We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an average tourist hotel with a great location. The grounds are nice and well maintained. Hippos live in the river nearby and they come onto the grounds to graze at night. We heard them munching the grass outside our room but could not see them. There is a nice observation walkway over the river to view the hippos during the day. Our room was rather small with a weak shower. A hot pot in the room with tea, coffee and biscuits was very welcome. The bed was comfortable. Electricity goes off from 1:00-4:00 am but a large flashlight is provided in the room. Food was buffet style with lots of mediocre choices. After about two meals, it all tasted the same. The desserts were beautiful but tasteless. Keekorok Lodge was an okay place to stay for a first trip to Masai Mara, providing adequate services, but were I to return I would prefer something more rustic. It would be a good place for a family group including the old and the young.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Rambler4,

Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review and for your comments about our hotel. It's your views and opinions that allow us to continually monitor and improve our services. We have already commenced a major effort in re training all Kitchen Chefs, Service employees to ensure better customer satisfaction. Once again, many thanks for the feedback which has helped us to identify improvement areas and would place us a step higher in our customer satisfaction. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    346
    91
    30
    24
See reviews for
325
332
42
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had been to masimara, kenya in July this year. I stayed at this hotel with my family. Its a lovely hotel with great timely services. The catering and house keeping is amazing. The atmosphere is very natural with scenic beauty. The elephants were seen right behind our cottage. There was a hippo pool close to our cottage. My daughters , husband and me enjoyed our stay completely. we highly brecommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: Choose the last room close to the hippos pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RASHMI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Rashmittal,


Thank you so much for taking time to post your comments. We are happy to learn you had an enjoyable holiday. All of us at the hotel strive to ensure all guest’s are delivered highest level of service. We all look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here during our Safari to the Mara in September 2011. The rooms were very good as was the service.

We had a high experienced and excellent driver / guide to show us around the Mara.

All meals were included in our price.

Given that we paid close to $300 per night, we would expect at least a bottle of Mineral water (or RO water) to be provider to the guests during meals.

The hotel can certainly provide this as an included amenity rather than charge extra for it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopal-Venkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Gopal-Venkat,


We are delighted to read your positive review about our hotel and thank you so much for your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, our service & our hospitality. Positive comments like yours encourage to build our staff morale. We would certainly look at the option of adding water during meals. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was the first game lodge built in Masai mara and had guest like the queens and pope of the world...a very well designed resort and a beautifully landsacped...they have a wooden bridge which over sees the hippo pool where you can spend hours watching the hippos and other anilams visiting...the food is very good and the staff is execellent..

Room Tip: choose a room at the end for better views of the game or...choose rooms closer to the dining for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kichukodoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear KichuAbuDhabi,

Thank you for your review. The staff and the management are delighted to know you had a good stay. We would certainly improvise on the speed of the internet. We do look forward to welcome you again at Keekorok Lodge. Many thanks Rahul Sood & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the oldest lodges in the Mara; and well situated within the park. We were lucky to see many Wildebeeste, Cheetahs, elephants and lions within an hours drive of the lodge. Good food, and very friendly staff.
Issues were very high priced drinks and a whole contingent of chinese tourists who had no idea they were in the middle of the park. These guys partied till close to 2am, shouting, smoking & drinking, banging doors and generally being obnoxious and completely unruly. Despite 2 calls to the reception very little was done and it spoilt a good day & evening as none of the other residents got any sleep !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenyan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Kenyan123,

Thank you for your vital feedback. My team and I were elated to read your comments and to know you had a memorable stay with us. Constructive feedback not only helps us to enhance employee morale but also assists us to continue deliver superior product & services. We would relook at the prcing of beverages. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Worst experience ever! My daughter and I were booked into keekorok lodge in early September for 2 nights as part of our safari but when we arrived at Keekarok we we're sent off to get lunch and told our rooms would be allocated after we had eaten. When we went back to get our rooms and keys 6 of us were told we had been put in the "VIP" lodge which sounded very grand. The "lodge" was in fact a run down 3 bedroom house on the outskirts of the main lodge which we had to be driven to and was probably staff accommodation, it was so basic, one of the rooms' shower was in the corridor! There was no protection around it from wild animals. We were all absolutely disgusted and were driven back to reception. I had stayed here 2 years previously and knew what to expect from the accommodation. By this time our other 4 travelling companions were at reception having also been allocated staff rooms. We were told by the most obnoxious woman Christine on reception that our travel company had not booked our rooms and there was nothing they could do about it and at this point all the staff who had previously been friendly made us feel very uncomfortable. The general manager Symon Nyamu who was already sorting out a similar complaint by 4 Italian tourists took no notice of our complaints, never apologised, was extremely rude and did not know how to deal with the situation, he was totally incompetent. Our wonderful driver's from Pollmans arranged our alternative accommodation at the amazing Sentrim Camp where we spent the night eventually. We subsequently learnt that our rooms had been sold to a party of Chinese guests who had contacted Keekorok that day and not our travel company's fault at all so was just greed on the management's part.

We returned to Keekarok for our 2nd night and the place was very crowded and chaotic, it is extremely popular with the Chinese who they mainly cater for. The waiting staff were great, hippo pool good but nothing could make up for the way we were treated. One of our travelling companions was a solicitor and she and another guest spent the whole evening politely making sure we got a signed letter from the GM agreeing to refund one nights stay which they did. The GM had locked himself in his office at this point!

The reason I left posting this review until now was that after we got back we got an automatic email from Vaishali Pattni Exec. Sec. and a letter from Mr Rahul Sood, MD of Sun Africa who own Keekorok, making sure that our stay was good and if there was anything they could improve on, so to give them a chance to somehow redeem themselves, I sent a polite email with the complaints and informing them of the incompetence of their management, followed by 2 more emails as i hadnt had a reply. I did get one reply weeks ago from Rahul Sood saying he was on vacation and I have heard nothing from him since then.

I have read similar reviews to mine so this is not a one off case - I would recommend Sentrim Mara Camp though!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
From: Sylvia Leigh-Quine
Sent: Monday, November 19, 2012 5:49 PM
To: Rahul Sood [SAH]
Subject: RE: Your Stay at Keekorok Lodge

Dear Rahul

Thank you for your email and I hope you had a good vacation.

Thank you for investigating my complaint and yes the suggestions you made below are acceptable to me and I look forward to hearing from my tour operator Hayes & Jarvis.

Kind regards
Sylvia Leigh-Quine

From: Rahul Sood [SAH]
Sent: 19 November 2012 00:48
To: Sylvia Leigh-Quine
Subject: RE: Your Stay at Keekorok Lodge

Dear Sylvia,

Thank you for your time to write to me and apologies for the delay in response as I was away on my annual leave.

Feedback from our guest helps us to provide premier services at Sun Africa Hotels & we sincerely believe and take all efforts at Sun Africa Hotels to ensure that all our guest stays are comfortable and that they are delivered with the highest standards of guest experience. Comments from our guests are of critical importance to us in assessing our performance. Their observations provide us with an invaluable opportunity to ensure that we continue to provide the standard of service and facilities which you expect from Sun Africa Hotels.

We at Sun Africa Hotels always strive to ensure each guest leaves us as an Ambassador and we have done a detailed investigation with our team at the hotel with regards to your feedback, hence please allow me the liberty to explain:

1. I am sure you had planned this holiday much in advance with loads of memories, the overbooking situation at the hotel did disturb your holiday and the response by my team at the hotel was not appropriate. We have ensured that all such overbooking’s are handled much in advance, communicated to respective tour operators so we don’t have a disturbed holiday for the guest.
2. We did compensate one night full refund to your tour operator which in turn was passed to you and with reference to your email I can understand the refund did not compensate the loss of holiday experience.

To ensure greater guest satisfaction and our commitment to provide premier services, we would be elated to refund the second night as well for your room. Furthermore, we would also send you a two night complimentary voucher which can be utilized within next 6 months. We would process the refund through your tour operator, if this arrangement works well for you. Please confirm this at your earliest convenience.

Once again, many thanks for the feedback which has helped us to identify improvement areas and would place us a step higher in our customer satisfaction.

Many thanks!

Best regards
RS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent the day in this hotel and found it extremely refreshing after being in rural areas of Kenya. The food was amazing and anything you can think of was offered. $23 US - eat all you can. The boardwalk along the river and the curio shop was wonderful to get gifts and sundries. It was great to have that little break of north american luxury which is really not necessary when there is so much beauty and wildlife to experience.
Friendly, clean bathrooms, and a bit of chocolate available which is hard to find in the Reserve.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slovakianchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Slovakianchic,

The staff and the management would like to thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
17.8 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
34.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
25.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#24 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
16.4 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Property: Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing