We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gate-way to MasaiMara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Gate-way to MasaiMara”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Travel was done in Oct 2008.This was one of the most amazing properties we have stayed . The lodge opens into the jungle and there is no fencing around it. Quite an adventurous stay but one has to exercise caution post sunset. We actually had lions outside our cottage at night and were thankful for securing the doors and not moving from one cottage to another as we had travelled in a group.The food quality is exceptional and the staff are well trained and courteous. The arrangements for the safari is well co-ordinated and planned.The African sky is a sight to behold after sunset.Watch out for the monkeys.Good photo ops with Exotic birds and picturesque spots .We were lucky to watch a wilder-beast migration.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LataV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    362
    96
    32
    24
See reviews for
336
347
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This lodge was well maintained with an excellent and helpful staff! One night they had a traditional dinner held outside which was lovely. This lodge had the nicest rooms that we stayed in on safari, large fans, mini-bar, clean bathroom and excellent mosquito netting. There are monkeys wandering throughout the hotel grounds, they are cute but sneaky! The buffet was good but not great, a bit bland and repetitive although the tandoori oven station was fantastic! The hippo pool is fantastic at least 10 hippo's were seen, lots of birds, and even a few crocodiles. Definitely worth staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Excelent friendly people, especialy with children...!.
Very nice experience.
Be aweare with the monkeys, mainly with the babums, they are really bad guys!!!
Amazing to see the elephants at night from the gardens...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent the first two days in Masai Mara with my wife and the 2 boys - great start of a fantastic week!
Lovely facilities, great room with balcony out to the wild. Rich Buffet amazing staff, in particular David in service and Chef Kenny who really have taken care of us. Stephen the GM - a big thank you to you and the team who made all of us welcome.
Tip: have a sundowner drink in the Hippo bar and watch those guys at the lake.. Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDaddyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was my second visit to Masai Mara and it was far superior to my visit in 2008. I found the facilities to be superb. All members of the staff were courteous and very helpful. I would recommend your lodge to anyone who is planning a trip to Kenya for safari.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I came with a group of three in February to Keekorok for four nights. Overall we found the lodge to be pretty nice. Most of the aspects of the lodge that were not appealing to us are likely just byproducts of the safari tourism culture in East Africa, and not unique to this lodge.

The good: the lodge was a good value, and was much more reasonably priced than some of the other options in this portion of the Mara. Our room was small, but was very clean, and the linens, hot water, beds, mosquito nets, etc... were all very nice. The front porch was a nice place to unwind and soak up the sun, but there was no privacy there, as it abutted the main lawn and other guests' huts. The lodge has a nice pool, and the hippo bar was a cool place to spot wildlife. The back terrace of the main lodge is also very nice and a perfect place to relax and have a drink. The location is very nice for some high-quality game drives. We saw some incredible scenery and game every single game drive we went on.

The not as good: the main lodge was a bit dated and felt as if there had not been any improvements in a couple decades. The staff dressed as Maasai who come around every night and dance were an odd feature. It gave the place a bit of a Disneyland feel -- not quite what we were looking for. I'm sure the kids staying at the lodge liked it, but it made for some awkward encounters. The food at the buffet was nothing to write home about. A lot of the meats were overcooked, but there was always something else that was decent. The grounds are in a beautiful setting, but being a guest here felt a bit cloistered. I realize this was likely because of guest safety, but some organized walks with guides would have been a nice feature. The staff were fine, but did not go out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay: the lodge felt more like a large resort, cattle-call than some of the smaller places we stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved this place! The whole lodge is beautifully done up and really sets a great mood for the safari experience. They have an indian chef so the food was authentic. Desserts could use some improvement, though there was a lot of variety. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice. The pancakes could be better and the milk was watery somehow :(

The hippo bar is a nice addition and its fun to just sit an watch hippos play around. The lodge isn't fenced off from the mara so impalas etc do wander in int the mornings. Quite a sight! My brother celebrated his birthday during our stay here and the cake was brought out by masai people singing 'hakuna matata'!!

The beds are comfortable and plumbing is good. There's power rationing from 12 to 5 so it gets really dark. Be sure to charge the emergency lights in case ur likely to wake up at that time. Can get a bit scary otherwise. Mosquito nets are provided but we used our own repellant creams as well. Dont stroll in the grass in sandals, there can be snakes around.

I would really have loved to have free wifi here. In any case, even the paid wifi should be accessible through multiple devices. They say the system is controlled from Nairobi and so they cant help you switch devices, but surely it can be centrally allowed for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garima90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.9 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
218 reviews
11.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
105 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
37.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
511 reviews
22.6 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Property: Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing