We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful lodge in a superb location for hippo watching!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A lovely welcome with a refreshing towel and cold drink. The staff here were excellent and so friendly.

The rooms we stayed in were fantastic with a huge glass window looking out onto the lawn. There is also a long walkway which leads to a lookout point for the hippo pool which turns into a bar in the evening to watch the hippos coming out of the water to graze which was spectacular. This was lovely to have a drink before dinner in the evening and made the lodge very memorable.

The swimming pool area was lovely and the pool attendant very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with a good variety and the chefs would constantly be checking to replenish the food and were always very chatty. The lodge was very clean. I would highly recommend this lodge when visiting Maasai Mara.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Set in the middle of the Masai Mara forest range this hotel was amazing. The location is awesome and so were the services. Though being a non kenyan we were looked after well especially by Mr.Mathat, Ms.Victoria, Patrick from the restaurant and Patrick from the reception who went out of the way to ensure that power was supplied unhindered despite rationing as i wan on oxygen machine. The rooms were well maintained and the surroundings were serene.
The only sour point was the food since we were promised indian food it was pathetic even though there was an indian chef who looked through us and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivkumar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Me and my family enjoyed three nights at the lodge, excelent startingpoint for safari's in Maasai Mara. Only drawback is the 60km drive on bad roads before the gate to the park, it should be possible to improve that - it would do much to improve a visitors first impression to the Maasai Mara experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Askevold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at Keekorok in July 2003 with two small kids and what an experience it was! Unforgettable!! Along with the exhilarating MasaiMara Reserve and Big five this pleasantly added to our amazing Africa memories.
The lodge is inside the reserve and that means on the way to the lodge you sift through the Masai villages, long dry grass characteristic of Masai reserve ecosystem, Masai people going about their daily lives, few animals hopping by and the auburn landscape.
The hotel is vast with no boundary so you have many visitors from the reserve venturing by while you sip tea in your room! There are these small monkeys hanging all around your room and trees which was lot of fun for kids! Rooms are bright, clean and nicely done in jungle lodge style with a sitout. The hotel itself has wide variety of trees, open spaces hosting many bird species. Kids had a wonderful time playing about in the lawns collecting wild flowers, chasing birds. There is a nice hippo pool and that's a real one with more than 30 hippos, a lovely bridge and bar looking over the pool, lush trees all around. We even saw a hippo at night walking out from poolside and disappearing into the woods. All in all a lovely nature experience in the hotel itself. Food is great with lovely variety in Indian, local & continental food. Staff is friendly and service is superb.
Loved the place, will go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Keekorok in August 2013, myself and my husband were on our honeymoon, so we thought we deserved somewhere nice.
It was way over our expectations. Staff are so friendly, specially Daniel and a girl that I don't remember her name, she looks after the tables during diner.
You can do a hot air balloon safari, quiet expensive but totally worth .
The hotel also offer few different options for diner, something more private.
Food is absolutely amazing, so tasty.
We definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Juliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A delightful safari at Masai Mara, where we ended up seeing the big five. Travelling by flight from Nairobi the air stripe is very near to the resort where we were staying - Keekorok. The rooms are very comfortable with a keen eye to detail. The food in the restaurant is awesome, excellent and a great variety. The hippo pool is another great feature of the property. In the evening the Masai dancers performed and kept one mesmerised. A must trip with a great place to stay. The great migration also moves very close by and a treat to watch.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking the big lawns right next to the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavitagupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was the final stop on our safari tour and what a fantastic end it was. Like many safari lodges it is run on generators and they have power off times to conserve energy, unfortunately due to a medical condition I need power through out the night. This was simply fixed with no fuss. Rooms were very comfortable, we stayed in the individual huts at the front of the lodge which 'looked the part!'
The staff were very attentive and we particularly made friends with one of the security men, Job, who was always ready to escort us to and from our rooms and went out of his way to take us to the hippo viewing bar and showed us all sorts of other animals and plants on the way.
Exceptional service all round.
The food was very good, and as a person with a food allergy, the service was once again exceptional as there was always someone on hand to guide me round every dish to know what I could and could not eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicnac2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.4 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
11.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
125 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,081 reviews
37.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
23 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#23 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $186 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing