We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't wait to return”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have never felt more at home than I did at the Topi House. Absolutely beautiful setting, great sunsets by the fire, fantastic food, lots of humor. House was immaculately clean. The staff, who I can't all name, we so solicitous - whatever we needed or thought we wanted, they made sure we had it. Leonard was a suburb chief! He really needs to put together a cookbook. He spent hours hand writing receipes for me. Our host Salaash and his right hand man, Loli, were just fantastic. Salaash knows the Mara like the back of his hand. A fantastic guide and person. I hope to return and when I do, the Topi House is my #1.

Room Tip: all the rooms were excellent
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 131 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our third trip together to the Mara and we stayed at Topi and Acacia House. My husband is confined to a wheelchair and we couldn't have asked for more in terms of accommodating his needs. Very personal and individual attention, spectacular guides and facilities. First class treatment as soon as you touch down, lots of little touches that make it very special, such as being greeted immediately you step out of the vehicle after a safari with a cooling hand towel and light refreshments. The wildlife is all around you and the guides are so knowledgeable - you get the whole experience and time to savour it at your pace, doing what you want to do, when you want to do it, but equally if you can't make up your mind or know what there is to do, they will plan or suggest the day's itinery for you. Luxury accommodation and attention by all the team of staff, the food was unbelievable (and lots of it) - afternoon tea and cakes on the veranda at Acacia House watching the water hole to see what might appear - you dream of these things, but it was real. A chance to see the real Kenya and its friendly people. A very private and personal experience of the Mara shared with lovely people.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I have been all over the world and what separates one place from the next is the host. There is beauty and awesome sites everywhere but the people who take care of you and the hospitality they provide is what makes the difference. Nomadic encounters offered an amazing experience that was welcoming, fascinating and affordable.nand our guide and host, salaash, was one of most interesting, intelligent and kind people we have ever met. Book nomadic encounters for your next trip. By the way, this is the first review I have ever written...I feel that nomadic encounters deserved the good words!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you're looking for and they will set you up with whatever best matches your...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Topi House for two nights (we wanted to stay longer but they were already booked). This place is incredible! The food was delicious. The accommodations were five star. The property is quiet, private, and peaceful and the surrounding scenery is breathtaking. The staff was friendly, welcoming, and dedicated to making us feel comfortable during our entire stay. Our guide Salaash took us on some amazing game drives throughout the Mara. His extensive knowledge of the Mara as well as his quick wit kept us engaged and entertained the entire time. Nothing but rave reviews for Topi House! I hope we get to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We warmed up at Emakoko Lodge in Nairobi but were blown away with our stay at Topi House in Maasai Mara. Our guide and host Salaash and spotter Loli greeted us with such enthusiasm at airstrip. When asked how far a drive to Topi House, Salaash said 1-24 hours and he meant it. Their radar is always up and how sensitive and accurate it is. Our 2 days with them was jam packed with seeing, learning, laughing, eating both at Topi House and in the Bush. Leonard is the best chef and even hand wrote some recipes that we loved. I think he should make a cook book. The staff at Topi took the best care of us. What great people. Topi House was so comfortable and in a gorgeous setting. Wish we could have stayed longer. The wildebeest migration was beyond what we could have imagined.We saw a crossing fraught with crocidiles sunning on the rocks. We saw lioness drag a kill into the bush and leave to return with her 2 cubs. Salaash called it play by play. We had many highlights on our 2 week safari but we remember most fondly our friends, Salaash, Loli and staff with Nomadic Encounters at Topi House.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom house for 6+ people
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been to Acacia House and Topi House (two different years). The staff is excellent and Salaash and the guides are the best we have encountered in our many trips to Africa. Food is great and the houses are wonderful and are right out in the wilderness with game coming by. You have the whole house to yourself and whomever you have traveled with and your own driver and guide as well. We came back the second time and are booked for a third and fourth!

Acacia House has a pool and a water hole. Topi House is right on the edge of the Mara with quick access to one of the most wonderful parks in the world. With both houses you also have your own vehicle and guide. ( excellent for photographers).

We travel a lot for photography for our website and have been in 27 countries. This is by far our favorite place and we have had great experiences with the wildlife.

Room Tip: You have the whole house to yourself so you can choose your own room!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

From the minute we stepped off of the plane and were met by our guides, Jackson and Fred, it was one exciting adventure after another. They were so enthsiastic and shared so much with us. The safaris were unbelievable! The excitement of following leopards and seeing lions was such a thrill. The Mara and Acacia Houses were beautiful homes where we were treated royally by the staff. Thanks to Jackson and Fred and all those that welcomed us into their world.
Captain Phil and Linda Allen

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful with great views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaLouAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
45.7 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
347 reviews
32.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
352 reviews
43.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.3 mi away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#98 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
21 reviews
52.4 mi away
Mara Chui Camp
Mara Chui Camp
#124 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
8 reviews
49.4 mi away
Leleshwa Camp
Leleshwa Camp
#85 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Nomadic Encounters)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $1,406 - $1,434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience total freedom in your own bush house in the heart of the Maasai Mara conservancies. Animals stroll right past the front doors of all three of these private sanctuaries, and you have total freedom to set the pace of your own safari escape. Mara, Acacia and Topi houses are all seriously comfortable – although there is no resident host, a full complement of staff takes care of your every need. Each house accommodates six people in three double rooms, so they are ideal for couples, families and groups. Even better, you have the freedom to personally design your own itinerary. With detailed personal service, home-from-home hospitality and unequalled wildlife expertise, a safari at Mara Bush Houses is a unique and exclusive adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing