We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rustic, and worthwhile experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rustic, and worthwhile experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Soon after you pass Narok, a 100 km of unpaved, dusty, dry soil road brings you to this lodge in Masai Mara. A welcome drink and wet towel is offered on welcome. The property is unfenced, hence hippos and elephants frequently make visits. The cottages have a rustic look. There,s a kettle and tea coffee in the room. The meals are tasteful and a live station helps to make the experience delightful. With the meals, one has to buy water which is a little expensive. Tea and coffees are available with the meals on the terrace portico outside the restaurant area. At night, the grounds are quite dangerous if you are careless: the security of course escorts you to your cabins. Another feature in this place is the electric power shutdown 3 times a day. However an emergency light is available at night in all rooms. Internet is only available in the lobby area, not in the rooms. It is also chargeable. The staff is very friendly and helpful though. There,s a lobby bar for a drink or 2. We stayed 2 nights here, and enjoyed the safaris as almost everybody at the lodge got upclose to a pride of Lions. Really enjoyed it here. The food here is delicious too

Room Tip: North side Corner rooms with long glass doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p0ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    318
    86
    28
    24
See reviews for
290
316
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Friendly staff,good food, great rooms, great location,The Masai dance in the evening is entertaining and the overall set up is awesome..its spacious,comfortable and welcoming.a place to create good memories and enjoy a comfortable relaxed stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The grounds and layout of the lodge were very lovely.

Well appointed rooms with comfy beds and cute back porch sitting area to observe animals... Bath room a bit on the rustic side but I guess that was the look they were going for. You have to become use to the turning off of the electric from 11pm until 6 or so in the am. The room is pretty dark and quite frankly I really needed the fan to work. I'm glad we traveled in October/November as it was moderate weather. *Note: If you schedule any spa services make sure they are when the electricity isn't scheduled to go off like I did between 3pm and 6pm...It can get a bit warm and you don't get the benefit of soothing music.

The meals were all good with a decent selection of items at each meal. Service and staff were good as well.

The hippo pool with bar was fantastic, the nightly entertainment was great as well. Overall a very good stay all around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mssalahuddin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

A very beautiful place in the beautiful park of the masai mara. Hippo pool is very nice we viewed a lion with its liones there been chased away by the buffalos. A big thank you to the entire staff of keekorok for making our stay so comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fazia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice place set inside the Mara reserve. Loved the hippo pool where you can watch hippos and enjoy a drink. In the evening these hippos come out and you can see them as the place is well lit. Food is average to good, staff very warm. They do a Masai dance every evening which is good.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bidyutbhanjdeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The lodge and it's atmosphere were lovely. The rooms were a trifle small but it's not too bad considering the price difference between Keekorok and other Mara lodges. Having heard slightly negative things about the quality of food, I was suitably impressed; whilst nothing special, it is actually quite good, and can thoroughly recommend a trip to the stir-fry bar. Overall a pretty cool experience. Found the whole nightly dancing Masai people slightly unsettling though...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Our stay at Keekorok Lodge was excellent with one minor exception. The food service needs tweaking. More flavor, more choices.

The rooms and employees were excellent. I really enjoyed all of the Maasai Warriors that worked in the lodge and provided services to the guest.

The location of the lodge was excellent. The distance to the wildlife (and the Tanzania border) was great. Just a short drive and you can view all the wildlife you can imagine. The Pride of 14 Lions female and cub was almost the highlight of our trip until we came across the three Mail lions.

In all the trip was wonderful.

I cannot wait for my next opportunity to return.

Lloyd D. Adams

Baytown, TX.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 267LeeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.1 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
17.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
22.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
34.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
25.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Property: Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing