We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This is a wonderful place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had some days at Keekorok lodge in the end of September 2013. We loved the place! Especially the nearness to the surrounding animals of the Masai Mara National Park was fantastic. And the Hippo Pool was a very interesting place. To see the wild hippos fight and "quarrel" in the little pool was really amazing! In the night we could see the hippos come up from their pool and graze not more than 10 meters from our building.The food was very good as was the cleaning! The staff took very good care of us and they were very friendly! We enjoyed our stay very, very much and we long back most every day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connyswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    335
    90
    30
    24
See reviews for
311
324
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raipur, Chhattisgarh, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed in this resort for 4 days & really enjoyed our stay besides the variety of wild life sightings we had.Its a huge n old Property decorated in true African style. Check in was quite smooth & we were warmly welcomed by staff dresses in traditional Masai Dress with a hot towel n fresh juice.The 1st room allotted to us was quite cramps but when I requested for a change, it was gladly accepted. We were then allotted another room facing the garden. Room was spacious , cosy but shower portion was little small. Iron door to the room was out of place.Staff was polite, courteous n was very co operative.Lawns are very well maintained n Hippo Pool was an added attraction. The evening Traditional Masai dances added flavour to our stay after a whole day of Safari.The whole night u could hear the roars of lions n Hippos grunting.
The Hot Air Balloon Safari booked through Resort only was a memorable experience since it was highly professionalised with the German Pilot who gave a real personal touch during the Safari. TheBreakfast after safari in the woods with Champagne was unforgettable.
We also had our Candle Light Dinner also wherein the display of dishes was excellent .

Room Tip: The ones facing the garden opposite the Dining Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were delighted. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food great and the staff wonderful. Loved the hippo pool bar where we saw lots of different animals. Game drives were also excellent, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 25Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights/three days and loved it. Gorgeous room, wonderful buffet food and excellent service. Enjoyed a glass of wine at the Hippo Bar, watching the hippos getting out after a long day of chilling in the mud. Whilst we were there it was my 40th birthday and the staff surprised me with a wonderful cake, very impressed and very tasty. The reception, bar and restaurant staff were all amazing, so friendly, remembered our names and always asked about our day. The monkeys by the pool were entertaining too! We were booked on two game drives per day but enjoyed it so much we spoke to reception who arranged a further lunchtime drive for us, 80USD for 3hrs, just us and the driver. We also went to a Massi Mara Village, loved it and even got a few wooden souvenirs (a tad over priced even after we barter then down). Would love to go back to Keekorok and totally recommend it. Rooms nice and authentic, food plentiful and tasty, staff polite and very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nit38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Heard from our guide this the 2nd most expensive and oldest hotel in masai mara. I had a good time staying here. It is your typical hotel with buffet meals and there are many varieties of food served. The rooms are decent but I noticed that the bathroom and rooms seems to have flies and I was bitten when showering, They do provide nets over the beds. We had a very friendly security guy who offered to show us the hippos and other animals roaming the grounds at night when he was leading us back to our rooms. Overall I will rank this a comfortable stay especially when you are tired after a day of game drive. The hotel actually has a hippo bar where hippos aplenty and at dinner time, they have masai dancers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IceMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as a family with 2 very young children and thoroughly enjoyed it. Considering this is a relatively big establishment, the service was very friendly with the personal touch of a much smaller place. The children were very well accommodated for, lots of flexibility on the game drives and nature walks. The food is of reasonable standard (considering the remoteness of the place), always a buffet which is varied daily, a mixture of European dishes and (vegetarian) Indian curries.

The wildlife viewing is incredible, even within the lodge grounds - we had within 20 metres of our bedroom at different times zebra, giraffe, vervet monkeys, baboons, impala, dik-dik and mongeese. The hippo pool is worth visiting several times a day (not least for pre-dinner drinks watching the hippos leave the water for grazing) - around the pool we saw buffalo, elephants, giraffe and zebra amongst other things.

The only feature I would skip next time would be the visit to the masai village. You pay a hefty fee (by Kenyan standards) to visit the village and once you're there eh whole thing feels very contrived and there's a lot of pressure to buy souvenirs at exhorbitant prices. When we first tried to leave we were told our driver had gone to "fix a puncture" (untrue of course). It never felt threatening, but it certainly makes you feel a little too much like a stupid tourist for being there in the first place.

That aside, the rest of our stay at Keekorok was flawless. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. I should also add we didn't see a single mosquito the whole time (though I can't vouch for that being the case all year round).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandelieu-la-Napoule, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Fantastic two days here the hotel was decorated in African style which was great and the staff very helpful, food was very tasty lots of choice and there was a cosy bar area adjoining the restaurant. The grounds were pretty and the the watering hole for the hippos good to watch although we would have liked to see them out of the water.The swimming pool was fairly private very clean and sunbeds excellent with towels provided.The rooms were lovely with a pleasant view of the gardens and even a few monkeys running around outside, we also saw some zebras in the distance. The power goes out twice which was not a problem as most people are out on safari for the first and asleep for the second. Mosquito nets were pulled each night. Wonderful hotel and staff so friendly. The wifi was not too expensive if you just need an hour or so to catch up on mail but you can only get a connection in the main hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robine974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
17.8 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
22.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
34.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
25.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Property: Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing