We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we came as friends and left as family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we came as friends and left as family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

we have just returned from our third trip to Mara bush houses.This time we spent 3 weeks between Acacia and Topi.They really are a home from home and at a very high standard.The staff cannot do enough for you , without being intrusive.
Needless to say our guide Salaash was fantastic,not just sightings but knowledge and he was prepared to go out all day with us every day!!!
We had some unforgettable experiences,Yes!! the cheetah killing ,eating under the vehicle, then jumping onto the open roof to look for more.The 4 week old leopard cub.The hunting serval,
The teenage elephant who wanted to see just what we kept in the vehicle!!!Hyenas bringing down then eating a zebra.This is just a sample!!
We have re-booked already for next year.

Room Tip: Just go, the house is yours and your family.No-one else is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelgalletly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just come back from a stay at Topi House and we were very impressed again. The whole team at Topi House made us feel very special and were extremely helpful and friendly. The accommodation is first rate and the food exceptional. Our guide Fred was very knowledgeable and we saw a vast amount of wildlife including lions, cheetahs, leopards, elephants and many more. One of favourites was the banded mongoose, which we had never got close to before. Even saw migrating pelicans. If you want something special then go to Topi House.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a great six night stay at Asilia's Topi House (third time for us) this February 2014.. The staff is superb. Many thanks to the world's greatest guide Salaash and the staff - Nabaala, Leonard and James for a perfect visit. Food, service and guiding were great and the house is wonderful. You are right out in the wilderness with game nearby. You have the whole house to yourself and whomever you have traveled with and your own driver/guide as well. We came back the third time and are booked for a fourth next year!

Topi House is right on the edge of the Maasai Mara with quick access to one of the most wonderful reserves in the world. With Topi House and the other two Asilia Bush Houses in Mara North Conservancy you also have your own vehicle and guide. (excellent for photographers). We travel a great deal for photography and have been in 27 countries. This is by far our favorite place and we always have new and great experiences in the bush. If you want some privacy and a way to "do your own schedule and your own thing" these houses are for you as you can set your own schedule. Sometimes we are out all day - sometimes we come back for lunch. You do not have that luxury with most other camps with shared vehicles and set schedules for the groups.

One thing we loved are the hot water bottles in the vehicle (and in the room) - not only for warmth but good lumbar support for our older backs. Another nice touch is the greeting after the drive with hot/cold (depending on the weather) eucalyptus fragranced towels.

Room Tip: Room Tip: You have the whole house to yourself so you can choose your own room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

5 stars. We are an adoptive family with 3 children from Kenya & Ethiopia who lived/worked in Kenya for a year back in 2000. This was the highlight of our 3 week adventure. The staff/ accommodations / food/ location was beyond our expectations. Fred (our guide), along with our house staff made us feel like family....that is...royal family. Elephants came to the watering hole on several occasions. We saw lions 4 different times. Fred spotted a Topi that had been born minutes before. And who can forget the lounging cheeta resting in the shade of the acacia tree. We had the pleasure to spend time at a village where our daughters played and sang with the local children. Oh, and the pool was an additional blessing. We were spoiled....3 course meals, chai, homemade sweets, evening fires, warm water bottles in your beds. The Mara Bush Houses are our new favorite place on earth!

Room Tip: The Acacia house with the upstairs loft was ideal for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Topi House is a wonderful place to stay. The best view you could imagine on a safari holiday from the front porch - and lunch is served in the gardens overviewing the plains of the Mara and the escarpment, under the shade of an acacia tree. Could not ask for anywhere more "Out of Africa"!

Very friendly staff. Expert guides, some of the most professional and knowledgable around. And Topi House is located in one of the best areas of the Mara - wonderful scenery and big cats right on your doorstep, and it's far away from the big tented camps so there are fewer cars around giving you a more exclusive and natural experience around the animals.

Could never imagine staying anywhere else in the Masai Mara!

Room Tip: It's a 3-bedroom house, but if you're traveling in a larger group they can put tents (very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Masai Mara is always a wonderful experience, and I must have spent at least two years of my life there. However, Topi House offers something completely unique; a private home right in the middle of the best part of the Mara. At Topi House, you and your friends/ family can enjoy the privacy of your own home, completely controlling your own schedule and having everything provided. The meals are beyond excellent, with drinks not an extra, served when you request. The setting is spectacular, with the house on a ridge over looking the plains north of Rhino Ridge and wildlife always visible from the acacia treed 'garden'. It's not uncommon for lions and elephant to stroll by and all sorts feeds on the lawn at night! The other very special aspect of Topi House is the guiding. Topi House provides one or two ( depending on the size of your group) first class landcruisers with I believe the top guides in the Mara. The guide team is built from the Masai team that originally formed the famous Rekero camp and they have years and years of experience. I've made many wildlife films in the Mara and know top guides because they can not only find animals but predict what is going to happen next. The Topi House guides are true masters at this! And they are all great fun! Topi House is an incredible experience, and I've been there four times. It is impossible for you to be disappointed there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merweville, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Mara Bush houses is in avaley with a drinking place in front of the houses. The woodwork in both houses is as fantastic, Olive wood used as framework for the wall, stairs and showers.
A place wher one can sit in one spot an see Impala , Warthog, sebra , Wildebeest ,Dik-dik drinking water during the day. At night with a light it is possible to see many more noctunal animals drinking water. During our stay of three nights in both houses we were treated like royalty by our hosts. The food was outstanding, the game drives to the point when you ask DFixon to see leopard he showed it to you, Cheeta as a bonus . The next day is was lion , Girafe , a Serval as a desert with the Cheeta males as the topping. Al of this was in the Mara North conservancy. On our way there we passed through a subtropical valley with breathtaking views of the Cliffs where eagles soar above their nests. Breathtaking sundowner at the highest spot in the Mara. My opinion is : A place to visit when you go to Kenya.

Room Tip: Mara House : The room with a view of the drinking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
45.7 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#5 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
32.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
43.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.2 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#11 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
24.2 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
33.7 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#13 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Property: Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Nomadic Encounters)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience total freedom in your own bush house in the heart of the Maasai Mara conservancies. Animals stroll right past the front doors of all three of these private sanctuaries, and you have total freedom to set the pace of your own safari escape. Mara, Acacia and Topi houses are all seriously comfortable – although there is no resident host, a full complement of staff takes care of your every need. Each house accommodates six people in three double rooms, so they are ideal for couples, families and groups. Even better, you have the freedom to personally design your own itinerary. With detailed personal service, home-from-home hospitality and unequalled wildlife expertise, a safari at Mara Bush Houses is a unique and exclusive adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing