We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Topi House tops!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Topi House tops!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Topi House was our first stop on our safari and was the perfect introduction to the bush. The house is lovely and in a perfect setting. Sitting on the verandah in the afternoon, we watched the giraffes poking above the trees, the baboons moving through the grass, wildebeest, zebras and gazelles grazing and topi everywhere. Our bedroom was very comfortable and well equipped. We never ran out of hot water or lacked anything. Leonard's meals were delicious. The table was always beautifully set, even the picnic breakfasts were over the top. And where else will Nabalaa and his buddies dance and sing for you!!! It was wonderful! And we can't say enough about Salaash, our fabulous guide. Each day was an adventure that we thought could not be topped, but then there was the next day. We saw incredible game and he made sure that we had the opportunity to just sit and watch, mesmerized by the experience. At lunch and after dinner each day, Salaash sat with us and guided us in planning our next drive. His knowledge of the animals and their habits was so impressive. Breakfast with the Hippos, finding the leopard, laughing over the lion who had gorged himself to obvious discomfort, waking to tea and cookies, the hotwater bottle that kept my feet warm, sitting and talking around the fire in a Maasi home, seeing and being close to more animals than we ever dreamed - so many special memories. And the warmth and hospitality of everyone made our stay perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina04301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Topi House looked incredible from the literature but it exceeded our very high expectations. The setting is amazing, looking out onto miles of unspoiled bush with giraffe and elephant wandering by. The house is gorgeous, the beds comfortable and the facilities excellent. But what made the experience, was the team of people who looked after us so well. Salaash was an amazing guide, with an awe inspiring knowledge of the wildlife and the environment. His patience, understanding of and respect for, the animals allows him to find wonderful wildlife encounters around every corner: lions hunting and on a kill; leopard resting in the shade of a rock; an exhilarating Mara crossing and so much more. Isaac's food was delicious and Sasine and Nabaala looked after us in a very unobtrusive, but very attentive and caring way, which was a real luxury. It was a real privilege to be on safari in such a setting with such wonderful people around us.

Room Tip: Double and one twin room we used were fabulous. Ensuite bathrooms huge and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When we first booked we had reservations about the price, but wow, it's the best money we have ever spent. Everything about our experience was out of this world; the staff, location, hospitality, food and most of all, the animals. Our guide, Salaash, is without doubt one of the most impressive individuals either of us have ever had the pleasure to meet. Not only was he incredibly knowledgeable (about absolutely everything, from the animals to world politics!), but he is simply one of the nicest, most engaging and fascinating people ever. He went out of his way to ensure we had a dream experience and we really cannot thank him enough. We saw all of the big cats and a lot more to boot. We should also mention that the house is fantastic, the food great and all of the staff incredibly polite, but for us, it was Salaash which made our trip. We're already saving for our return trip.

Room Tip: They are both idyllic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Mara house, and it was absolutely wonderful, Rainee and the staff took care of our every request. The house is well designed and tastefully furnished, and the meals were amazing! Gourmet 3 course meals in the bush had such a novelty factor! The pool and barbeque area was lovely and was a nice area to relax in between game drives. We especially loved relaxing with sundowners while watching the zebra, gazelles and warthogs come to the watering hole, which was a short distance away.
The little touches made a huge difference - unlimited mineral water in charming maasai beaded bottles, washing powder for ladies to wash their underwear, excellent well made coffee, evening fires in the fireplace, and the excellent service from the house staff, who knew when to pour more wine into your glass, made excellent G & Ts, and generally went out their way to make you comfortable. The chef, Isaac, was excellent and more than willing to accommodate any requests for my 2 yr old son. Our tour guide Dickson was very knowledgeable and always shared tid-bits and interesting information on the game, and was an excellent driver - his ability to single-handedly change the tyre in the middle of the plains at super speed was particularly impressive!
We had such a lovely time, we strongly recommend Mara house especially for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HVrNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Nomadic Encounters. We only had three days to stay with them, after the first few hours there, my wife and I already knew we'd be wishing for more time! The accommodations are very, very comfortable, and were far more spacious and luxurious than we were expecting. Wilson provided us with incredible service throughout the day and into the evening, and the food... OH my GOODNESS.... the food was INCREDIBLE!! We went to the Mara expecting the game drives to be the highlight of our trip, and while each one was its own unique and truly amazing experience, I honestly think I would've been just as happy sitting on the lanai, sipping the excellent French press coffee, reading a book, and watching the action at the watering hole! That being said, the game drives were even more awe-inspiring than I had expected, and we were there during the SLOW season- I can't even imagine what it must be like during the migration! Fred, our driver/guide was very knowledgeable about all forms of wildlife, the ecology of the Mara and local culture and customs, and was very, very good at spotting and pointing out wildlife that I, were I at the helm, would have driven right past without noticing. We can't wait for the chance to get back to the Mara, and we will DEFINITELY be staying with Nomadic Encounters... hopefully with a good portion of our extended families in tow! Stay here... you WILL NOT regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Acacia House, but I'm sure you can't go wrong, no matter which house you stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bells Beach
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our recent stay at Acacia lodge ranks amongst the best of our broad travel experiences.
The house, all yours, overlooks its own spring-fed waterholes, where birds and other wildlife, including Elephants for us, were constant visitors.
House staff and all meals, including a requested traditional Maasai dinner, were top rate. And after showing a keen interest in the local culture we were treated to 2 separate, impromptu, dance performances by 4 of our Maasai "warriors". Unforgettable!
Game viewing exceeded our expectations. Dickson, our young guide, is the best we have encountered. His passion, enthusiasm and broad knowledge, often delivered with a Maasai cultural context, brought our game viewing to life. Our guided walking safari to the Mara's highest point, with breakfast, gazing across the plain far below was both reward and highlight.
We highly recommend Natural Encounters' Acacia House and their guide Dickson.

Room Tip: The whole house is yours. The upstairs bedroom would be ideal for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkel, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are a family of 4 and we spent a few days at Acacia House / Nomadic Encounters.
We loved every moment of it. The house is located just in front of a waterhole where zebras and buffaloes came and drank while we were sitting on our veranda surrounded by wild sage and olive trees. The entire house is fabulously designed, olive tree wood is used throughout the builiding.
Our guide Fred was terrific and we had the most wonderful time with Dennis and the whole team of Acacia House who made our stay unforgettable.
Not to forget the food - it was delicious.
We definitely want to come back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 734loup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
45.7 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#5 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
32.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
50.7 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#55 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#74 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
43.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
50.3 mi away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#98 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Property: Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Nomadic Encounters)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience total freedom in your own bush house in the heart of the Maasai Mara conservancies. Animals stroll right past the front doors of all three of these private sanctuaries, and you have total freedom to set the pace of your own safari escape. Mara, Acacia and Topi houses are all seriously comfortable – although there is no resident host, a full complement of staff takes care of your every need. Each house accommodates six people in three double rooms, so they are ideal for couples, families and groups. Even better, you have the freedom to personally design your own itinerary. With detailed personal service, home-from-home hospitality and unequalled wildlife expertise, a safari at Mara Bush Houses is a unique and exclusive adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing