We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff, Food, Lodgings and local were spectacular.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Take advantage of the three game drives offered daily. In the evening listen to Joseph give excellent information on the Maasai, animals and flora/fauna. If you are on a flying Safari, the Mara Intredpids Lodge is only 300yds from the small airport. We saw the Big Five many times over plus many, many more animals and birds.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackhodgesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2011

The Management acknowledges your review and wish to thank you for having taken time to fill it. It is true we do three Game drives per day and we are one of the very few establishments who does this. In the Morning it is cool and viewing is good and chances of seeing a Kill that happened at night are very high. Daytime tends to favor mostly the plain animals particularly of the Antelope family.Evening Game drives are geared towards Animals going for Supper. In our case we tend to follow the same Animals in case of the cats and this gives you a chance to understand more how they behave. Over time we have names for many of them and our drives will tell you about Bella the Leopard, Shongo the Hippo etc
The Game experience is always astonishing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 889 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2011

Hotel is very nice, clean and soft ! Service is smooth and people polite and helpful ! Safari well organized and , most of all, worth of it !

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apioantunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MombasaRafiki, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

The Management thanks you so much for this review. We shall endeavor to ensure that your next visit is even more special. Incidentally a visit in July and August when the Migration is on is a very awesome experience at the Mara Intrepids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at Mara Intrepids and loved it. It is very close to the landing strip for flights to & from the area. An Intrepids representative met us as soon as we stepped off our plane and within minutes he hooked us up with an afternoon game drive already in progress. The raised tents are beautiful...there are about 30 such tents surrounded by an electric fence. Our tent #29 faced a river and each day we watched a parade of animals going to the river to drink.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good. The real highlight for us were the game drives. Our guide, Denis, was excellent. Prior to coming to the Masaai Mara area we had spent 6 nights on safari in Tanzania. While we enjoyed our game drives there we absolutely loved the game drives done by our Intrepids guide. The big difference was the guides in Masaai Mara leave the trails and drive right up to where the kill occurs enabling one to be very close to thebig cats devouring their kill...no binoculars needed.
We highly recommend Mara Intrepids.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randomMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MombasaRafiki, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

We acknowledge this wonderful review. We are committed to ensure that our Guests have a nice experience ever. You will be happy to know that Dennis your Tour Guide is a Silver Medal Professional Tour Guide and is working towards having a Gold Medal. It will only be better. we wish you all well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Our stay there was very pleasant. One night we heard the elephants, hippos, lions and hyenas going at it outside the fence. Only wish we had a device to record the excitement. Only criticism is the total lack of wifi, after being advertise as having it. Made communication with the outside world almost impossible. The food was slightly more limited than at the serena hotels we stayed at on the same safari.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdkidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We just returned today from Kenya having stayed 4 nights at Mara Intrepids. I just have to say what a completely wonderful camp this is! The tents are amazing, so luxurious! The staff at the camp cannot do enough for you and are great with the kids. The food is delicious... evening dinner is top notch! The guides know absolutely everything about the area and all hiding places of the animals (the only thing we didnt see was a Rhino) Our driver, Aggrey, was totally brilliant and so knowledgable about the area and everything we saw from the smallest bird to the biggest animal. My daughter is 8 and was wild with excitement at seeing so many animals so closely. Back at the camp the staff kept her amused in the afternoons with bush walks, tracking (making casts of hyena prints!) and Maasai beaded jewellary making. She returned each afternoon with stories of the history of tribes and the area and interesting facts about the animals. I would say that the weather was not as warm as I thought it would be and would advise layers, but the staff put hot water bottles in the bed each night and wake you each morning with hot chocolate/tea. The tents have beautiful views over the river which is often visited by the animals. I cannot speak highly enough of Mara Intrepids - the camp, the staff, facilities ... and of course the safari! This place is amazing and beautiful and magical and I want to go back tomorrow!!! Enjoy your stay, I know you will!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Black-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

It was my third stay at Mara Intrepids within last two years and I do love the place. The location right in the middle of the park is awesome and drivers/guides are very professional and they do take amateur photographers requests well into consideration.
The restaurant is very nice, good food variety and the staff makes you feel like home.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pekka_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My wife and I wanted to thank you both for the incredible experience we had at your establishment. Besides the luxury tented accommodatioms, hospitality, and food ... by far what made our trip was the quality of our guide. He was incredibly knowledgeable both about the animals and even Kenyan history. He was able to guide us to many incredible scenes. For example after he spotted the remains of a gazelle in a tree, he led us to a leopard's den with cubs. My friends around the world including local Kenyans have seen my photos and have told me they never seen the sights that we saw on the Mara Intrepid safari in any other African Safari. Kenya is the country to go and the Interepid is the hotel to trust with such an exciting adventure. We had an incredible trip and its due to your management and the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatskillJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,110 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
256 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#41 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
344 reviews
8.8 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
312 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $448 - $1,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing