We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mara River Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    View Hotel
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    Reviews (130)
    Filter reviews
    130 results
    Traveler rating
    65
    41
    12
    6
    6
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    65
    41
    12
    6
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsmara riverlimited electricitynice swimming poolhippo poolvegetarian foodbuffet styleremote locationmonkeyslodgeconservancyhundredsbendgamesafaridrivepowerbank
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    63 - 68 of 130 reviews
    Reviewed November 12, 2011

    Stayed there for 2 nights, enjoyed the view of the lodge down the river with hippos and crocs basking around. Great food and excellent service from the staff, location pretty good as well and the game drives are superb in a nut shell great lodge to stay in the mara with it's little luxuries

    • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Heskey W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 6, 2011

    me and my sister stayed there October 2011.
    As we arrived a baboon walked across the entrance to the hotel....what a welcome!!
    Lovely helpfull and friendly staff, who welcomed us with a drink and a view of around 50 hippos having a rest in the amazing mara river.
    The place was quiet and calm, there was the odd noise out of the hippos but that was part of the magic there.
    The food was nice, we had a bush baby join us in the resturant one night. Lovely to get up close to this creature, he didnt bother any one at all.
    At night they light a log fire, in an open wooden building. we sat there on the cosy sofas drinking tea and reading our books. was really special.
    Rooms are really clean, with nice basic bathrooms, with towls, flannels, shampoo and body wash. Wasnt expected but nice to have.
    Perfect place to stay if you want to be right in the middle of it, i would stay there again, and hope to one day. Perfect safari location!!

    • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank MILLAR86
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 27, 2011

    Great place to stay, we were spoilt and pretty much had the place to ourselves. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food was delicious. Lovely location next to the Mara river with all its hippos (make sure you have ear plugs as they can be quite noisy at night!). Great time on safari as well, just the 2 of us and the driver for 3 out of our 4 game drives, very knowledgeable driver.

    • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Anna S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 1, 2011

    Considering its remote location, I was thoroughly impressed with its friendly staff and excellent food. I travelled here in August 2011 with my boyfriend, and everyone on the staff seemed to know what was on our agenda. That said, they were very accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, including placing us in a private area for dinner that had a fireplace. It was unexpected and lovely. Plus, you can watch the hippos and hear the baboons as you enjoy your dinner. The only minus was their boxed lunch; it left a bit to be desired.

    In terms of the room, everything was clean, soft towels, hot shower, and large mosquito net. However, be warned that there are set hours of the day for electricity since they get power from a generator. Be sure to plan out charging your electrical necessities accordingly. Rest assured, they provide a flashlight and candles.

    Room Tip: If you need silence when you sleep, request a room further from the dining area and not overlooking the hippos.
    • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank akahoshifan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 8, 2011

    We flew into the lodge from Mombasa for 2 nights and the lodge was everything we expected - beautiful location with fabulous views of hippos. We enjoyed friendly and helpful staff and a knowledgeable safari driver (there were just the 2 of us in a land cruiser). it's incredible to read the whining of a pampered citizen of one of the world's richest countries that the electricity was in short supply! Go and experience the magic of this place - yes there are more 'upmarket' lodges but this place is fabulous!

    • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SandLHighlands
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews