We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mara delivers the best experiences!!!”
Review of Kicheche Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2010

3rd time in Kenya with a photographic group and once again amazing animal sightings, long days, beautiful scenery, perfect light, tallented and information-rich drivers and guides, a friendly group, so much food (for the animals and the tourists) and hundreds of more memories on my compact flash cards. Would I recommend this trip and do it all over again? YES, I would be back in Africa tomorrow...

Jarrad, Jane, the Kicheche Staff and drivers are so welcoming, friendly and exactly what you need in such an amazing place. They make the experience possible and make you feel like you have arrived at your African home. Thank you.

Stayed: February 2010
Thank BrendaWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 340 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

Me and my mum stayed in Feb and it could not have been better. Jane and Jarrod were the most wonderful hosts- along with the other staff, they made it the most special stay away in a long time.

I thoroughly recommend Mika as a guide- he knows everything there is to know, speaks brilliant English and you can ask him any question and he will definitely know the answer! He spotted a leopard from a huge distance away and we got the most amazing close up photos. He genuinely loves the land and wants to help educate people about conserving it. You learn to love it too with his help.

The food is amazing. We loved going to a Masai village and the tents were very comfortable.

Overall, an absolutely amazing, special place which I can't praise enough! Thank you Jane and Jarrod- good luck with George, he's a wonderful little boy!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieposy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Kicheche Mara camp is friendly, comfortable and well-situated. I have stayed at several camps in the Mara and Serengeti, and the wildlife viewing on this trip was exceptional. The drivers/guides were incredible, as demonstrated by their abilities to find leopards and spot the unexpected (such as a new born giraffe). The tents were spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent throughout, including breakfasts and lunches taken out on game drives. The standard of evening dinners was way beyond my expectation, and resulted in much debate among the group about our favorite deserts! Thank you to our hosts Jared and Jane, and the friendly staff, for a great week and for helping me fill my camera's memory cards.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevePhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

The guides are simply incredible. We saw so much in so little time. And this was well outside the "high season" too. We had the plains to ourselves most days (other than the lions, cheetahs, elephants etc), with most of the other local camps apparently lacking in customers at this time of year. The location is excellent. The Mara reserve is within easy driving distance and is worth a visit, but you can also see lots closer to camp without the need to pay the reserve fees (we saw at least one leopard every day).

The camp itself is lovely. Friendly and relaxed luxury. The camp managers and staff are excellent, the food is consistently good. After much heated debate the lemon slices just pipped the rhubarb crumble and brownies to be voted pudding of the week!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and I hope to be able to go back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Jane and Jarrod, with the able support of John and the team, run an exceptional camp in the heart of the Mara.
The focus is where it should be on providing a relaxed and friendly camp with a great standard of comfort.
I am still amazed at the quality of the food that they manage to prepare - it puts to shame most of my local restaurants!
The team of guides complement the character of the camp - friendly, approachable but immensely knowledgable and experienced. Whilst they can't guarantee sightings - if they are to be had, it is most likely it will be from a Kicheche vehicle.
I must admit that I have been fortunate enough to do a number of safaris elsewhere and Kicheche is at the top of my list.
If you are a first timer - highly recommended.
If you are an old hand - equally highly recommended
If you are a keen photographer - marry it with a week hosted by Paul Goldstein and you will have a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLadmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

This was our second experience with Kicheche but the first at Mara Camp. It surpassed expectations - great location, superb staff, good food and lots of attention to detail .
The guides are incredible. I still don't understand how they spot things, whilst driving, that we couldn't see with binoculars when stationary.
Finally, Kicheche tries to put something back into the community around it in a variety of ways - e.g. helping to support local schools, sponsoring students though the guiding school, assisting a local clinic, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Kicheche deliver a warm and authentic experience in the Mara. Friendly attentive staff deliver high standards of care through excellent dining, in the Mara and in camp and comfortable and luxurious accommodation.
The guides are experienced and have the ability to spot a Leopard from great distances and then get you to a respectful distance to view the animals.
Kicheche has a good position in the Mara North Conservancy, where there is ample game and towering views of the plains and western escarpment.
Kicheche is committed to making sure the camp and their activities add to the delicate environment in which they operate and do not take away from it - this is evident and reassuring. Thank you to all at Kicheche for an amazing week in the Mara - again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelOrriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
26.7 mi away
Kicheche Valley Camp
Kicheche Valley Camp
#54 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
115 reviews
7.3 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
299 reviews
13.5 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#6 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#14 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
863 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#30 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
321 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#88 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Mara Camp

Address: Acacia valley, Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Kicheche Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bush hideaway welcomes you to a different world, centered at the heart of the African wilderness. Experiencing a traditional luxury camp is a must on safari and, with Kicheche, one that is intimate, secluded and in an area surrounded by prolific wildlife. Staying in a bush camp doesn't mean compromising on comfort, the food and service are first class, as are the warmth and experience of Kicheche's staff making your safari an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing