We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Keekorok was the first stop of our safari on our honeymoon and it was absolutely incredible!
The food is great for being in the middle of no-where. The hippo pool was amazing - if not quite smelly. The rooms were great, spacious and clean.
The monkeys are very cheeky, it was great fun watching the Masai guard chasing them away from the tea/coffee stand. At night Elephants came right up to the edge of the land which was great to see.
The only hard part is the drive to the lodge, it is dirt track all the way - which you expect from being in the middle of the Masai Mara, it can be quite hard on the muscles and bones after a while though.
We loved every single moment of our safari and this incredible experience started right here at Keekorok. AMAZING!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Sam C,

We are delighted to read your positive review about our hotel and thank you so much for your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, our service & our hospitality. Positive comments like yours encourage to build our staff morale. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a two night stay as part of a longer safari stay in Kenya and Tanzania. Initially we were very disappointed by being assigned to "Motel" type accommodations at one end of the property. They were in the wide open sun and very warm with absolutely no ambiance to them. After complaining, the management agreed to move us to one of the cabins at the other end of the property. What a world of difference.

Service was great! Very friendly staff! Food was OK but not terrific.

Room Tip: Don't accept one of the Motel type rooms unless you've opted for this in your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harold I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Harold l,

Thank you for your time to write reviews about our hotel. My team & I are elated to know you had a wonderful time with us during your visit to Maasai Mara and we look forward to welcoming you back to Keekorok Lodge. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for the last three nights of our Safari.
What was good;
The Hippo bar lives up to it's name. Great place to take photos of wildlife, not just hippo's, and the barman Samson deserves a special mention for serving cold beer with a friendly smile.
Ideally located in the Masai Mara, the game drives were fun, we sighted lots of wildlife.
The room was clean, comfortable, and well equipped with Tea/coffee facilities and a safe.
Pleasant well kept gardens, with lots of trees and birds.
Very attentive and friendly staff.
What was not so good;
Food - Buffet style dining, but the quality, choice (especially if you do not care for curry style), and at times the quantity, was lacking. (this does not mean that you will starve!)
Drink - I refuse to pay nearly £30 for a bottle of plonk, the cheapest available.
On-suite facilities - Need refurbishing - Towels are frayed and threadbare.
Electric supply - I understand the need to conserve energy, and all the lodges have 'Off' times, but a bit more 'On' time here would be appriciated.
Shop - What little there was, seemed to be significantly overpriced.

This Lodge is the oldest in the area, and unfortunately it shows.
Overall - Good, but could be a lot better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Ray S,

Thank you for your valuable time to write review about our hotel. First of all, let me sincerely apologize about all the shortcomings during your stay with us. Feedback from our guest helps us to provide premier services at Sun Africa Hotels. We sincerely believe and take all efforts at Sun Africa Hotels to ensure that all our guest stays are comfortable and that they are delivered with the highest standards of guest experience.

We have revamped our buffet with a wide selection ensuring guests are catered with the choice of food. Once again, many thanks for the feedback which has helped us to identify improvement areas and would place us a step higher in our customer satisfaction. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This resort had agood location and facilies but the whole experiece was lessened by average quality food,

The lodge is very handily located next to Keekorok airstrip and a choice of activities is offered. We chose to do the morning safari (including Maasai village), hot air balloon and afternoon safari.

The staff were universally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank INR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear INR,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel. We are delighted to know you had a pleasant stay with us and we have noted your concern about food which our Chef has reworked. My team & I look forward to welcoming you back to Keekorok Lodge. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As in all Kenya people were very friendly, our group was greeted with fresh fruit drinks when we arrived.Our room was in the first floor (it has 2 floors and 4 units per building),with little space to accommodate luggage for two. Nice bed with a full all around mosquito net and a firm and confortable bed.
Bathroom needed maintenance, toilet was very difficult to flush and lavatory water handles were loose, not sufficient supply of towels for two. It is a very old lodge. The food was very good, nice pool, no TV or radio and poor paid by the hour or by the day WI-FI.
You will find a hippo pool and the you will see them around your room and since this is an open complex, you will find all kind of animals near you. Wonderful experience.

I wanted to go to a real african safari and this trip was it.
Game drives were fantastic and overall a great experience from beginnng to end.

This is not a trip for every one, bumpy roads and it would be very difficult for any one with a physical impediment. Otherwise, you can not miss it because you will regret it all your life.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a flash light with you and put it by your night table every night since there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank santiagozamudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Santiagozamudio,

We are delighted to read your positive review about our hotel and thank you so much for your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, our service & our hospitality. Positive comments like yours encourage to build our staff morale. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we visited the Masai Mara. We loved the hotel decor and the lovely attention to detail from carved Masai mask lampshades at the reception to the gorgeous shell, leather and bead curios in our bathroom on the mirror and even the toilet paper holder.
What was tacky was the 'Masai' at the reception serving drinks and the 'Masai' performance with the hotel staff taking time off to dress up and put on a show. I would have preferred a more authentic experience (versus seeing one of the 'warriors' flipping omelettes at the buffet the next day) and there is something demeaning about a strapping African warrior being made to serve you a drink.
Our room was incredibly tiny with a large four poster bed and mosquito net. the good thing was the very thoughtful ventilators with netting provided so you didn't feel suffocated (unlike some of the places we stayed at where you simply had to shut the windows and hope you didn't die of oxygen deprivation).
Since we were here for Christmas we found a lovely Santa with a chocolate dessert placed in our room for us.
We were on full board and did the buffet. This was okay, the spread was quite good and has a lot of veg and Indian options. The staff again like everywhere we went in Kenya were very helpful and went out of their way to prepare food to entice my 4 yr old into eating. Since it rained a lot when we were there the umbrellas provided all around the resort were useful.
They have a small bar overlooking a hippo pool that we walked to and saw many hippos at. There's also an elephant viewing platform though there were no elephants when we went there.
The grounds are well kept and lush - very nice for exploring between safaris.
We were quite startled to learn the Keekorok isn't fenced and a bit worried about safety. I don't know if we would have stayed there if we had known this earlier.
There is a smallish pool on the grounds that we didn't use as it was too chilly. They have a nice curio shop which isn't significantly more expensive vs. other places. However be warned that they typically don't accept credit cards (they do in theory but in practice the machine never works! We saw it happen to many people). Also your dollars need to be post 2009 or they won't be accepted.
The Christmas night dinner was outdoors in the lawn which was a bit horrific given that, like most tourists we had been warned about the Mosquitos and all manner of tropical diseases so it was a bit unnerving. We also really couldn't see a thing as they hadn't arranged for lighting. They had some singing and a Santa but my son was quite upset with the dark so we headed back to our room.
While they have power outages twice a day, we didn't feel it at all as the afternoon outage is when you're on safari and the early morning one is when it's too cold to be uncomfortable.
All in all we will probably stay somewhere else if we are at the Mara again. if we get a larger room, this is a good option.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JD1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear JD 1316,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel. We are delighted to know you had a pleasant stay with us. My team & I look forward to welcoming you back to Keekorok Lodge. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I dreamt of coming to Kenya my entire life. Staying at Keekorok Lodge made the stay even more unbeleivable. Complete with friendly, helpful staff with fresh fruit juice on the door as we arrived to the serenity of the hippo pool. the complex is open, so all animals can be seen as well as heard. hippos tend to roam at night but masai warriors lead you back to your room at night. the food is varied, with a heavy asian influence, I cannot commend this place enough, visit, now!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Steph H,

Thank you for your review. The staff and the management are delighted to know you had a good stay. We would certainly improvise on the speed of the internet. We do look forward to welcome you again at Keekorok Lodge. Many thanks Rahul Sood & team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.5 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
242 reviews
11.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
121 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,068 reviews
37.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
566 reviews
23.0 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $187 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing