We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Love Keekorok!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Love Keekorok!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed here three nights at the beginning of October 2009.

We love this lodge so much! This was a our third stay and it never disappoints.

We photographed numerous birds whilst walking around the lodge grounds, watched a few hours old Hippo take its first steps and numerous other game animals from the comfort of the Hippo bar! Other guests had seen a leopard drag a kill up the bank near the Hippo bar and lions hunting near the lodge entrance gate!

What more could you want from a safari base?

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food choice and quality was excellent… next time we go back to Kenya we will base ourselves here for the whole holiday!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank West_Mids_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    295
    84
    26
    23
See reviews for
275
294
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our 3 centre safari. Good location in the Masai Mara with no boundary meaning the animals really do drift in and out of the gardens. Hotel and grounds all very well maintained and staff friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and of good standard. Good restaurant and the food was definately the best out of the 3 places we stayed. Nice swimming pool with bar. Hippo pool could be viewed from a lookout/bar which was a good place to go for pre dinner drinks. We had two enjoyable days here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizzieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

The Safari experience in the Mara is similar wherever you stay. What sets this lodge apart from the others is its location. Well inside the park, unfenced, and with the most fantastic walkway to a viewing room over the hippo pool, you are guaranteed to be up close to these most elusive animals. We watched them interact for hours.

Other hotel features were excellent - comfort and service was all one might expect. Perhaps the only niggle was the low level of lighting in the rooms - don't try and pack at night as you can't see what you are doing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Keekorok was simply superb. The location right in the centre of the Mara is too good. Food and service is excellent. We had hippos grazing outside our rooms at night - its so close to nature. Had a great time here.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Krishna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

The staff here were very friendly and attentive. The facilities are amazing with spacious grounds to wander in, including a lovely bar overlooking the hippo pool. the restaurant and bar staff are attentive and friendly and the food is very good. If returning to your room after dark, a discreet guard will escort you in case you bump into a grazing hippo on the way as we did - great fun! The rooms are average size for safari lodges, but comfortable and with all the usual amenities.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llanelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKSTONE,MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

when i arrived at keekorok i had been traveling for a week with only the clothes on my back, turkish air had lost my luggage and up to that point getting them washed was tricky to say the least. i washed underwear every nitebut when i got to the hotel and explained what had happened they had my clothes washed and back in 45 minutes.one problem solved next i went to the gift shop to see if i could find a cord to connect my camera to my laptop to charge my fast fading batteries,alas no cords but when i explained what happened the gentleman behind the counter said " you must take my sony camcorder and bring it back when you are thru . you didn't come all this way not to take pictures!! whithout asking my name or room number he gave me his camcorder...
these are only 2 examples of the great kindness we experienced at keekorok,everyone was great! i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or go back! kiduos to the staff!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KITKAT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

If you are visiting the Masai Mara then this is the place to stay!!
Everything about Keekorok is fantastic, the grounds, the food, the staff (so friendly and always smiling) the swimming pool, the rooms and of course the hippo pool. We asked to change rooms with a better view of the open park land, we had moved into our new room within minutes!! Outside our window were hippo, waterbuck and zebra grazing, when the guard came to walk us to the main building for dinner he shone his torch straight into the eyes of a hyena who was sitting just outside the lodge boundry! On our last morning we were woken by lions roaring, they sounded terribly close!!
We have stayed at several lodges in Kenya all of which have been very good but Keekorok has got something speical and magical about it, we will return!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
17.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
22.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
25.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Property: Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing