We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Nearby Hotels
Leopard Hill(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$500
$394
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$370
$315
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$152
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$247
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$196
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
138
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstopi housewatering holehouse staffwater holegame drivesunforgettable holidayfelt like royaltyspecial surprisedaily routinewonderful memoriesthe sun setbeautiful propertyprivate guideover christmaswithin feetrhino sanctuarywonderful wildlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 139 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have never felt more at home than I did at the Topi House. Absolutely beautiful setting, great sunsets by the fire, fantastic food, lots of humor. House was immaculately clean. The staff, who I can't all name, we so solicitous - whatever we needed or thought we wanted, they made sure we had it. Leonard was a suburb chief! He really needs to put together a cookbook. He spent hours hand writing receipes for me. Our host Salaash and his right hand man, Loli, were just fantastic. Salaash knows the Mara like the back of his hand. A fantastic guide and person. I hope to return and when I do, the Topi House is my #1.

Room Tip: all the rooms were excellent
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our third trip together to the Mara and we stayed at Topi and Acacia House. My husband is confined to a wheelchair and we couldn't have asked for more in terms of accommodating his needs. Very personal and individual attention, spectacular guides and facilities. First class treatment as soon as you touch down, lots of little touches that make it very special, such as being greeted immediately you step out of the vehicle after a safari with a cooling hand towel and light refreshments. The wildlife is all around you and the guides are so knowledgeable - you get the whole experience and time to savour it at your pace, doing what you want to do, when you want to do it, but equally if you can't make up your mind or know what there is to do, they will plan or suggest the day's itinery for you. Luxury accommodation and attention by all the team of staff, the food was unbelievable (and lots of it) - afternoon tea and cakes on the veranda at Acacia House watching the water hole to see what might appear - you dream of these things, but it was real. A chance to see the real Kenya and its friendly people. A very private and personal experience of the Mara shared with lovely people.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I have been all over the world and what separates one place from the next is the host. There is beauty and awesome sites everywhere but the people who take care of you and the hospitality they provide is what makes the difference. Nomadic encounters offered an amazing experience that was welcoming, fascinating and affordable.nand our guide and host, salaash, was one of most interesting, intelligent and kind people we have ever met. Book nomadic encounters for your next trip. By the way, this is the first review I have ever written...I feel that nomadic encounters deserved the good words!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you're looking for and they will set you up with whatever best matches your interests and budget.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Topi House for two nights (we wanted to stay longer but they were already booked). This place is incredible! The food was delicious. The accommodations were five star. The property is quiet, private, and peaceful and the surrounding scenery is breathtaking. The staff was friendly, welcoming, and dedicated to making us feel comfortable during our entire stay. Our guide Salaash took us on some amazing game drives throughout the Mara. His extensive knowledge of the Mara as well as his quick wit kept us engaged and entertained the entire time. Nothing but rave reviews for Topi House! I hope we get to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We warmed up at Emakoko Lodge in Nairobi but were blown away with our stay at Topi House in Maasai Mara. Our guide and host Salaash and spotter Loli greeted us with such enthusiasm at airstrip. When asked how far a drive to Topi House, Salaash said 1-24 hours and he meant it. Their radar is always up and how sensitive and accurate it is. Our 2 days with them was jam packed with seeing, learning, laughing, eating both at Topi House and in the Bush. Leonard is the best chef and even hand wrote some recipes that we loved. I think he should make a cook book. The staff at Topi took the best care of us. What great people. Topi House was so comfortable and in a gorgeous setting. Wish we could have stayed longer. The wildebeest migration was beyond what we could have imagined.We saw a crossing fraught with crocidiles sunning on the rocks. We saw lioness drag a kill into the bush and leave to return with her 2 cubs. Salaash called it play by play. We had many highlights on our 2 week safari but we remember most fondly our friends, Salaash, Loli and staff with Nomadic Encounters at Topi House.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom house for 6+ people
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews