We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Crossings Camp
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Rarely do I feel an urge to write a review, but our safari at Mara Crossings was nothing short of extraordinary. The camp is situated on the Mara River which provides beautiful scenery and the sound of the water and hippos at night is relaxing.

The accommodations-- the camp is brand new. As this was my first safari, when I heard the term, luxury tent, I was nervous. However, I now realize a tented camp is the way to go. The beds were quite comfortable. They provided a turndown in the evening, complete with a warm "water bottle" for your bed, as it was chilly in the evenings. This was a nice touch. All of the toiletries in the bathroom were provided and smelled of essential oils.

The food-- the chefs provided a delicious buffet lunch and breakfast (and omelettes and crepes made to order). The dinner menu had 3 options, and there was always a selection of vegetarian. The food was truly unbelievable. It rivals any fine dining in a large city.

Finally, the safari-- our location was excellent. We saw a 4 of the big 5, only lacking the rhino. Our guides were friendly and knowledgeable. They were not on a set timeframe, and made sure it was all about us. We also had the option of a hot air balloon, visiting a Masai village, and there was also an in house massage therapist.

I feel like the owners of this camp seemed to think of all the little details and extras. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandaGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Mara crossings camp is situated on the mara river. We stayed here after a medical mission and it was the perfect place to recharge our batteries after an exhausting week. The tents are beautifully decorated- each with its own hot shower and toilets. The food is 5 star- the chef cooks great dishes some with an Indian flair. The view over the mara river is breathtaking- there is an open area looking down on the river - a perfect place to sit and have a drink and watch the hippos and the rapids below. The lounge tent is beautifully furnished and has a fully stocked bar. The owners- Shenny and Sandev went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable and it certainly was.
I have been to 2 other safari camps and this is definately the best. I highly recommend this camp- you wont want to leave.
Claire, Michigan, USA. June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire1960_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Enrique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Inmitti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Frederico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pumuki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.5 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#76 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
2 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#36 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
194 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,097 reviews
31.5 mi away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
325 reviews
23.8 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Crossings Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Crossings Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $694 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mara Crossings Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Crossings Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing