We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A delightful safari at Masai Mara, where we ended up seeing the big five. Travelling by flight from Nairobi the air stripe is very near to the resort where we were staying - Keekorok. The rooms are very comfortable with a keen eye to detail. The food in the restaurant is awesome, excellent and a great variety. The hippo pool is another great feature of the property. In the evening the Masai dancers performed and kept one mesmerised. A must trip with a great place to stay. The great migration also moves very close by and a treat to watch.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking the big lawns right next to the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavitagupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was the final stop on our safari tour and what a fantastic end it was. Like many safari lodges it is run on generators and they have power off times to conserve energy, unfortunately due to a medical condition I need power through out the night. This was simply fixed with no fuss. Rooms were very comfortable, we stayed in the individual huts at the front of the lodge which 'looked the part!'
The staff were very attentive and we particularly made friends with one of the security men, Job, who was always ready to escort us to and from our rooms and went out of his way to take us to the hippo viewing bar and showed us all sorts of other animals and plants on the way.
Exceptional service all round.
The food was very good, and as a person with a food allergy, the service was once again exceptional as there was always someone on hand to guide me round every dish to know what I could and could not eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicnac2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I just stayed here a little over a week ago and was very pleased with the accomodations, the lodge itself, the surrounding grounds, the entire staff and the food! I might not have found this lodge on my own, but because I traveled with Gate 1 Tours, they once again managed to select yet another fantastic hotel far in the middle of seemingly nowhere! Just when you think the lobby entryway to the lodge is impressive enough, they continued to amaze me with the guest rooms and buffet dining experience. It appeared as if most rooms had their own little patio sitting area, where you could relax and watch the monkeys frolic about in the afternoon. (The staff warned us to keep our doors closed, as the monkeys liked to steal things from people's rooms if left open!). At night, I was always accompanied back to my room by one of the hotel staff members and each night, the bed was turned down and the mosquito nets were drawn over the bed. I personally never had a problem with mosquitos, but I was happy to see the netting, regardless.
Each meal there, served buffet style, was delicious and varied enough to satify even the pickiest of eaters. I was thrilled to have lentils and vegetables daily. And I should not forget to mention the bar overlooking the large pond of happy hippos! I should also mention that Samson, the bartender at the Hippo Overlook Bar, was lovely, sociable and very welcoming each night we were there. This hotel was wonderful and in the perfect spot to go out on a game drive daily.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms are very similar, except there appeared to be some free-standing A frame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We chose to stay at this small oasis. We have stayed at other logdes at a higher room standards and etc, but no place surpasses this place. So friendly staff do all to make this place so very special!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

An amazing setting for our safari. The staff were friendly and very helpful (and genuinely so too) The rooms were clean and well equipped, food excellent. I would highly recommend this lodge.
We would especially recommend going to see Samson who mans the hippos lounge! What a great guy, and a fantastic setting for beer as the sun goes down, watching the hippos come out to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

thanks to the head chef's honoring of my request, we were able to get some ugali, typical kenyan porridge eaten daily by almost all kenyans, and sukuma wiki, its kale accompaniment. this was one of the highlights of our trip. no need to talk about animals and game drives because everyone else has described them. oh, i almost left out the ballon trip with its champagne breakfast which were once in a lifetime experiences.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nealcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I (and a group of six other friends) stayed four nights at the Keekorok Lodge at Maasai Mara National Reserve.

The positives for this property are numerous. The location in the park is outstanding, with magnificent wildlife on display during game drives (big 5 plus numerous types of antelope, birds, monkeys, etc.). On the hotel property itself, we saw hippos, monkeys, mongoose, and birds. The staff are genuinely warm and friendly – everyone from desk staff to restaurant hostesses to bartenders to porters were all fantastic – not merely doing their job by inquiring about us, but going beyond that to communicate their genuine interest in our enjoyment of their special place. The restaurant has a wide variety of food, including Western, Asian, and Indian (including vegetarian) options. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are all buffet-style. We loved the naan and chapatis that were baked fresh each night at dinner. The room and bathroom were good-sized, with a comfortable bed and good-quality linens. Maasai warriors process through the dining room each evening and perform a traditional dance on the patio.

The only real negative was that some items were not available – for instance, several of the wines on their wine list were not available and there was a limited selection of beers – at the gift shop, shirts weren’t available in some sizes, jewelry selection was limited, etc. Perhaps this is because we were there in January rather than in summer during the migration (high season), but it was nevertheless a negative for us. As minor points, there is no fitness center, and wi-fi is only available for a fee ($15 per day).

Overall, we had a great time and would recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.4 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
255 reviews
11.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
32.9 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,103 reviews
37.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
23 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 102124, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $186 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing