We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lifetime Experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food extremely good and the staff ever so friendly and helpful. Each and Every staff went out of the way too ensure that we were comfortable and felt at ease. the store there stocks a good range of mementos and they are all priced well. The Hippo pool was just awesome. I would recommend this resort to everyone who goes over there. Stay here and enjoy the true Masai hospitality!!

Room Tip: Get the rooms close to the Hippo pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashok20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed there for 3 days & 4 nights. The food was delicious, ambiance was good, the backyard of the hotel was amazing as it was the house of 20-30 hippos. Observatory post for night watching from the wooden platform was awesome. Swimming pool was average. Scenery from room was an experience. Footprints of hippos at room doorstep was unbelievable. Um
Ultimate living experience. Highly recommended for a tour

Room Tip: Ask the desk for jungle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iftikharahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We were a grp or 8 all family members visiting Masai Mara for the first time. We were not very keen on Keekorok wen recommended by or travel agent. But we were proved wrong by Keekorok Lodge's amazing location, excellent cottages, great and prompt service levels. Food was gr8 with lots of variety even for vegetarians like us. One of the best part was Hippo pond and the deck offering amazing views. Spotting was really nice from there. Taking a dip in Swimming pool also felt good during the heat of the day. Our overall trip to Masai Mara was jus gr8 and Keekorok made it very comfortable!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunal_rambhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

It was being with a amazing game scouting and terrific safari with TOM, who was private local driver and be companied with us last for a week. After we put out luggage in the lobby, just went into dinning room which they offered African cuisine but i test like India food without spicy. Heads-up If you wanna concierge to carry your belongings, just pay. And they have willing to help everything with tips your served. Money works everything in Africa. Btw, there's masai dancing for the mating call followed after dinner time. It's a jumping contest to show how strong the Masai boys are. The highest jump, the most strong and that was meant this winner is required to merry girls. There' s polygamy. so girls. Each room has mosquito net in case you got bit. Nice cottage!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zombie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Visited mara in 2011.very friendly staff and good ambience and night entertainment. ..maasai dance....the game rides and the tour guide very cooperative. .got to see all
the wildlife....from simba to cheetah..




  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed with our 7 year old grandson at easter 2014 we all had a magical time and are saving up to go again, the staff are lovely could not do enough for us we were very satisfied with the accommodation and food . The grounds are beautifull, the hippo pool amazing, the monkeys very cheeky. I would like to thank everyone at Keekorok from the bottom of my heart for making our holiday so memorable,also the drives are great we saw all the animals in plenty our driver James and guide Lapapa were dedicated to making sure our experience .Our grandson was adopted by the Masai staff and they did not mind him running around with them .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 30 as requested as we wanted to be near the main building ,it was fine there was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curtissurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The grounds are beautiful as are the buildings, which were built in the 1960's. This was the first lodge built in the park and it remains today because of its charm and first class service. The staff are excellent, very friendly and always willing to help. The views of the Mara from the rooms is out of this world and we saw elephants, lions and hippos as well as many bird species while sipping wine on our private patio.

The meals are buffet with a wide variety of offerings from traditional Kenyan food to Indian and Chinese options. We did not have a bad meal during our stay.

Don't miss out on the hippo pool!

I would definitely return to Keekorok in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cajunsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.4 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
11.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
127 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,083 reviews
37.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
23 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $184 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing