We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
15 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$1,602
View deal
Hotels.com
$1,602
View deal
Booking.com
$1,316
View deal
Priceline$1,410
CheapTickets$1,602
eDreams$1,316
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
236
22
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
236
22
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives overlooking the valley safari experience our waiter olare motorogi conservancy masai mara jaw dropping bubble bath experienced guide the general manager breakfast in the bush every meal fantastic trip soups incredible place dining area cheetah kill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 262 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

I am writing this review while still at Mahali Mzuri and wishing we dis not have to leave tomorrow and all I can say is words cannot describe of how well our trip has gone.The tents are absolutely stunning with some amazing views . The staff specially Cosmos and our guide Levi and the chef were a class apart .The game drives are on a different level we were lucky to witness 2 lion kills , lost count of how many lions we have seen , leopards ,cheetahs , hyenas, jackals and all the possible herbivores.I honestly believe there is more animals to view in the conservancy than in Masai Mara park itself. It was an absolute pleasure and one thing is for sure that we will be back again and this time for a much longer time.Those of you who are not sure what to do all I can say is come here and experience the magic for yourself .Hats off Sir Richard Brandson for this masterpiece.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Shaurya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016


Dear Shaurya R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share these wonderful words about your stay at Mahali Mzuri, it was so kind of you to start writing your review before you even left us! We loved reading your fabulous comments about the tents and game drive. You certainly know how to make our team smile as we were all beaming from ear to ear to hear your amazing comments about the service. Cosmos, Levi and our head chef were especially overjoyed to receive personal mentions so thank you. We were all very excited to hear that you will be back and that you plan to stay longer – hooray! We already can’t wait to see you again.

Kind regards,

Nichola Waterhouse
General Manager
Nichola.waterhouse@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Our family which included our two young adult kids, stayed here for 4 nights second week in July. We absolutely loved the place. If you want to go on safari but don't want to miss on things you have at home this is the place for you. They have thought of everything from electric strip to charge all your electronics under your desk to diffuser for your hair....fan to cool you down during afternoon nap and last but not least hot bottle water in your bed at night and in the morning to keep you warm when you go on the game drive.

Game drives are excellent as well. We did see hippopotamus, giraffe, hyena, warthogs, crocodile, zebras, elephant, leopard, Chetah, vultures, many species of birds, lions in abundance within a meter from us and last but not least great migration of wildebeest. We could have just stayed here and skip rest of our travel. Our guide, Jackson was accommodating and could answer our many questions.

My only complain was food which in my opinion could do much better. However, my daughter is vegetarian while my son only loves meet, both could manage. coffeeholics will not be disappointed since not only they have it all setup for you to make your own coffee in your own room, but also they have it in most elaborate way at the bar so you could have your espresso and cappuccinos the way you like it along with home made cookies. I do not drink alcohol but we had a well stock fridge in our room and many option at the bar.

We do travel often and try to choose the best of each place to stay at and we definitely voted this place as one of our top choice.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank scandalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear scandalist,

Wow, where do we begin? Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Mahali Mzuri with us; it was such a pleasure to welcome you and your family. We loved reading your comments about the little creature comforts such as your hot water bottle; we like to think it’s all about the little things. Thank you for your kind comments about the wildlife viewing; Jackson especially was thrilled to receive a personal mention. Whilst it was lovely to hear that you enjoyed our coffee and cookies (one of our favourite treat combinations!) I was sorry to hear that some of the food did not live up to your expectations. I’d like to assure you that your feedback has been shared with the team to help us improve in the future and if you would like to have the opportunity to speak with me further about this, please contact me using my details below. It is such an honour to hear that you have chosen us as one of your top choices; thank you, it means such a great deal to us. We hope this means that you will be back to see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Nichola Waterhouse
General Manager
Nichola.waterhouse@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

As with any Branson resort it goes without saying that the location, accommodation and hotel services will be outstanding What sets this one on the next level is the care and commitment of the staff, nothing is too much of a problem for them and they really do want you to enjoy what is a remarkable safari experience to the max. The guides are amazing and seem to conjure up what ever game you would like to see, they did fall down on the polar bear, truly a stupendous holiday.

a

Room tip: Tents closer to the main lodge are more convenient
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J2653WWpauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear Paul D,

It was such a pleasure to read your stunning review and so we wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We loved hearing that you thought the location, accommodation and service were all outstanding. We couldn’t have said it better ourselves; the team love seeing our guests having a good time with us and were so touched to hear your lovely feedback. We hope that we get the chance to welcome you back for another stupendous holiday soon.

Kind regards,

Nichola Waterhouse
General Manager
Nichola.waterhouse@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Amazing views, great game drives and great accommodation.
All it lacked, when we were there, was a decent chef to be perfect.
I am sure this has been sorted by now.
Staff were really helpful.
Spa - excellent ... having a massage under the watchful eye of a passing giraffe was novel.

Date of stay: February 2016
1  Thank 161albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear 161albert,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Mahali Mzuri with us. It was wonderful to hear your lovely words about the views, game drives, accommodation, spa and service. It was a shame to hear that the food did not quite live up to your expectations when you visited and I’d like to assure you that your comments have been shared with our team to help us improve in the future. We hope that we can tempt you back again soon, maybe for another wild spa treatment!

Kind regards,

Nichola Waterhouse
General Manager
Nichola.waterhouse@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

AMAZING, Words can not described this place, so friendly and so beautiful, EVERYONE who works here is just amazing. The game drives are out of this world and the locals are brilliant. We saw so much wildlife and our guide betty was fabulous. Chef Ian is a legend, food was top class. David our waiter is probably the nicest man I have ever met. Management is great, making sure you have a holiday of your lifetime. We thank the whole team for what was a truley the best holiday ever. And we are now sat looking at dates to return in the next year.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear Marie P,

Though you felt your words could not describe Mahali Mzuri, we think you did a fantastic job with this kind review and were totally blown away by your kind comments! We were delighted to hear your lovely words about the team and the service, as well as the game drives and the food; Betty, Ian and David were so touched to be mentioned by name. You had us beaming from ear to ear when we read that you are looking at dates to return next year and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Nichola Waterhouse
General Manager
Nichola.waterhouse@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews