We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$948
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$554
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$492
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$393
$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Serena Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
348
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame driveslocal womengreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityanimals grazingoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 387 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

All AAA here, perfect location to go on game drives. Just be prepared that you are not the only only one out there.

Tents are great, food and service perfect. Manager Saif a really nice guy who will do anything to make you feel even more comfortable. Relocated us to a nicer tent upon request. No 16,15 and 5 are the best tents BTW.

Beware of the "Masai village visit". Entrance fee 20$, ok so far, nice dance and talk. However, in the end they get a little pushy trying to sell you 2$ jewelry for 50$ upwards.

Other than that a place in paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Masai Mara Basecamp! Loved the privacy the "tents" offered and the silence and wild life there. The staff were super friendly, making us feel very welcome and happy. This place really opened my eyes for Eco-tourism and will make me think twice before booking other holidays around the world. I have recommended this to many people and might even return one day! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just arrived to Nairobi after a fantastic three night stay at the lodge. Everything has been so nice, and everything from gourmet meals, children activities, friendly staff and not least the Eco based and sustainable travel, giving back to the Masai society, exceeds all our expectations.
We also wants to tell how satisfied we have been with our guide, Agnes. She has so much knowledge about the animals, the nature and what to do and not to do to preserve the delicate ecosystem. In addition she was fantastic with our to kids, and showed us so many unforgettable scenes. We will return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per Håkan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Worked out absolutely perfect for our Honeymoon. Only stayed a couple of nights, which is fine, but could have easily stayed more. Basecamp is a really special place. Not only is it luxurious and secluded, but it is eco-friendly and run by local Maasai people. Amazing attention to detail. Beautiful safari tents. Views overlooking Maasai Mara. Really feel in the heart of the wild. Food 5*. Completely flexible around us, things ran like clockwork and even without us having to ask - just like they were psychic! I priced up about 20 of the best rated camps in the Masai Mara and this was the best value. But I can't see what more we could have had! We will still remember this place on our 50th Wedding anniversary and I expect will have been back a few times since as well!

We went on Safari in Zambia and Tanzania, before coming to Kenya. The Masai Mara was our absolute favourite, no competition. We saw more animals up close and beautiful scenery than in any other National Park. Amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Basecamp with its location in Talek is the ideal starting point for safari in Masai Mara, located next to the river and with the national park on the other side. The Masai guides were outstanding, and guided us to all the big five, and most often we were there well ahead of other vehicles. Of special note was a female lion playing with her two cubbs, and following a cheeta on a succesful hunt. Being located next to a Masai village we also got to experience some of the local culture, and see how the community programs initiated and managed by the Basecamp Foundation is helping the local school and the local women. We enjoyed the food very much, well prepared and served.
We also spent three days at Basecamp Eagleview in the nearby Naiboisho Wildlife Conservancy, where the wildlife is as amazing as Masai Mara, but there are less camps and tourists. A fantastic view of the savannah from the terrace of our cottage, we could overlook the wildlife even from our bed in the luxurious tent. Again the food was great, and the facilities overall were brand new and with the best standard. We also enjoyed two walking safaries with the Masai guides, a unique experience being part of it all on foot!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peres0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews