We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, luxurious, delicious food, helpful staff. Great Mara experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, luxurious, delicious food, helpful staff. Great Mara experience.”
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Clean, luxurious, delicious food, helpful staff. Great Mara experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hthati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    113
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
243
314
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our first camp on a 2 week safari with 3 teenagers. We stayed for 3 nights. Flying in the the tiny airstrip in the middle of the Masai Mara Game Reserve didn't disappoint. A herd of elephants to the left and giraffes to the right, as well landed was like something out of a picture book. The camp is surrounded by a discreet electric fence which is very reassuring for first timers like us. The tents were beautiful and exeptionally clean. Though, as all the tents are the same size our 3 person tent was quite squashy. The camp includes 3 game drives a day, though we only opted to do the early morning and dusk and decided to swim in the pool or go on a nature walk in the middle of the day. Our driver, Michael, was exceptional and the most fabulous game spotter. The food was great and catered for all tastes. Whilst the tents are well spaced out, I won't say it was an intimate camp. Excellent for families.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plus3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

If arriving by plane you swoop down out of the sky onto a bush landing strip to be greeted by smiling faces. Luggage should be in soft bags not exceeding 15KG. You are no sooner in your Jeep and you are out of it again - the camp is literally 2 mins away - a veritable oasis in the scrub and grassland.
Met at reception with towels and refreshing drink.
Tents are tents but they do not normally come with hot and cold running water, shower that half the rugby team could get into, flushing loo, fixed electric sockets ( no adapter reqd if from UK) and enough room around the 4 poster bed complete with mozzie net to hold a tea party. Gone are the days of searching for the tent flap in the middle of the night.
Bed very comfortable and the hot water bottle every evening a nice and necessary touch.
Morning arrives and you are awakened with a hot drink of your choice and one or two biscuits.
First drive starts 6.30 and you need to wrap up warm as it takes a few hours at 4800 feet for the temperature to get up.
You are back again between 8.30 and 9.00 for full monty breakfast or whatever - something for everyone.
Back out again at 10.30 til 12.30
The start times of the drives are regulated but it is down to you and the guide as to what time you return - we got back some days after sundown.
We were lucky having 2 guides and nobody else in jeep for most of our stay. Both very knowledgeable and easy company.
Jeeps were open sided but surprisingly very comfortable - I normally get a few twinges if sat for so long but having plenty of leg room and ability to stand up helped make it all OK.
Lunch is buffet style with yet again a good selection.
Evening meal is waiter service and quantity wise along the line of fine dining so 5 courses no problem.
We saw loads of wildlife including the elusive Black Rhino along with the other big 4. -how elusive is it well our guide hadn't seen one in over 8 months.
Would we go again - definitely.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougie_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

This was the second part of our flying safari - was just as good as the first - the camp was beautifully maintained, the staff were all friendly, attentive and genuine the food was amazing and the menu had lots of choice. The atmosphere in the camp was brilliant and i loved lying in my four poster bed with my hot water bottle listening to bush babies and monkeys trampoling on the tent before i drfited to sleep. From our tent could see the river and as we arrived mother and baby elephant drinking. Our driver John was amazing, gentle, knowledgable and nothing too much trouble, he also treated the animals with great deal of respect which we really appreciated. would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytrippers186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaragoza
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The position of this lodge is great, lots of leopards and cats, the guides are very professional and so also the whole staff, great service under any point of view, but can be a bit too crowded in peak season but definetely reccomended . A place where you will be surely wish to come back.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed in Mara Camp for 2 nights but wish it could have been longer.nl 5mins drive from the airstrip. Tents are true luxury, with lovely furnishings, comfortable beds and large walk in showers with lovely hot water. Special touches of hot water bottles put in your bed when you are at dinner (and you need them cos its jolly cold at night) to early moning call with coffee, tea or hot chocolate and biscuits delivered to yor tent are very welcome and appreciated. The food at Intrepids is outstanding verging on al a carte. All staff are very friendly and like to chat. We got talking to two lovely security guards one evening who patrol the camp all night, this made us feel very safe and they even escorted us to our tent in the dark. The peace at night is only broken by the sound of animals down by the river (which the tents look over) but this adds to the atmosphere and reminds you you are in the Masia Mara. Game drives are outstanding and do take a bush breakfast out on the morning game drive as you stop overlooking the Mara River at a beautiful spot where hippos wallow in the river and crocs lounge on the banks Each game drive is exciting and the animals in abundance. Special thanks to Jon our young driver who was an excellant guide , very corteous,caring and knowledable for a young lad. Mara Intrepids is a wonderful place not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I can't really add anything to all the great things people have written about this camp. It was just perfect! We had a famiyt tent which was very convenient. It might have been a little difficult if the kids had been in another tent. Food was great, game drives amazing, staff couldn't have been more helpful. A truely memorable holiday!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3466traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,028 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#54 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
932 reviews
9.4 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing