We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed in the Adventure Camp in the Mara in early September and I LOVED it!!! Gamewatchers offers an exceptional safari experience from start to finish! The guides and staff at the Ol Kinyei Camp were awesome! Emmanuel and David led us to some of the best wildlife siteings and were so fun to be around. The rest of the staff, including Richard the waiter were so friendly and always full of smiles. The camp itself is very comfortable with flush toilets and all! The bucket showers more than sufficient and refreshing. The food was delicious. The wildlife viewing goes without say. The gamedrives were so fun and every moment there was something to see. I loved being able to see the Masaai Mara Park and spend time on the private roads and bush of the Conservancy. The vehicles, open topped and open sides allowed you to enjoy the fresh air and take some great photos. I would recommend this camping safari experience in a heartbeat! It is such an amazing experience and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

After spending several days on the internet perusing the many offers of the multitude of safari operators, we finally settled on a 7 day Gamewatchers Adventure Camp. The best decision we ever made. Two aspects attracted us to their offer. As well as visiting the well known game parks of Amboseli and Masaai Mara, Porini also operate in two absolute private wild life conservancies where you see nothing but yourself and the animals. The relaxed private atmosphere with just your guide and attendants was an absolute joy. The other aspect was that Porini operate ‘fixed campsites’ with your own private hot shower, flush toilet and very comfortable tents (a great plus in the African bush). Arrival at each camp was met with a cold perfumed towel, iced drink and great African warmth and courtesy.

Prepared and served by a well trained Chef, the food was excellent and plentiful which together with your selection of wine or beer and the companionship of other safari members made for many an enjoyable evening often culminating around a camp fire well into the night.

The logistical aspects were outstanding; from airport pick up to arrival at camp and eventually back to airport for departure home all went like clockwork. To maximize available time, transit between camps is done by air. Be prepared to be an early riser as no time is lost in showing you as much as there is to see from their genuine open safari vehicles (not mini buses)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from our honeymoon in both the Mara and Selenkay, Gamewatchers Adventure Camp. This was simply brilliant and an experience of a lifetime. If you do any other safari experience you WILL miss out on something special.

This is not for people who want to soak in a hot tub whilst stuck in a nice posh hotel drinking wine and ding a couple of crowded game drives.
This is for people who want to see the real WILD. This is for people who want to put the animals and the local people. In 6 days we hardly had time to sit down as this safari adventure was action packed and a very moving experience. The Masaai host will do anything to make sure you have a great experience and their love for animals is so addictive (even for the smallest bugs to largest mammals) I wanted to do a real night drive not just a quick one after the sun goes down (this was still amazing). We were taken out in the Mara at 9pm until after midnight and what an experience we had. We saw a whole new range of animals and to see lions at night was even more special.

Both camps are well run and very comfortable. Very nice hot water showers, the food was excellent (how Soloman (camp cook) makes these meals is beyond me) The game drive vehicles were the best i have seen and very comfortable. Jackson, Richard and everyone in Selenkay were great hosts and walking to the Masaai village was a great experience.

My sister spent around £4,500 per person to do a 4 night safari in the Mara national park (5*) at around the same time. After speaking to her about it, not only did I get the better money deal but also saw twice as much, with less people to spoil it.

I could sit here and write about this experience all day but really all you need to know is that if you miss this experience you are missing out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichLaura160512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was the highlight of our trip. The wildlife in the conservancy is bountiful. The service and staff at the camp is phenomenal, probably one of the best I have experienced considering the challenges one can face being in "the middle of nowhere". The food was excellent, which was especially significant for us being vegetarians. Loved the fireside chats with people from all parts of the world. I would highly recommend this and other Porini camps if you want to experience the "real" Kenyan safari.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.0 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#7 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
11.4 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#72 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
17.9 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#94 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#53 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
9.3 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#5 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
#48 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei

Property: Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei
Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei is sited in Ol Kinyei Wildife Conservancy in the Maasai Mara. For those for whom the wildlife safari experience is more important than the accommodation, and who are prepared to sleep in small tents in sleeping bags with an element of “roughing it”, this gives an opportunity for an exceptional and exclusive wildlife experience with high quality guiding but at a much lower price than expensive up-market safari lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing