We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect safari place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basecamp Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Basecamp with its location in Talek is the ideal starting point for safari in Masai Mara, located next to the river and with the national park on the other side. The Masai guides were outstanding, and guided us to all the big five, and most often we were there well ahead of other vehicles. Of special note was a female lion playing with her two cubbs, and following a cheeta on a succesful hunt. Being located next to a Masai village we also got to experience some of the local culture, and see how the community programs initiated and managed by the Basecamp Foundation is helping the local school and the local women. We enjoyed the food very much, well prepared and served.
We also spent three days at Basecamp Eagleview in the nearby Naiboisho Wildlife Conservancy, where the wildlife is as amazing as Masai Mara, but there are less camps and tourists. A fantastic view of the savannah from the terrace of our cottage, we could overlook the wildlife even from our bed in the luxurious tent. Again the food was great, and the facilities overall were brand new and with the best standard. We also enjoyed two walking safaries with the Masai guides, a unique experience being part of it all on foot!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peres0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We experienced closer contact with all the animals we hoped to see than what we have dreamed. With experienced and knowledgeable Masai guides we felt safe, though we were only 3-4 meters away from elephants, lions and leopards. A cheetah on the roof, touching us, added to the experience. So did a cheetah hunting and killing, lions mating, elephants playing an giraffes fighting. Beautiful savannahs, thousands of wildbeasts, zebras and antelopes and much, much more. Walking safaris, breakfast on the savannah and bush camping were exciting. But a great safari has to be put into context, to make the experience complete. Great food, personal and friendly service and very convenient and spacious cottages and facilities. Both Basecamp Talek and Eagle View included a private deck with a magnificent view and the outdoor shower was fun and added to the experience. Eagle View was brand new and luxurious. Basecamp has successfully made the experience complete, balancing very high standard camps, wilderness, eco tourism and safari with close contact with Masai culture and people. A holistic experience. Truly exceptional! We enjoyed every minute of almost 40 hours of safaris divided on 7 days. 3 days at the main camp at Talek, one night at the bush camp and two nights at Eagle View was perfect. We enjoyed the variation, which added to the experience. Not one dull moment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank straume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The permanent tents are spacious, clean and surrounded by beauty! We went when there were no mosquitoes so the outdoor bathrooms were not a problem. The private, outdoor shower was amazing. The food was excellent and the staff was helpful, attentive and knowledgeable. There were many options for the safari and we saw plenty of animals. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda0699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

In late August we had an amazing experience at Basecamp Masai Mara, and at Eagle View, Kenya. Safari every day for 7 days, even 2 times a day.

Regarding Masai Mara: The experience of the ecotourism way. The Foundation where the women make and sell handy crafts of recirculated materials. The location where the camp was with 12 very special and great tents. It makes you think back to the nature. Beautiful view against the savannah, where the gnus migration, zebras, antelopes and other animals coming down to drink water in the little river near by. The sounds from the animals in the night, makes it so unbelievable fantastic. The great safari games at the savannah with our Masai host Moses. Regarding the safari; so lots of animals, the migration of wildebeest and zebras were moving, lions, rhinos, cheetahs, elephants, buffalo and all other kinds of animals that could be got to take part in their own area. Leopard was the only one of the big five who hid for us. It was probably to get us back again.
Everyone at the camp made these days unforgettable and beautiful.

Eagle View at 1600 meter was the next camp for 3 days: Here you meet the luxury in an other way. An amazing place with 9 luxury tents and still it was the ecotourism way. Two beautiful eagles welcoming us. The experience at the savannah with great safari games with our Masai host Derek whom showed us an elephant family, 3 lion families, hyena mother with her children. It was incredibly amazing. We had a walking safari for 2 hours and that was also fantastic experience. All the sounds in the night when you hear lions and hyenas having a kill. It makes you pinch you arm and asking, am I dreaming.

We felt it all. We wish every single person could experience this together with Basecamp Masai Mara and Eagle. And the very best to the owners with their way of helping the Masai people and all the animals.
Amazing experience. Hope we get back to Basecamp

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ragnar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A family of 5, we started of a Basecamp for two nights, two nights at Dorado Bush camp and finishing the week with two nights at the newly renovated "Eagle View". Basecamp gave us an introduction to Kenya, the area with all its exciting wildlife and the Maasai culture. Staff were friendly, food were excellent and the guides very professional. At the Bush camp "Dorobo" we lived as one with the nature, more simple living but still excellent food and service. We kept the same guides who now became more like friends. The best thing in Dorobo was the "walking safaris" were we the local Maasai guides shared their knowledge about the wildlife and suddenly you were in the wildlife( A bit scary at the start). We finished off at "Eagle view"...what a place!!
The newly renovated Eagle view took our breath away....new tents (if you can call it tents:-), friendly people and you guessed it, the same guides. The food was even better and we truly enjoyed the stay, all of us.

In one way we were lucky and I believe did the camps in the correct order finishing off with Eagle View. The other way around had not been as good. If you cannot stay at all three places I’d go for “Eagle view” maybe three nights with one to two days in the bush camp.

I had this Safari on my bucket list...I had high expectations and Basecamp delivered more than I had hoped for.

Thomas, Marit, Frida, Malin & Ellie

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just stayed there one night. Entrance is kind of bushy, but rooms are very nice, outdoor showers are outstanding. Rooms are quite large, with separate toilet, urinal, and sink areas. Clean and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Sat with one for 1 hr and learned much about the local people and their culture. Meals were excellent, most had prepared standard breakfast but I had cook for order. Close proximity to park edge, and our game drive at 630am was amazing: life and death on the Mara observed firsthand. I wasn't supposed to stay here (was bait and switched by my travel agent Sardius Tours and Safaris (Nairobi)), but I would return and recommend strongly this place to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Having worked for some weeks with one of the Maasai educational projects Basecamp supports at Koiyake Guiding School, I had the amazing good fortune to spend three nights at Basecamp Masai Mara. Having come to know the Maasai people a little better it was wonderful to see their industry and experience their kindness and care in this glorious spot by the Talek river with views across the savannah. This is a most understated and luxurious camp, yet totally eco-friendly and ethically run. Game drives were amazing, and food and comfort was exceptional. I would highly recommend a stay here, or at their sister camp Eagle's View : it must rank as the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: All the tents are equally wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,110 reviews
3 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
6.2 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#18 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
707 reviews
16.9 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#14 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
889 reviews
25 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Masai Mara

Address: Talek, C14, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $282 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basecamp Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Masai Mara provides 12 spacious and luxurious tents, bordering the Masai Mara National reserve, on a lush peninsula in the Talek River, with spectacular views of the savannah. You have your own veranda overlooking the river, bathroom en-suite with a hot solar heated shower open to the sky. Enjoy the amazing wildlife from your tent, the fig-tree platform, or in the open-air bar - a responsible approach to the classic safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Basecamp Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Masai Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Basecamp Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing