We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a wonderful place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loyk Mara Luxury Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We visited Loyk Mara just after the new year with whole family and a group of friends. We all enjoyed very much and were astonishingly impressed but the beauty of the place and kindness and professionalism of the staff. You are completely submerged in the deep of the savanna with a variety of animals just next to you but at the same time you feel completely safe with the dedicated Masai looking after you. You are in the mid on nowhere but have all the facilities you need and 100 percent of comfort you can expect from a five star hotel. Surprisingly enough the food was also excellent with fresh salad and fruits you can only imagine. A real safari experience in total comfort. Unmissable!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercy-PR, Guest Relations Manager at Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Dear Alessandro,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, you and your entire group were lively company and we enjoyed having you at our Camp. Yes our Camp is a bit far but once you get there then you notice you are all alone to enjoy the beauty and tranquillity of the place without any disturbance.

You are most welcome and we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    0
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
12
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I visited the camp for a short stay and everything was perfect, the warm welcoming, the planning the food.. it was simply PERFECT and even if I stayed only 24h I will never forget them... Thanks to sheila( still remember her cute smile and kindness) , Timothy who show me around and knows a lot about the animal and the amazing Julius the masai who looked after me.. the camp is great the bed is 5stars all the facilities are perfect and The food is good...I even got a open sky movie.. what a treat in the middle of the savannah

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akabeli2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercy-PR, Manager at Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Hello,

We cant thank you enough for your wonderful review...we are grateful. All our staff pass their greetings to you and hope you will come for a much longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our first stop on our vacation in Kenya. Wow! We were treated like loyalty and had a great time from the moment we arrived. Cold drinks and iced towels; sundowners with drinks and appetizers; barbeque dinners by the fire with a Maasai show… The staff just kept the surprises coming. And the tents are beautiful! Let me just say that I do not camp… EVER! But in a tent like this --- anytime. They had all the conveniences one could ask for, plus – their own lock and key and 24 security detail… Oh, and turndown service with hot water bottles… The first night, I almost got a heart attack when my foot touched something warm and furry in the bed. I thought an animal had snuck under the covers! It was just the water bottle. Got a good laugh out of it. The meals were also notable – felt like we were in a 5-star restaurant, except – we were out in the open, in the middle of nowhere…

The camp is in Maasai Mara and is not fenced, so you can see and hear the animals… Or have breakfast with them… And the safari experience was great too --- we saw a ton of animals and had a picnic breakfast (arranged by Loyk Mara) on a little hill, overlooking the hippos bopping in and out of the water…

Great tent camp and good value for money! The only thing that could make it better, would be a swimming pool...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penina_BMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

A tent camp with a palace service
Hard to find the place, but fantastic when arrived
Bush escapade with masai security guards, fantastic drive through wild life
a family experience or a romantic trip: just choose your experience
I will come back
Philippe

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gzarchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had a magical weekend at this camp! I had been to the Mara before but the experience was redefined by excellent food, service and attention to detail at this camp. i recommend this camp to the traveler, food lover, nature enthusiast. thanks for the way the staff took care of us and the very knowledgeable guides. Well designed spaces, affordable and wide drinks list, friendly bar man with a great sense of humor!!!!

Room Tip: the furthest most tent has the best balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I returned back from Mara Loyk on Friday, I would like to thank you and your team in the Mara very much for the kind hospitality and service we received.

Your Masai guide Joseph was exceptional he is a very learned young fellow and very cheerful and respectful, words can not describe our time with Joseph. Your other Masai although I did not get to know them very well are also very professional, always smiling and alert.The food was great, your chef got the pastries and all the meals perfect we enjoyed the food.

The accommodation was clean and very comfortable, I felt safe in the tent, we experienced a thunder storm whilst at the camp.

Nafthali ensured we were comfortable and took time to explain things to us, he welcomed us very well and was always around, I like the concept of your camp. We saw 4 Lions near by, Giraffe can be seen from your breakfast table.

Room Tip: If you are elderly you may request a room near by the main dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauyako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed in July this year. I cannot recommend the camp more. We were randomly the only guests there for a couple of nights and it felt like a bespoke luxury experience. The staff were excellent and happy to share local knowledge about the Mara. We felt very safe despite the lack of a fence/perimeter. In fact, this added to the experience as the camp blends in well with the surroundings. Our tent was huge! Two king size beds, awesome bathroom, decked veranda to view the famed sunset...essentially bliss.
On our final night, we were treated to a barbecue out in the bush complete with camp fires and a star lit canopy.
Thank you so much for giving us a once in a lifetime (or maybe not!) experience.

Room Tip: All pretty awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabuala W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.5 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#74 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#9 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
8.6 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#91 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#15 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#21 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
18.7 mi away
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
#111 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loyk Mara Luxury Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loyk Mara Luxury Camp

Property: Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Address: Olare Orok Conservancy | 6 km from the National Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 1123321, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loyk Mara Luxury Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOYK MARA CAMP is located in one of the most picturesque places on the bank of river Ntiakitiak on 50 acres of private land between Olare Motorogi conservancy and Masai Mara National Reserve - the richest national reserve of Kenya. Settled down in the middle of the African bush, LOYK MARA CAMP will present to you a sensation of privacy and rest, granting a vivifying cool under the shade of sprawling crones of undersized trees within a hot day. Spacious open terraces with comfortable armchairs and coffee tables will allow you to enjoy at any time the bewitching African nature. FACT SHEET LOYK MARA CAMP GUEST ROOM INFORMATION • Total Number of Tents 10 o 7 Luxury Tents o 1 Family Tent (can be divided into 2 separate rooms by request) o 1 tent with special facilities for the people with disabilities CHECK IN FACILITIES • Check In 12:00 PM Check Out 10:00 AM • Cold Towel • Welcome Drink • Transfer to/from the camp • Distance from Nairobi to Talek Gate is 260 Kms • Nearby Airstrip OlKiombo is 20kms away • 5 hours by Road • 45 minutes by Air GUEST ROOM FACILITIES • Hot Shower • Flushing Toilet • Hair dryers (upon request) • Intercom • Personal safety box GUEST ROOM SERVICE • Laundry and Ironing • Flying-doctor on call 24hrs ACTIVITIES HEALTH/SPORT • Archery • Billiards • Bonfire • Table Games • Swimming Pool • Game Drives • Nature Walk • Sunrise/Sundowner • Eagle Nest View Point • Bird Watching • Balloon Safari • Open Air Cinemas • Kids Adventure Club DINING AND BAR ACTIVITIES • Olpul Restaurant • Olaro Bar • Maasai Lounge • Bush breakfast/lunch/dinner • Private romantic dinner by the pool PLACES OF INTEREST • Migration • Maasai Mara National Reserve • Maasai Manyatta Cultural Visit SPECIAL FEATURES • Gift Shop • Traditional Ceremonies (by special request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jovago.com so you can book your Loyk Mara Luxury Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing