We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
348
31
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame driveslocal womengreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityanimals grazingoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 387 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I absolutely love the mission of the Basecamp foundation. The hotel's eco-friendly, sustainability, preservation vibe is fantastic. The staff are awesome and accommodating. The food was unexpectedly deliscious (3 courses, gourmet, varied; I was expecting much less from being in a nature reserve). The 'tents' are really comfortable too. Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theigham420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Basecamp. An ecological camp like this is the only right place to stay when on safari!
The Basecamp-company arranged our whole holiday in Kenya and did it very well. See our blog in Norwegian: http://familieturer.blogspot.com/2011/08/forberedelser.html

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This has been the most eventful holiday, ever! Everything exceeded my expectations. The friendly staff, the knowledgeable driver and guides (Special thanks to Simon and Manfred!), the delicious and nutritious food, the accomodation and surroundings that gave us the real "out-of-africa" feeling, and of course the animals! Not to forget the eco philosophy that formes the base of all the activities. To put it short: There is only one way of doing the safari - THE BASECAMP WAY :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuridElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Basecamp is a model setup for sustainability without losing comfort and functionality. The camp is on the edge of the park so wildlife can come walking right into the area. Fortunately the Masai watch the grounds at night to keep you safe! Food was outstanding and the Masai were incredibly friendly! I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great. each one has a balcony overlooking the river that runs through the area so you have a front row seat to wildlife.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russsssman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Honestly, everything was perfect. From the accommodations being VERY clean and VERY comfortable, to the food being awesome(The Chef was unbelievable. You'd think you were dining at a 5 star restaurant), to being located right next to the park gate. But to me what topped it all off was the staff. The were all extremely friendly, professional, and literally tended to our ever need. But even better was the fact that my daughter and I were lucky enough to be the only two guest our first night which meant the staff didn't have to take care of anyone else. So, after dinner we had the opportunity to sit down around a campfire with much of the staff and just relax and talk for a couple hours about the park and life in Kenya. They were so charming. It was a lot of fun. And lastly, our driver Joseph was the best. He was extremely knowledgeable with respect to the park itself and the wild life there. His ability to find or spot animals was unbelievable! But, more than that, he was just so nice and really fun to have for our game drives. We had a lot of laughs with Joseph. If you stay at Basecamp you have to request Joseph for your game drives!!!

One piece of advise. Be sure to lock your tent. It turns out Vervet Monkeys love chocolate, popcorn, and sugar cookies. We found out the hard way. :-)

John C.
Virginia, U.S.A.

Room Tip: Ask for tent 16...known as the
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews