We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the lodge in June 2013 after reading the reviews on this site. It came highly recommended by every tourist Internet site we enquired with and we were not disappointed. And I did go through a lot! From our arrival the staff were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. As with all the other reviews of the Lodge it was the same for us. The rooms were perfect, clean and tidy. A fresh supply of towels, hot water bottles and hot chocolate in the morning before your early game drive. Everything with this hotel seems to work. The game drives are the main focus of the trip and we stayed for 8 days and never got bored. Every game drive was different. Our guide Sammy was excellent. His knowledge was unbelievable and he went that extra mile for us to see everything. We saw the big five within the first two days. The trip to the Masai village is highly recommended. Although do take plenty of cash as it is not as cheap as you would expect. The early morning game drives start at 6 and there is usually about 5 people on your jeep which changes as throughout the week as people arrive and leave. Yo meet a variety of travellers from couples, families to lone travellers. It's not long before you all get chatting and enjoy the experience together.

Our waitress was Abi. She couldn't do enough for us and took time out to chat and share her experiences with us about her family and background which we loved. Our tent was number 32 which was at the fa end of the camp and a short walk from base camp where you can see a variety of animals both in daylight and darkness. ( Nothing dangerous ). There are guards on th trail for reassurance and the camp feels very safe. The first night is always and experience where you ge to grips with animals crawling on the porch and tent roof whilst you are snuggled with a hot water bottle. And you never tire of waking to the sounds of Baboons and Hippos.

A big thankyou o the Mara Intrepids team for making our stay an unforgettable experience. If any body wants to ask any questions that we can answer please ask. Fyster@ hotmail.co.uk

Ryan and Kirstie 33 yrs

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finster557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so glad you came, you stayed and you enjoyed. We all look forward to hosting you again soon.
We take note of the many names you have mentioned of Staff who did their job well. I am happy to advise that they all now enter a draw and maybe just be award winners of a special incentive arrangement that we run.
WE are so glad you came.
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 889 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

A fantastic honeymoon experience.

First class service, top quality food, amazing luxury 'tents' and the best location.

The wake up call service with fresh coffee and hot chocolate brought to your tent in the early AM before your first game drive is very welcome, as is the regular supply of hot towels to freshen up. This is only topped by the hot water bottle which is waiting for you in your bed as your return in the evening. The little touches make everything really special.

The location is incredible with giraffes and elephants roaming close by (but outside the actual site which is secure behind guarded gates).

The drivers are so knowledgeable and experiences. We named animals and he knew where to go and look for them. I don't think there is an animal we didn't see; we were even fortunate enough to see one of the few black rhinos still in the Mara.

The 'tents' are actually more luxurious than many hotels I've stayed in with lovely furniture, a four poster bed and his and her's sinks.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent overlooking the river (if you don't mind listening to it at night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teadrink3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for these special Bouquets. We have posted all of them on the wall of Fame so the Teammembers can see how appreciated they are.
We all look forward to hosting you again soon.
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Every staff member was exceptional, from transfer & greet at the airstrip (a walking distance to entrance of camp), to check in, to front office staff (Suzanne is helpful & informative). Couldn't have asked for a better 1st time safari. Tents are fabulous, and overlook the river (I had #12)..Restaurant staff is friendly and will always address you by name (kudos to my waiter, Tom)....they will remember your preferences and will be there to greet you at each meal. Food was excellent, and as vegetarian, I had choices. Room service/wake up call is prompt and efficient (thank you, John). Don't miss the nightly happy hour and slideshow presentation by Joseph, a Masai, who will update you on the history and culture of the tribes, as well as the wildlife. My guide, Katempo, was fun, knowledgable, and a cautious driver. We saw all big 5 and many more! Could not have asked for a better experience. Love Kenya, love the people...Thank you....Will return again...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joye96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hello Guest,
Thanks for this special tribute. Mara Intrepids is what it is because of the Associates and we are glad you enjoyed the services they delivered.
They are all elated that you enjoyed and they do invite you to visit again in the near future. Send your friends too.
Good Day.
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very good Location, convenient to the game park. The room was very nice, facilities and excellent staff. These were three day of wild and lovely staff. We will forever reminisces about our stay at the Mara Intrepids. We will Visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: Corner suites are good and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Indeed we all look forward to your next visit. Your wish will forever remain our command.
Good Day,
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at this beautiful and extra special tented camp. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful, the best service ever. Dixon, our driver- guide was outstanding. His knowledge of the area and animals is simply amazing. Beautiful property in a great location, our favorite camp!

Room Tip: We loved our tent #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
indeed Mara Intrepids is special. We noticed you had Dixon for a Driver Guide. He has been there for a long time and we feel honored to be his employers.
Now that you mentioned him, his name has been entered in our monthly incentive initiative and he may just win some special award if he turns out the best among equals.
We are so glad you came, you saw and you enjoyed.
The Mara Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Mara Intrepids on the Mara and we had another fantastic holiday. Our twins aged 9 years were keen to see Joseph the Masai tribe and adventurer club leader who kept them entertained for an hour each day. We were lucky enough to stay in the family tent which has 2 double beds and 2 singles plus a seating area, so lots of space for the four of us. We requested Silas to be our guide again as he was so knowledgeable and seemed to have the skill to find and describe almost all types of animals. The food, especially at dinner was delicious and offered a range of dishes that you would find in any five star hotel. All staff were friendly and great with the kids. We have started saving for next year already so we can get to see the elusive rhino.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hello,
Keep saving. Silas will be waiting for you and yes you will see the evasive Rhino. Tom the Chef will do his usual Magic and so will Joseph the Adventurers Chief We are all so exhilarated you came and most important that you made time to post your feedback.
We all look forward to hosting you again soon.
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here as a family of 5 and it could not have been better. Our tent was so comfortable and our safari guide/driver-Silus was amazing-he understood our requirements and his knowledge and understanding of the African animals and environment was outstanding. He went above and beyond what was necessary. Tom our restaurant waiter was just lovely and attending to all of our dining needs and John ensured our tent was comfortable with hot water bottles in our bed each night and a wake up call with coffee and biscuits. Our teenage kids just loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prvet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so honored that we made your stay memorable. The whole team looks forward to hosting you again soon. Do send your friends too.
As the Maasai Say. Ashe Oleng. Meaning Thank You so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,109 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
255 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#41 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
344 reviews
8.8 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
311 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#25 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $453 - $1,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing