We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Mara experience of all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mara experience of all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Masai Mara is always a wonderful experience, and I must have spent at least two years of my life there. However, Topi House offers something completely unique; a private home right in the middle of the best part of the Mara. At Topi House, you and your friends/ family can enjoy the privacy of your own home, completely controlling your own schedule and having everything provided. The meals are beyond excellent, with drinks not an extra, served when you request. The setting is spectacular, with the house on a ridge over looking the plains north of Rhino Ridge and wildlife always visible from the acacia treed 'garden'. It's not uncommon for lions and elephant to stroll by and all sorts feeds on the lawn at night! The other very special aspect of Topi House is the guiding. Topi House provides one or two ( depending on the size of your group) first class landcruisers with I believe the top guides in the Mara. The guide team is built from the Masai team that originally formed the famous Rekero camp and they have years and years of experience. I've made many wildlife films in the Mara and know top guides because they can not only find animals but predict what is going to happen next. The Topi House guides are true masters at this! And they are all great fun! Topi House is an incredible experience, and I've been there four times. It is impossible for you to be disappointed there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merweville, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Mara Bush houses is in avaley with a drinking place in front of the houses. The woodwork in both houses is as fantastic, Olive wood used as framework for the wall, stairs and showers.
A place wher one can sit in one spot an see Impala , Warthog, sebra , Wildebeest ,Dik-dik drinking water during the day. At night with a light it is possible to see many more noctunal animals drinking water. During our stay of three nights in both houses we were treated like royalty by our hosts. The food was outstanding, the game drives to the point when you ask DFixon to see leopard he showed it to you, Cheeta as a bonus . The next day is was lion , Girafe , a Serval as a desert with the Cheeta males as the topping. Al of this was in the Mara North conservancy. On our way there we passed through a subtropical valley with breathtaking views of the Cliffs where eagles soar above their nests. Breathtaking sundowner at the highest spot in the Mara. My opinion is : A place to visit when you go to Kenya.

Room Tip: Mara House : The room with a view of the drinking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

What can one say! We stayed at both Mara and Acacia houses for 3 nights and had a great time at both. Perfect for family stays.They are private and you have lots of space, large bathrooms and well designed open plan living areas as well as a large green lawns where children can run and play. The swimming pool is great for parents and children alike and is solar heated. Meal times was bliss and well presented great tasting food was served outside on the large veranda, inside or at the pool! Food is of amazing quality and top class with friendly staff attending ones every need.

The wildlife experience and scenery is world class!! We saw mating leopards, a pride of 12 lions and cheetah during our stay, not too mention all the other species there in abundance. The viewing is easy on the wide open plains. Elephants in huge numbers, herds of between 30-50 strong! Guides and vehicles are great and they pack really good picnic meals to have during a game drive. Traveling in January is one of the best times to be in the Mara, as the rains are coming to an end, and you have this magical place almost all to yourself as the holiday and migration crowds are not there anymore. The view from the highest point in the Mara during sunset is stunning.

I am a wildlife photographer, and this place will keep you busy and keep the shutter going as there are excellent opportunities for great quality shots around every corner, be it a leopard, lions elephant, giraffes or the landscape beauty, its all on your doorstep! They have a natural spring feeding a waterhole in front of both houses, and there are wildlife and birdlife visiting throughout the day, you can view and photograph wildlife from your veranda!

For sure THE place to stay for families, groups or couples that need privacy, great service, great accommodation and location, fantastic food, and top class wildlife viewing with great guiding!
Excellent stay and highly recommended! Thank you to everyone for the attention and care, it was awesome. We will be back! More images to follow later.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoelofSchutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from spending three nights at Mara House. The house itself is beautiful, made from the olive trees that surround the property, and overlooks a watering hole that attracts a varying stream of wildlife every day However, it is the quality of the team, led by the wonderful Salaash, that really made this trip special. Great game drives, delicious food (I loved the safari chutney), hands on activities with the children (lighting dry zebra dung to start a camp fire was a first), sundowners watching elephants under the huge African skies and hot water bottles in our beds every night. Looking forward to returning.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Mara Bush House was a wonderful retreat over christmas. Not only did we have some unforgettable wildlife viewing thanks to our keen and knowledgeable guide Salaash but our every need was catered for thanks to Wilson, Sesinie and Eve's incredible hospitality. The team went out of their way to make our christmas extra special and for that we are all very grateful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

There must be many great places on the Mara, but I can't see how any can be better than Topi House.

We stayed with our two daughters aged 14 and 10. Topi House sleeps 6 and would be suitable for any group up to 6 people. It is set in a beautiful Acacia woodland near the top of a rise and is well away from other Mara properties. It is on the edge of the Olare Orok Conservancy. There are views of the Mara through the woodland.

Fred is an amazing guide. We saw all the animals that we wanted because Fred knew where to look. There are too many animal experiences to even begin to list what we saw during October. The best bit was that there were no crowds anywhere. In fact we hardly saw a soul when we were out and about.

We were superbly looked after at Topi House by Nabaala, Leonard and James. Their service was great and the food was always excellent. Breakfast was generally spent with Fred on the Mara. Lunch and dinner were served at Topi House.

The rooms were excellent ... the beds were very comfortable and the rooms had plenty of space and storage. The en-suite Bathrooms were very good too.

Every detail was thought about, from cool, eucalyptus infused face washers that were given to us at the end of the daytime safaris to the warm ones that were presented when we returned in the evening. They put hot water bottles in our beds each evening.

We flew into Ol Kiombo Airstrip and had 40 minute scenic safari to Topi House.

There was no swimming pool, no mobile reception and no Wi-Fi ... it was a perfect opportunity to get away and focus on the stunning beauty of the Mara.

We think it was well worth the investment required.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrthom1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Topi House was our first stop on our safari and was the perfect introduction to the bush. The house is lovely and in a perfect setting. Sitting on the verandah in the afternoon, we watched the giraffes poking above the trees, the baboons moving through the grass, wildebeest, zebras and gazelles grazing and topi everywhere. Our bedroom was very comfortable and well equipped. We never ran out of hot water or lacked anything. Leonard's meals were delicious. The table was always beautifully set, even the picnic breakfasts were over the top. And where else will Nabalaa and his buddies dance and sing for you!!! It was wonderful! And we can't say enough about Salaash, our fabulous guide. Each day was an adventure that we thought could not be topped, but then there was the next day. We saw incredible game and he made sure that we had the opportunity to just sit and watch, mesmerized by the experience. At lunch and after dinner each day, Salaash sat with us and guided us in planning our next drive. His knowledge of the animals and their habits was so impressive. Breakfast with the Hippos, finding the leopard, laughing over the lion who had gorged himself to obvious discomfort, waking to tea and cookies, the hotwater bottle that kept my feet warm, sitting and talking around the fire in a Maasi home, seeing and being close to more animals than we ever dreamed - so many special memories. And the warmth and hospitality of everyone made our stay perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina04301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
45.7 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
32.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#5 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
50.7 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#57 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#74 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
43.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
50.3 mi away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#98 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Property: Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Nomadic Encounters)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience total freedom in your own bush house in the heart of the Maasai Mara conservancies. Animals stroll right past the front doors of all three of these private sanctuaries, and you have total freedom to set the pace of your own safari escape. Mara, Acacia and Topi houses are all seriously comfortable – although there is no resident host, a full complement of staff takes care of your every need. Each house accommodates six people in three double rooms, so they are ideal for couples, families and groups. Even better, you have the freedom to personally design your own itinerary. With detailed personal service, home-from-home hospitality and unequalled wildlife expertise, a safari at Mara Bush Houses is a unique and exclusive adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing