We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wow, incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Certificate of Excellence
Winterthur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow, incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After 13 days safari and an incredible number of impressions and experiences I want to recommend at this point Sunworld and the Little Mara Bush Camp without restriction! We stayed at the camp for 4 nights and were the excellent hospitality and service enjoy limitless. The staff is very friendly and courteous and the camp manager Micaela always had an open ear for any problems that have not arisen. The location of the camp is perfect for exploring a very rich wildlife of the Mara, which has not been so crowded with other tourists. Every time we would return to the Little Mara Bush camp again! Thanks for everything!

At this point, i have to recommand sunworld as well. I think it's just one of the best operator for safaris. The guides are great, friendly and know so many things about the wildlife, the nature and the people of Kenyia. There drive very respectful to the nature and other operatores. Always again with sunworld! I saw so many bad operators during our jouney and I'd like never miss the service of sunworld! It's worth to pay a little bit more...but you get so much more!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielwipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michela_2014, Manager at Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Daniel thank you so much for your review! Will we see you again then?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
23
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my second trip to the Maasai Mara. We stayed in the Mara Bush camp last year, and we were very happy with our experience there. We enjoyed the Little Mara Bush Camp just as well!!

The camp was absolutely beautiful. The tents are larger and on raised platforms. The bedding was comfortable bedding as were bathroom facilities. The tents have a large balcony as well! We watched the hippos returning to the river from their overnight grazing while we took the morning coffee delivered to our room. During the day, there is a pavilion that you can watch the hippos sunning and sleeping. We went there after lunch to relax and play cards. Just magical.

The food was fantastic, and was very fresh and healthy. Can you share the recipe for the lentils, please? Delicious. The desserts were amazing, and there was a different dessert every lunch and dinner. The packed breakfast that we ate on the game drive was very good as well.

But honestly, what made the camp so great was the people there. The manager, Michaela, was so much fun, and enjoyed meeting everyone at the camp and talking with us. After dinner, at the campfire, she told great stories of the animals that surrounded us. She made us feel like we were visiting a family friend at her camp!

The Maasai Warriors escorted us around the camp at night, and we felt very safe. In the morning, they told us what animals they saw walking through the camp at night, and it was very clear they were watching all night long.

I wish I could give them a higher score than 5. The camp and the people working there are just wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regnig4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michela_2014, Manager at Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice review! I hope you will be able to come again. I have even more stories now...:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently completed 17 days of safari in Zambia and Kenya. We stayed at various tented camps and lodges, but found the Little Mara Bush camp to be the best. The tents were larger and newer than in the nearby Mara Bush Camp and the prepared meals (rather than buffet) were a nice touch. The desserts were amazing and the location terriffic. We loved watching the hippos in the "hippo pool". All the staff were attentive and helpful. The tents at the Little Mara Bush Camp are further apart than at other camps we visited which was nice. I will certainly put the Little Mara on my list of places to return. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Korcoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Little Mara on the 23rd July which was their opening day. We were 20 of us and I can say that everyone of us enjoyed our stay. The camp manager and all the other staff was very helpful and very accomodating whenever we had any request. The tent were luxurious!! and the furnising were excellant. The location (facing the hippo pool) was immaculate. They place hot water bottle under our pillow at night which was really nice. On one of the days, we also dine under the star which was perfect.In terms of game drive, we were in three different cars, the two cars saw almost all the big 5s in day one expect rhino. You dont have to drive too far to see the games or to go to the river to see the crossing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We were one of the first visitors to the new Little mara bush camp. The camp consists of 8 luxury tents overlooking a river in the Mara and is very much in the wild. The camp is managed by a lovely Italian lady called Michaela who was extremely hospitable and friendly and all the staff were excellent 
The camp is beautifully furnished. The bar area overlooks the river and is a wonderful place to enjoy an evening drink on a comfortable sofa. The small dining room is used for dinner and is in the centre of the camp. Lunch is served in the open in a lovely shaded area.
The beds are lovely and comfortable and are warmed with water bottles. The showers are filled by hand and require you to be quick and economical with water. However, they were more than happy to keep refilling the water. The camp was quite hot in the afternoon, but cooled down in the evening
The food was excellent, our only complaint was the amount of curry they served. Although, it was excellent, we would have preferred something  lighter. They explained that they thought it was what most asians demand and apologised.  It is best to tell them what you want to eat as they are very flexible. The pastry chef deserves a mention as his desserts were yummy.
As the camp is unfenced and in the middle of the wild, the noise from the animals can be quite startling for the light sleeper or novice safarigoer. You may want to pack some earplugs if this applies to you.  Tent 8
is the best located as it overlooks the hippo pool. However, it is noisy and slight smelly due to the gassy hippos, but you soon get used to it. It is a magical spot and you can spend hour observing these massive creatures. The game in the mara is excellent. The camp has a couple of resident leopards and we saw lions, cheetah, elephants , buffalo and everything else excepts for the rhino. A truly wonderful experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gerrardsposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.7 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#42 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#45 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#19 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#25 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
4.3 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#55 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing

Property: Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Address: Riverside Lane Off | Riverside Drive, Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00623 Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Little Mara Bush Camp)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mara Bush Camp - private wing boasts one of the best and most spectacular locations in the famous Maasai Mara Game Reserve. It is located on the banks of the seasonal Olare Orok River, overlooking a large hippo pool with over 40 hippos at any given time. It is only a 05 minutes drive from Ol Kiombo Airstrip. River crossings during the July to October Migration period are only a short drive away from the camp.With only 12 luxury tents on wooden platforms, Mara Bush Camp - private wing offers the desired exclusivity for guests who are looking for maximum privacy. Join us in the Bar / Lounge where you can sample our classic cocktails, fresh juices and mocktails. You will find a charging station for your camera batteries and laptops in the Photo Lounge. All 08 River Tents (2 are family rooms) are designed with great attention to detail and overlooking the river. The remaining 04 tents are set in the shady Croton Bush Forest. The tents are designed to give you ample space, with a bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a wooden, private verandah / deck with lounge chairs, a writing desk, bathrobes & slippers. The camp offers beautiful walk ways with little bridges and a well thought out central fire place to give you that special ' Out of Africa' feel. It is a cozy place to unwind and enjoy a drink while listening to the safari stories of other guests. Mara Bush Camp - Private wing is not fenced and wildlife roams freely. Enjoy nature uninterrupted at this unique intimate luxury camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing