We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply mara-velous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Mara Camp
Save
You added Kicheche Mara Camp to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply mara-velous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The camp fits the environment, quiet,elegant;luxury without the flash.You are treated royally from your morning tea served to your tent to the flashlight escort back after dinner. Game drives were full on with award winning drivers who are knowledgeable and entertaining; and of course the stars of the show, Mara has some high concentrations of animals, your chance to be up close. The staff from Sam and Colin the managers to the grounds keepers are friendly,
helpful, genuine. They have put great effort into reaching the gold eco award. They strive to honor the environmental mission of the conservancy, protecting the Mara for
the future. I was impressed by the programs in place to educate the staff and support the community.
Kicheche is a stellar organization.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvltrmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
124
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

What a truly magical place. The camp runs like a well oiled clock, attentoin to detail is second to none. The staff charming, food delicious game abundant - we saw the leopard with her two littel cubs - what a bonus! In spite of a freak storm hitting the camp the day we arrived, this took nothing away from the entire wonder of this special place. I cannot commend the staff enough for the way in which the storm devastatoin was handled... none of the visitors wre inconvenienced and probably had no idea of the damage to the infrastructure of the camp which still continued to run smoothly and efficiently. Well done to everybody. This is one very very special place and I would highly recommend it to anybody wishing to see a multitude of game at the same time enjoying five star facilities of a beautifully run camp.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful, secluded with stupendous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lockhartmure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Kicheche camps are nice, but what really got me was all of their guides. I stayed at all four Kicheche camps and every guide was "silver rated" - which is sort of the equivalent to having a masters degree in guiding. Camps are each managed by a couple, which makes for a really great, intimate experience. I only had one night at Bush camp, but I recommend AT LEAST two nights.

Camps are laid out in a row with the lounge in the middle. If you want more privacy, choose one that is far out, however you will have to walk quite a distance.

Room Tip: Camps are laid out in a row with the lounge in the middle. If you want more privacy, choose one that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent 5 nights here in early March 14 with Colin and Sammy and enjoyed every minute of it.
The atmosphere was always very friendly, the food excellent, and the location superb especially as there was a leopard with 2 young cubs within 400m of the camp!
The laundry service was excellent, enabling us to travel as light as possible, and the attention to detail was impressive in such a remote location.
The camp is run on an eco sustainable basis wherever possible, despite the efforts of the elephants the fresh garden produce was delicious!
Excellent value for money, wonderful wildlife, great hosts!!

Room Tip: All rooms the same, only difference is distance from the dining tent, we enjoyed the walk from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingeyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Oh how I miss my sundowner, sitting on my tent porch and watching the wildlife walk by. I have spent a lot of time in Africa and done many game drives but I have never been so relaxed and excited at the same time as I was in Kicheche Mara Camp. It's exciting to be so close to nature (there are no fences), and relaxing to be waited on hand and foot by the superb staff at the camp.

The tents are luxurious; I had not expected such comfort, especially the flushing toilets and hot showers any time you wish. The camp is spread out nicely so you feel like you're all alone while sitting on your porch, but happily not completely alone as the guards watch out for you and check there's no danger from the animals. We did have an elephant visiting in the night, which was amazing experience, but nice to know there are guards watching out for you.

The food and drink was absolutely first rate; I can't quite believe what they managed to cook up in such a remote location. The staff are so friendly and cater to your every need, including bringing much needed coffee before early morning game drives and G&T’s for the evening. The guides are incredibly knowledgeable and always manage to find the most amazing animals; I have never seen so many lions! But also some amazing smaller nature experiences which the guides made really interesting, and also have a great sense of humour. The whole camp has a great vibe and led by managers with a clear passion for Africa and make you feel so at home.

The conservancy is clearly really well managed and I was amazed by the abundance and diversity of the wildlife, and the lovely scenery. You couldn't pick a better spot for a bush camp and if you want a real bush experience with a bit of luxury you really cannot do better than this wonderful Kicheche camp.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iainhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have just returned from a photographic safari where we stayed at the Kicheche Mara Camp. The camp was in the bush where animals could easily pass through, and of course they did! We had elephants, bush babies, monkeys in the camp and within a whisker I could hear lions and hyenas! But do not be afraid, safety is paramount with guards guiding you to and from your tent after dark. The tents were palatial with comfortable beds, a good shower, flushing toilet and even a hot water bottle in the bed at night! Toileteries were supplied including hair conditioner and body lotion and were of a good quality. The camp staff and managers went really out of their way to make your experience perfect! Our drivers were fantastic! They are Massai Mara guides who know their country like the back of their hands. They speak English perfectly; know every mammal, bird and reptile and it's behaviour and habitat perfectly. They see things we haven't even been slightly aware of, guiding us to the best position to take the best photograph. We were woken up early with a cuppa and some biscuits and went out on our first drive of the morning. Breakfast was served out in the bush after our drivers ensured we were not at risk from predators or other dangerous animals. We continued out until lunchtime when we returned to camp. Both lunch and dinner were exceptional! We went out again at 4pm, stopping at sundown for a drink, ususally a G&T but mine was a glass of wine, then returning for a shower and dinner. We saw all the animals we expected to and a few more, except of course the rhino. We visited a Mara village and a market to get 'people' shots. Our photographic guide, who I am not really including here in this review but have to mention, was Bob Brind-Surch and his expertise and humour made this a fantastic holiday. NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNG CHILDREN!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshwader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have recently returned from the Mara camp and am already wishing we were back! This is a great camp set out over quite a large area. There are 8 tents all located quite far apart looking over the valley. The tents were large and well furnished, we enjoyed tea being delivered each morning at 6am! The staff were brilliant, we had a great time on our last evening with our own private waiter and night guard on the veranda of our tent for a lovely meal. The food was amazing, every day a great selection at the breakfast picnic, lunch & dinner.
Our guide was David and he was brilliant, so knowledgeable and we saw some great game including leopards, a serval and caracal. We also had a trip into the local market and then a masai village.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestTraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Kicheche Valley Camp
Kicheche Valley Camp
#57 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#15 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#14 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
#54 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Mara Camp

Property: Kicheche Mara Camp
Address: Acacia valley, Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kicheche Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bush hideaway welcomes you to a different world, centered at the heart of the African wilderness. Experiencing a traditional luxury camp is a must on safari and, with Kicheche, one that is intimate, secluded and in an area surrounded by prolific wildlife. Staying in a bush camp doesn't mean compromising on comfort, the food and service are first class, as are the warmth and experience of Kicheche's staff making your safari an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing