We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Maasai Mara National Reserve
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,333)
Filter reviews
1,334 results
Traveler rating
708
441
117
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
708
441
117
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hippo bar masai mara game drives stir fry indian cuisine mosquito net resident hippos gift shop watering hole restaurant staff stayed two nights buffet style your doorstep after dark wild animals the reserve lunch and dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,334 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2019 via mobile

Loved this place, yes so what it’s a little dated but you are here for an authentic experience, the rooms are compact and so are the bathroom but everything is to high standard if not a tiny bit dated, the games drives into the Maasai Mara are absolutely amazing... make sure you visit the Hippo pool just a short walk across the nicely kept gardens, also we saw a crocodile in the water, there is a bar so you can actually see the hippos moving mostly they sleep more than me.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 941TerryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Been to keekorok lots in the past. Still a good lodge but needs a little TLC. Service good on the whole but staff fishing for tips occasionally.
Location superb with lots of wildlife on its doorstep. Hippo pool great! Food above average with good variety but disorderly queuing by far eastern guests needs managing. probably a more intimate and rustic safari experience at other camps but still an enjoyable stay!

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank surilpatel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

My friends and I have just had two amazing nights at Keekorok Lodge. Joshua our Masai guide was fantastic. On our first safari we saw a Leopard. A beautiful animal and a very rare sighting. We also saw a crocodile but it was too fast for photos. Only got his tail. We sat by the hippo pool for ages watching them at the lodge. They are fascinating to watch. There were also warthogs and gazelle. On our next trip out we saw a huge herd of water buffalo, elephants, hyenas and their young. That evening we found a lion and two lioness's. A cheetah and her three cubs. The following morning we came across a black rhino which is also a rare sight. Then we found a price of lions with their cubs and their recent kill. We also saw wildebeest and giraffe on our way back to the lodge. What a fantastic stay. Thanks to Joshua we saw the big 5. The stay at the lodge was comfortable. The staff very friendly especially our waiter Samuel. Good was very good. Some of it could have been hotter but there was always a good choice. I had freshly made pasta one evening. Which was cooked with whatever ingredient you chose by the lovely chefs who were always joking with us. It is well worth a visit and would recommend it.

Room tip: Ground floor with garden view and near main lodge and hippo pool
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

We had the misfortune to stay at Keekorok Lodge as part of an otherwise great Safari trip to Kenya and Tanzania. The lodges there are basic but OK, except that on our first morning we awoke to find that cold water was coming slowly out of the shower. We spoke to the people on reception who told us that they knew of the problem and that it would be fixed. Later in the day the receptionist told us that it had all been sorted out. Foolishly we believed her, but the next morning, the only difference was that the pressure was good, but this made it even worse as cold fast flowing water is not pleasant in our view! When I raised this on departure - thankfully we were moving on - I was told that I would have to fill out a form for the maintenance team - no apology given.

Later in the holiday, we were travelling back to Nairobi and the driver asked about our holiday. We told him that the best bit for animals was the Masai Mara and he asked where we had stayed. When we said Keekorok Lodge he asked whether they still had problems with the water temperature!

Our Travel Agents in the UK were most sympathetic and took things up on our behalf when we returned home. Keekorok were not in the slightest bit interested, but our Travel Agents themselves provided a part refund of the room costs.

If you want to see the Masai Mara, and you should, it is fantastic, then use another hotel unless you are a public schoolboy yearning for the past!!!

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and it was fantastic. The room was authentically decorated and very comfortable, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the pool was perfect to cool off between drives and we could have spent hours sitting at the watering hole watching the hippos.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank clicoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews