We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
13 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$1,602
View deal
Hotels.com
$1,602
View deal
Booking.com
$1,316
View deal
Priceline$1,410
CheapTickets$1,602
eDreams$1,316
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
236
22
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
236
22
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives overlooking the valley safari experience our waiter olare motorogi conservancy masai mara jaw dropping bubble bath experienced guide the general manager breakfast in the bush every meal fantastic trip soups incredible place dining area cheetah kill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 262 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2019

We stayed here for 4 nights and the stay was one we will never forget. We were met at the airstrip by Ringa who was very friendly. The check in process was fast and easy and the tents are fabulous! They have everything you need and the views are to die for. Our safari driver was Jackson who was fantastic. It was wonderful getting to hear everything he knew about the animals and he delivered on letting us see every animal! We got to know each other on a personal level too during our drives which added to the closeness of the camp and made it feel more personal. The highlight of our stay however, was Bob our waiter. He always had a smiling face at every meal and went above and beyond in every way. When he found out I was a bit particular in what I like to eat, he made sure there was always something on the menu I would like, and I never left hungry! There was a large family of 6 who was too loud during dinner one night and the three parties in the camp were all eating close together. We didn't say anything to any member of staff complaining, however, the next night Bob had arranged for a private dinner on our deck as a way of apologizing. Above and beyond doesn't begin to describe the effort he and the staff went to to make sure we had an enjoyable evening. We told him it was quite alright and appreciated the gesture more than he knew. It was beyond perfect and was the best and most memorable meal we ever had and probably will have which we told him. We hope to return soon and make sure you request Bob as your waiter!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristenoeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear Kristenoeser,

Wow, thank you so much for your incredibly kind words about your experience and particularly the lovely feedback about our staff. I’m so happy that the team were able to make your whole experience such a memorable one and I will be sure to pass on your amazing comments to Bob, who I know will be so happy to hear that he played a part in making your stay with us a special one.

We sincerely hope you will return to Mahali Mzuri in the future.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

I went to mahali mzuri during April with my parents. We flew there, so at the airstrip all three of us were greeted with beaded bracelets, soft drinks and champagne. It was an open truck, meaning no windows, this was a new experience or us. The seats were comfortable and on the way to the lodge we were given water bottles with our names on it. At the lodge we were given some drinks and some cold wet towels. The lunch was delicious by the breathtaking view. When we reached the room, there was no water so the flush or taps were not working, but after some while it got sorted. The game drives were splendid and we realized we had our own personal butler. We had cookies in our room and let me tell you, it was the best i ever had. We also had cards and board games in our luxurious tent. Out of all the lodges i have been to, mahali mzuri topped it all.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Honestperson1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear Honestperson1909,

Thank you very much for sharing your review following your visit to Mahali Mzuri. I was very happy indeed to read all the wonderful comments you had about your stay and I will be sure to tell our chef that you think our cookies are the best you’ve ever had.

I’d like to apologise for the small issue with the water on arrival, but happy that we were able to rectify this quickly for you.

We hope you’ll come back and visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

One off the bucket list! If you're looking for a once-in-a-lifetime experience, this is the one for you (and it's eco-friendly, too).

The camp/tents are fully immersed in the bush so you get stunning views of the Mara from every single point on the camp, and can do elephant-watching from your bath. The drives are just surrealistic: we saw the Big Five in all their different environments and day-time/night-time activities. We stayed 5 days and didn't get tired of watching them once. Our guide Ringa was a great spotter, and his incredible patience paid off every time - ask him to see an animal in particular and he will find it no matter what!

Every single staff member will go out of their way and beyond to make you feel at home and looked after, without being 'too much' (i.e. pushy/salesy/outright annoying). Always smiling, gentle and soothing presences (our waiter David was quite simply a pleasure to be around).

The meals were always super fresh and delicious, with loads of choice - one of us is a vegetarian with a delicate stomach and ended up putting on weight while at Mahali! Eddie the chef has a PhD in soup-making, shared his secret tips and even asked for special requests. Because the lodge was empty ahead of the annual maintenance closure, we even had the priviledge of being treated to a custom-made meal around a campfire outside the camp - simply magical...

Can't recommend highly enough - go!

Room tip: Some tents are further away/down from the main area, pick depending on how risk-averse you are: we saw lions 20m away from the lowest tent!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear Esther D,

Your review has certainly put a big smile on my face, and I have no doubt will do the same when I share with the rest of the team, so thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback. Our aim is always to ensure our guests feel welcomed and are well looked after, but when we hear that we have surpassed expectations, it always puts a big reassuring smile on our faces!

On behalf of the whole team, thank you so much.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

This is a superb safari lodge - very comfortable with friendly staff - the game viewing was excellent - the guides were very knowledgeable and accommodating. The living accommodation was comfortable with every need being met.

We would certainly recommend this and will be returning.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BraddyNrFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear BraddyNRFrome,

It was a real treat to read your review, so a big thank you for sharing such fantastic feedback about your stay with us.

We appreciate the recommendation and hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Mahali Mzuri again soon.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Mahali mzuri is indeed "pahali pazuri", it translates to "A beautiful place" & the name is certainly apt as there was plenty of game and a great safari experience overall. The accommodation was almost luxury in the wild. Food was delicious, appetising, always beautifully presented, and every meal offered many options. On arrival at the Mara airstrip, we were greeted by our ranger Levi whom we quickly warmed-to with his enthusiastic greetings of "Karibu, and please feel at home, away from home". He offered us champagne & fruit juices for the children. We also received beautiful arm bracelets made by the maasai which was a lovely touch!

Our game viewing was off the charts! Levi seemed to know the reservation like the back of his hand. Hugely knowledgeable, he took us straight to the highlights and sensed both where the animals were and where they were heading. On our very first drive we witnessed a fierce chase of cheetahs hunting down gazelles. We saw nature at it's most beautiful as well as it's most cruel. We saw every animal we had wished for on our early mornings & late evening drives and we appreciated the time our guide gave us to observe the animals. He even expertly tracked animal tracks and had a treasure trove of information on animal behaviour and experience he would share with us. Every game drive was different from the last. A three hour game drive would fly quickly. General game viewing of our time at Mahali Mzuri was great too with large herds of thomson gazelles, impala, leopards, cheetahs, giraffes, lions, elephants, wildebeests, hippos, buffaloes, Ostriches, redbucks, baboons. One of the great things on all the game drives, especially when we had to wake up at 6:00am was finding warm hot water bottles ready with fleeces in our tracks and on the evening drives having snacks and drinks as we watched the animals and sundowner which really lives up to the wilderness experience. The game vehicles are the highest quality Land Rovers with independent suspension and 16 ply tyres. The rides were amazingly smooth considering the terrain. The snacks in the lower veld were a treat. None of our game viewing would have been possible were it not for our guide Levi, who was excellent. He also taught us how to take the best safari photographs.
Levi, if you get to read this review, THANK YOU so much! You gave us an unforgetable experience which we shall treasure forever.

At the hotel, the staff were attentive and made sure everything was perfect. Such a warm, caring group. We also loved the bush dinners organised by the General Manager. It was great to see him join-in the dance with the maasai's round the bonfire as he talked to every guest making sure we were all having a great time! Thank you for putting such a great surprise dinner. Overall, a superlative experience was had by all. Our children wrote a holiday report of their safari in Kenya, Tanzania, South Africa & Botswana and now everyone at their school wants to visit Africa.

If there were a negative, it could be argued that the tents need to be positioned in such a way that they allow a breeze to flow inside the rooms especially in the afternoon when it can get too hot, however it does contribute to the overall experience when matched up with the game viewing, service and dining. We enjoyed the plunge pool in the afternoon, which was a good way to keep cool during the day.

I am a traveler that prefers to visit new destinations instead of repeating one, but our safari was so special, we might want to make it an exception & visit the Mara during the migration in October!

Once again, asanteni sana!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hereandbackagainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Dear Hereandbackagainn,

Wow, thank you very much for taking the time to share such an extensive review about Mahali Mzuri. It’s always such a treat for the whole team to hear such wonderful comments about our guests’ experiences and yours has certainly made everyone extremely happy. I’ve passed your comments onto Levi, who was over the moon to hear that he was able to make your experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons.

I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed my dancing around the bonfire, it’s not something I do often, so I am a little rusty!

On a separate note, we should have new fans for the tents very soon, which we hope will help keep them cool in the heat.

We thoroughly enjoyed having your family to stay with us and hope you’ll make that exception of not repeating a destination and come back soon.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews