We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Save
You added Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from spending three nights at Mara House. The house itself is beautiful, made from the olive trees that surround the property, and overlooks a watering hole that attracts a varying stream of wildlife every day However, it is the quality of the team, led by the wonderful Salaash, that really made this trip special. Great game drives, delicious food (I loved the safari chutney), hands on activities with the children (lighting dry zebra dung to start a camp fire was a first), sundowners watching elephants under the huge African skies and hot water bottles in our beds every night. Looking forward to returning.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Mara Bush House was a wonderful retreat over christmas. Not only did we have some unforgettable wildlife viewing thanks to our keen and knowledgeable guide Salaash but our every need was catered for thanks to Wilson, Sesinie and Eve's incredible hospitality. The team went out of their way to make our christmas extra special and for that we are all very grateful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

There must be many great places on the Mara, but I can't see how any can be better than Topi House.

We stayed with our two daughters aged 14 and 10. Topi House sleeps 6 and would be suitable for any group up to 6 people. It is set in a beautiful Acacia woodland near the top of a rise and is well away from other Mara properties. It is on the edge of the Olare Orok Conservancy. There are views of the Mara through the woodland.

Fred is an amazing guide. We saw all the animals that we wanted because Fred knew where to look. There are too many animal experiences to even begin to list what we saw during October. The best bit was that there were no crowds anywhere. In fact we hardly saw a soul when we were out and about.

We were superbly looked after at Topi House by Nabaala, Leonard and James. Their service was great and the food was always excellent. Breakfast was generally spent with Fred on the Mara. Lunch and dinner were served at Topi House.

The rooms were excellent ... the beds were very comfortable and the rooms had plenty of space and storage. The en-suite Bathrooms were very good too.

Every detail was thought about, from cool, eucalyptus infused face washers that were given to us at the end of the daytime safaris to the warm ones that were presented when we returned in the evening. They put hot water bottles in our beds each evening.

We flew into Ol Kiombo Airstrip and had 40 minute scenic safari to Topi House.

There was no swimming pool, no mobile reception and no Wi-Fi ... it was a perfect opportunity to get away and focus on the stunning beauty of the Mara.

We think it was well worth the investment required.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrthom1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Topi House was our first stop on our safari and was the perfect introduction to the bush. The house is lovely and in a perfect setting. Sitting on the verandah in the afternoon, we watched the giraffes poking above the trees, the baboons moving through the grass, wildebeest, zebras and gazelles grazing and topi everywhere. Our bedroom was very comfortable and well equipped. We never ran out of hot water or lacked anything. Leonard's meals were delicious. The table was always beautifully set, even the picnic breakfasts were over the top. And where else will Nabalaa and his buddies dance and sing for you!!! It was wonderful! And we can't say enough about Salaash, our fabulous guide. Each day was an adventure that we thought could not be topped, but then there was the next day. We saw incredible game and he made sure that we had the opportunity to just sit and watch, mesmerized by the experience. At lunch and after dinner each day, Salaash sat with us and guided us in planning our next drive. His knowledge of the animals and their habits was so impressive. Breakfast with the Hippos, finding the leopard, laughing over the lion who had gorged himself to obvious discomfort, waking to tea and cookies, the hotwater bottle that kept my feet warm, sitting and talking around the fire in a Maasi home, seeing and being close to more animals than we ever dreamed - so many special memories. And the warmth and hospitality of everyone made our stay perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina04301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Topi House looked incredible from the literature but it exceeded our very high expectations. The setting is amazing, looking out onto miles of unspoiled bush with giraffe and elephant wandering by. The house is gorgeous, the beds comfortable and the facilities excellent. But what made the experience, was the team of people who looked after us so well. Salaash was an amazing guide, with an awe inspiring knowledge of the wildlife and the environment. His patience, understanding of and respect for, the animals allows him to find wonderful wildlife encounters around every corner: lions hunting and on a kill; leopard resting in the shade of a rock; an exhilarating Mara crossing and so much more. Isaac's food was delicious and Sasine and Nabaala looked after us in a very unobtrusive, but very attentive and caring way, which was a real luxury. It was a real privilege to be on safari in such a setting with such wonderful people around us.

Room Tip: Double and one twin room we used were fabulous. Ensuite bathrooms huge and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When we first booked we had reservations about the price, but wow, it's the best money we have ever spent. Everything about our experience was out of this world; the staff, location, hospitality, food and most of all, the animals. Our guide, Salaash, is without doubt one of the most impressive individuals either of us have ever had the pleasure to meet. Not only was he incredibly knowledgeable (about absolutely everything, from the animals to world politics!), but he is simply one of the nicest, most engaging and fascinating people ever. He went out of his way to ensure we had a dream experience and we really cannot thank him enough. We saw all of the big cats and a lot more to boot. We should also mention that the house is fantastic, the food great and all of the staff incredibly polite, but for us, it was Salaash which made our trip. We're already saving for our return trip.

Room Tip: They are both idyllic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Mara house, and it was absolutely wonderful, Rainee and the staff took care of our every request. The house is well designed and tastefully furnished, and the meals were amazing! Gourmet 3 course meals in the bush had such a novelty factor! The pool and barbeque area was lovely and was a nice area to relax in between game drives. We especially loved relaxing with sundowners while watching the zebra, gazelles and warthogs come to the watering hole, which was a short distance away.
The little touches made a huge difference - unlimited mineral water in charming maasai beaded bottles, washing powder for ladies to wash their underwear, excellent well made coffee, evening fires in the fireplace, and the excellent service from the house staff, who knew when to pour more wine into your glass, made excellent G & Ts, and generally went out their way to make you comfortable. The chef, Isaac, was excellent and more than willing to accommodate any requests for my 2 yr old son. Our tour guide Dickson was very knowledgeable and always shared tid-bits and interesting information on the game, and was an excellent driver - his ability to single-handedly change the tyre in the middle of the plains at super speed was particularly impressive!
We had such a lovely time, we strongly recommend Mara house especially for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HVrNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
48.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
43.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
45.7 mi away
Encounter Mara Safari Camp by Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara Safari Camp by As...
#3 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
21.5 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#14 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
30.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Property: Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Address: Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Nomadic Encounters)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own house in the bush, right in the very heart of one of Africa's most famous and game rich areas. A bush house where the wildlife comes right to your front door and you decide how you would like to pass your day. Our three bush houses, Acacia House, Mara House and Topi House, are ideal for a couple, family or group. The private houses are fully catered and guided by some of the very best in Africa to make this a unique experience. All three houses are well placed to deal with younger guests who are welcome from all ages. Over the years our guides have shown many children the magic of this fine wilderness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing