo Bush Camp.

Basecamp Masai Mara is a Gold rated Eco Camp and all our tents are spacious & comfortable and we are glad that this met and exceeded your expectations.

Aside from employing and running on Solar energy, our partnership with the local community has established a strong bond that has left a positive footprint in all our camps in the Mara region.

As a way of learning more about Flora and Fauna in the savannah, we offer you an opportunity to get close and personal with nature and the vast experience of our guides, ensures you have an amazing adventure.

Thank you for the special mentions of our staff who made your experience memorable and we always recognize their efforts in customer service.

We have 3 camps in the Mara region and having stayed in two of them: Basecamp Masai Mara and Dorobo Bush Camp, we will be glad to host you at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho on your next visit which is only a few minutes drive from Dorobo Bush Camp. The 3 destinations collectively offers you a authentic African safari adventure.

Warm Regards,
Eric Gaku,
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The tents are great and service very friendly. Special praise to our Massai guide, Anthony, who was very knowledgeable about the animals and life in the park. Employees of the restaurant were also great.

Two remarks:
For ecological reasons the toilets in the tents have no flush, so be prepared!
Also, as a family of 5 we were supposed to be in one big tent, but once we arrived, we were placed in two separate tents. Make sure to confirm many times that you have the family tent (it was in our reservations) to avoid disappointments!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank brasil80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

All AAA here, perfect location to go on game drives. Just be prepared that you are not the only only one out there.

Tents are great, food and service perfect. Manager Saif a really nice guy who will do anything to make you feel even more comfortable. Relocated us to a nicer tent upon request. No 16,15 and 5 are the best tents BTW.

Beware of the "Masai village visit". Entrance fee 20$, ok so far, nice dance and talk. However, in the end they get a little pushy trying to sell you 2$ jewelry for 50$ upwards.

Other than that a place in paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Masai Mara Basecamp! Loved the privacy the "tents" offered and the silence and wild life there. The staff were super friendly, making us feel very welcome and happy. This place really opened my eyes for Eco-tourism and will make me think twice before booking other holidays around the world. I have recommended this to many people and might even return one day! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just arrived to Nairobi after a fantastic three night stay at the lodge. Everything has been so nice, and everything from gourmet meals, children activities, friendly staff and not least the Eco based and sustainable travel, giving back to the Masai society, exceeds all our expectations.
We also wants to tell how satisfied we have been with our guide, Agnes. She has so much knowledge about the animals, the nature and what to do and not to do to preserve the delicate ecosystem. In addition she was fantastic with our to kids, and showed us so many unforgettable scenes. We will return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per Håkan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews