We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveler rating
821
136
19
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
821
136
19
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our waiter kids club chef tom talek river game drives breakfast box hot water bottles wake up call four poster bed electric fence reuben family tent olkiombo airstrip tented camp black rhino hardwood floors safari guide
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 982 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2018

Stayed two nights as part of a Gate1 safari. Check in and out easy. Tent was luxurious for a permanent tent setting. Generator power, on most of the time. Plenty hot water. Wifi worked even at the tents. Good Cell coverage. Lots of great food choices: plenty of vegetarian choices. Late October 2018: hot water bottle provided for night warmth. A bit warm midday napping. Amazing bird call melodies near dawn and all day. We were land cruisered about Kenya, but there is a long smooth dirt runway regularly used airport within a mile. Saw all the wildlife you might expected in game drives right from the front desk. Very close to Maasai villages. Easy access to hot air balloon rides over the migrating animals. Very much recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank artthiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give your excellent feedback and we are grateful for choosing Mara Intrepids as one of the destinations of choice.
It is evident you had an amazing experience and the team is delighted that we all made your stay truly memorable. Thank you on the comments on the personalized service and the variety and quality food. The camp is located in the main game viewing areas assuring our guests of up close and amazing game drive experiences and I am glad you witnessed that.

I am glad to hear that you did the balloon ride and witnessed the wildebeest migration which is a unique phenomena.
We look forward to host you in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

We loved the location and that each tent was right by the river. The tents are nicely equipped with comfortable poster beds and nice bathrooms. Turn-down service with hot water bottles warming the sheets was heavenly, as the nights are quite cool. We would hear hippos during the night, which added to the ‘in the nature’ atmosphere. Game drives were great with lots of close encounters with elephants, lions and wildebeest. The migration was at its tail end, but we got lucky with large herds. We did the Hot-Air Balloon, Walking Safari and Bush Breakfast, which all are worth doing. An added plus is its own airstrip just 5 minutes away.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank marjaana2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post the excellent review on this forum and mostly for choosing to stay at Mara Intrepids during your recent safari.
I have shared the review with the team and they are glad that we made your stay truly special. Thank you for the comments on amazing experience from the game drives, turn down service and that you found the camps setting special.
We offer quite a variety of exciting additional activities and when you stay at camp for at least three days you get ample time to sample the same.
We look forward to hosting you during your next trip.

Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

The last stop on our Kenya visit was to Mara Intrepids and it was our favorite- the accommodations were lovely (reminded me of the Swiss Family Robinson tree house) and the dining experience was the best. The chef outdid himself!!! If you’re going to visit the Mara you should check out MI!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mara Intrepids and for taking time to give us feedback about your recent safari experience.
The team is delighted that out of the places you stayed Mara Intrepids stood out and it was the best. We delight in offering personalized and memorable experiences to our patrons and your comments motivate us to further the same.
We are glad you stayed with us and I am certain you have found a home in us.
Until next time, have the very best.

Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

We were a group of 8 people from India and Sri Lanka. The tented accommodation and the camp did live up to our expectation of utmost comfort in the thick of the wilds, which is a difficult feat to achieve.

There was special attention give to my elderly and ailing father by the staff, especially Nelson, who took good care of not just him but our entire group. Since we stayed for 4 nights, they organised a special dinner for our group too. The chef would prepare and pack good breakfast for our morning game drives, at times accommodating special requests too.

The airstrip is just a hop away from the tents (though we were not prepared for the delays in flights). You may not find a tea/coffee maker in the room, but it will be provided on request.

A relaxing pool and bar to take in dip in after a dusty game ride, and a spa right by the pool. Overall, an excellent and memorable stay.

Room tip: The rooms right by the river are the most serene with the best views
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheNightjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to give feedback about your stay at Mara Intrepids and for choosing our camp as your safari destination.
It is evident that your stay was truly memorable and the team is delighted that you experienced luxury in our services and product.
I have noted our shining star Nelson paid particular attention to your ailing dad to ensure you had an enjoyable stay and the compliments have been passed to him and he will be recognized by my team.
We look forward to hosting you on a repeat visit and the amny friends you will send our way.

Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

What a fantastic experience. From the pick-up at the airstrip, the wonderful warm welcome from everyone - Kevin and Mary Kate and Joseph and Stephen and everyone else!. And our most wonderful guide Jay. The tent right on the river where I could hear the hippos at night, the coffee & biscuits wake up call, the food...all fantastic. We were so privileged to see the migration crossing, so many lions, cheetahs, elephants and leopards! And sooo many wildebeest and zebra. Surprise sundowners and bush breakfasts...can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Guest,

Receive greetings from the Mara Intrepids team. Thank you for taking time to post the excellent review.

I am glad that you were impressed by the Intrepids welcome and the warm hospitality accorded by the team. Thank you for the comment on the wake up call which add to the personalized service we offer.
Our staff are our biggest asset and I am pleased to note they did exceptionally well to ensure your every need was met and that attention to detail was observed.
Thank you once again and we look forward to hosting you in the very near future.

Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews