We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Plains Conservation Mara Expedition Camp
Nearby Hotels
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Serena Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$559
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,370
$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$427
$389
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $480/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$998
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$819
$784
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Entumoto Safari Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
39
0
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan amazing guidefood was wonderfulanimal sightingsnext morningeach mealthe riverour honeymoongame drivesjpcameramaracampcomfortkenyaconservationplainstents
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 40 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Mara Toto was the final stop on our family safari. Travelling as a group of ten we took out the entire camp which suited us perfectly.

The new, spacious tented accommodation is breathtaking in the quality of luxury fittings, thoughtfulness and attention to detail. The uncurtained rain shower in the centre of each bathroom requires booking as the water is manually lifted into place - always done at the precise allotted time and frankly, a delight.

The unfenced location is beside a sub-tributary of the Mara with resident crocs and hippos visible from the deck and lions and hyenas clearly heard nearby. The attentive security team at the camp assured no nerves on the very short walks after dark.

The tents are compactly spaced and all meals are taken in a central bar and dining area with a firepit for later. The food here was the best of our safari - super soups, spicy curries, traditional kenyan food on our final night.

The outdoor picnic breakfasts were also a delight, in the shade of an acacia, looking down on the Mara plains, game everywhere.

Camp host Kim looked after us brilliantly, helped craft menus for us, flexed our schedule as required, and arranged a visit to a Maasai village on the final day. Her team could not have been friendlier.

And finally what can we say about the guides Duncan and Patrick. Firstly Mara Toto has the best vehicles for the job. Opensided, with shade, and beautiful fleecy ponchos for those early starts. Duncan and Patrick took supreme care on the many stream crossings, respected the game, took us up close with cheetahs and lions, solo, in groups and on the hunt. They were supremely friendly, patient and fun and our farewell at the airport was poignant for all of us but especially our kids.

Our safari holiday was brilliant, and Mara Toto was a complete highlight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindfieldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just completed a 5 week trip to Africa which included camps in the Masai Mara, Tanzania and Botswana. Our time at the beautiful Mara Toto will always remain as a special, magical time of our 5 weeks because of Kim, the manager, all the staff, excellent tent, wonderful food but mainly because of Edwin, our AMAZING guide. He was so very respectful of the wildlife, was extremely knowledgeable, we always felt safe with him (excellent driver), funny and warm. We spent three wonderful days with Edwin, and because of him we have many incredible photos and memories of the magical Masai Mara. The Mara Toto tent was fabulous and as we mentioned above Kim, the manager and all the staff went out their way to make us feel at home and we did. This is our second trip to Africa and we have visited 11 camps so far. We would definitely go back to the Mara Toto camp and we would REQUEST that Edwin to be our private guide!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisBB2700CND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

There is no question that the camp facilities were very nice, fancy and comfortable, but that was pretty much the nicest thing I can say about this camp experience until the very last day of our three night stay. We got stuck with a HORRIBLE guide (named Edwin) and I felt cheated and disappointed that we spent so much time and money for this camp since it was exactly the over-crowded, animal-harassing experience I thought I had paid enough money to avoid. I really wish I could have my time and money back from this portion of our trip. I felt like the guide resented us and his poor treatment of the animals and his use of his cellphone, texting while driving, and chatting up the other camp employee/visitor who was added to our party, really made me feel unhappy, stressed, and unsafe. He made no effort to explain what we were seeing beyond proudly exclaiming the name of an animal every once in a while and was always seemingly impatient, racing off to something "better". We seemed to spend an extraordinary amount driving aimlessly with no explanation of where we were going or what we were trying to do/see. I spent so many miserable hours sitting there wishing I had not come to the over-crowded Masai Mara to disturb the animals. Finally, after a most unpleasant experience of chasing down a lion (this was after previously chasing an injured hippo, chasing a baby gazelle and separating it from its mother, chasing some giraffes and many near misses with wildebeests among other unpleasant animal encounters) I decided to speak up and ask the camp manager Kim about switching guides. I'm so glad I finally worked up the nerve because that last afternoon after some negotiations we were taken out by a guide from the other Mara Plains camp named Jackson and he was extraordinary! It was like a breath of fresh air, keeping respectful distances from the animals and he actually took the time to teach us about what we were seeing and why the animals were doing what they were doing. The contrast to our experience with Edwin was shocking and the next morning after forcefully declining the offer to go out with Edwin, again expressing my dissatisfaction, we had another nice but brief outing with Richard, the manager of the Mara Plains camp in which he brought Edwin along and seemed to be trying to teach him how to be a guide. I find it hard to believe the person we had distractedly driving us around is the same one spoken of in the rest of these reviews and to get such small and disproportionate glimpses of what our experience could have been like was nice, but was also very discouraging and frustrating.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed pretty equivalent, close to the river, with an equal amount of night animal noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RashmiB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Mara Expedition Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which we also received from your agent upon your departure. We have, since then, tried to reach out to you numerous times (via your agent ) to discuss your experience as it is not at all consistent with the reputation and ethics of our founders, company, guides or general staff. As you note, other Trip Advisor reviewers have had consistent positive experiences at Mara Toto, and its sister camp. We certainly take your feedback very seriously, and have solicited input from our staff, your fellow guests as well as our senior management, and would hope for the opportunity to discuss it with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Kim, the manager, and Edwin, our guide did everything perfectly when my 3 daugthers (ages 15, 11 and 8) and I visited the Mara. Tent was fabulous, high "ceiling" with lots of bathroom space and place to put our gear, plus internet connection in both our tents and the dining/sitting area. Hammocks for each tent by the little river. And you could hear the "music" of the wildebeest (we were there during the migration.) Laundry service impeccable - such a change from the 9 other places that we stayed at. And each night Kim watched with us DVDs of lions and leopards that the owners of the camp had made in collaboration with National Geographic. Food - what can I say - the first meal we had in the sweltering heat had mango ice cream for dessert! And it just got better. Kim also loaned us a really good camera and we took awesome shots. Edwin made sure we saw everything we wanted to see. The elusive leopard (which I had not seen despite going on safari many, many times) and we stalked a cheetah mum and her 2 cubs as they made their kill, following them from 6:30 in the morning when they "woke" to 8:00 when they took down a baby wildebeest. (Hint: just when you think that wow cheetahs can run really fast, they put on a burst of speed and disappear from the camera view screen). Totally wonderful place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasJaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This what I call camping! Not one for traditional camping (I like my little luxuries, thank you!) this is the way to go. What a beautiful location, wonderful staff, great food and all the game viewing you could ever wish for. Our guide, Edwin, had fantastic knowledge and a great sense of humour! Kim, our camp manager, also with a great sense of humour, could not do enough for us - we had to tell her on more than one occasion she didn't need to run everywhere to get things for us. We were on holiday after all and had all the time in the world!

The camp itself is small and intimate, 5 tents only ( if you can call them tents!) which are more than comfortable and spacious. You dine at night communally in the main tent with other guests, with pre dinner drinks around the open fire, with the local family of hippos providing their own kind of background music! The food was lovely with the option of choosing what you would like in lieu of what was on offer.

As for game viewing, well what more did we need to see! The great migration, numerous families of cheetah, lion and leopard, elephant, hyena, crocodile, various species of antelope, bird life, hippo and the list goes on!

The only downside to our trip after six nights of staying, was we had to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynT149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews