We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience in the Wild”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best experience in the Wild”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very good Location, convenient to the game park. The room was very nice, facilities and excellent staff. These were three day of wild and lovely staff. We will forever reminisces about our stay at the Mara Intrepids. We will Visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: Corner suites are good and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Indeed we all look forward to your next visit. Your wish will forever remain our command.
Good Day,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    113
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
243
314
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at this beautiful and extra special tented camp. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful, the best service ever. Dixon, our driver- guide was outstanding. His knowledge of the area and animals is simply amazing. Beautiful property in a great location, our favorite camp!

Room Tip: We loved our tent #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
indeed Mara Intrepids is special. We noticed you had Dixon for a Driver Guide. He has been there for a long time and we feel honored to be his employers.
Now that you mentioned him, his name has been entered in our monthly incentive initiative and he may just win some special award if he turns out the best among equals.
We are so glad you came, you saw and you enjoyed.
The Mara Intrepids Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Mara Intrepids on the Mara and we had another fantastic holiday. Our twins aged 9 years were keen to see Joseph the Masai tribe and adventurer club leader who kept them entertained for an hour each day. We were lucky enough to stay in the family tent which has 2 double beds and 2 singles plus a seating area, so lots of space for the four of us. We requested Silas to be our guide again as he was so knowledgeable and seemed to have the skill to find and describe almost all types of animals. The food, especially at dinner was delicious and offered a range of dishes that you would find in any five star hotel. All staff were friendly and great with the kids. We have started saving for next year already so we can get to see the elusive rhino.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello,
Keep saving. Silas will be waiting for you and yes you will see the evasive Rhino. Tom the Chef will do his usual Magic and so will Joseph the Adventurers Chief We are all so exhilarated you came and most important that you made time to post your feedback.
We all look forward to hosting you again soon.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here as a family of 5 and it could not have been better. Our tent was so comfortable and our safari guide/driver-Silus was amazing-he understood our requirements and his knowledge and understanding of the African animals and environment was outstanding. He went above and beyond what was necessary. Tom our restaurant waiter was just lovely and attending to all of our dining needs and John ensured our tent was comfortable with hot water bottles in our bed each night and a wake up call with coffee and biscuits. Our teenage kids just loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prvet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so honored that we made your stay memorable. The whole team looks forward to hosting you again soon. Do send your friends too.
As the Maasai Say. Ashe Oleng. Meaning Thank You so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Mara Intrepids for three nights in early September, 2013. The location was conveniently located near one the airports in the Masai Mara, yet the Intrepids felt very isolated.
This is a great facility, with excellent tents and beautiful landscaping. Our tents (16 and 18) were located above a river--great views and very private.

The food was very good and we had excellent service. Our server, Francis, was a wonderful individual. He was charming, funny and always helpful.

Our driver/guide, Dennis, provided us with an amazing game viewing experience. I truly believe that you cannot find a better guide in the entire Masai Mara. We often found ourselves viewing lions, cheetas, and other animals only a few feet away with no other vehicles in sight.

On our last day, we were priveleged to watch the Great Migration with an action packed river crossing. this was in the morning. In the afternoon we teased Dennis about not seeing a rhino (probably no more than 40-50 in the entire Mara) or a leopard (we hadn't been looking for them). Within minutes of leaving the camp, Dennis took us to a rhino which we watched with one other vehicle. the rhino was out and about at a time of day when it shouldn't have been. We attributed this to Dennis' good luck.

Later that same afternoon, Dennis showed us his skills. He took us to a copse of trees with dense folliage. We waited for over thirty minutes while he scanned the trees, presumably looking for a leopard. Finally he asked us how many zeebras we saw. Huh? He then said look up. After a while, the breeze blew the branches apart and there it was--a dead zeebra high up in the trees. It took another forty minutes before the leopard returned, climbed the tree and began to have dinner.

Bottom line--We can highly recommend the Mara Intrepids and you really must ask for Dennis to be your driver/guide.

By way of comparison, we have stayed at Singita in South Africa and my reviews of other safari camps in Kenya and Tanzania were not this glowing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTruthIsOutThere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this review. It epitomizes the environment around the Mara Intrepids and its team members.
As you may know i respond to all postings on this forum and nothing makes me more happy than seeing very good comments flowing.
All the Associates you have mentioned will shortly be getting some recognition notes from the CEO.
We all look forward to you next visits and please send your friends too.
Kind regards,
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner, my son and I and four of our family members were fortunate enough to spend 5 nights during September 2013 at Mara Intrepids Camp. Our group ranged in age from 78 (my father-in-law) to 3 (my son).

The staff showed exceptional hospitality and kindness to us during our trip. They went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable, exceedingly well fed and extremely well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble for thestaff. In particular, they made a real effort with my 3 year-old son. For example, the manager, Steve, at the Mara Intrepids Lodge, went to a great deal of effort to have a beaded Masai warrior bracelet specially made for my son with the colours and shapes that he wanted (blue triangles) and in a size small enough to fit his wrist. This was after my son, James, admired Steve's bracelet and asked for one like it (the camp's shop did not sell them). When Steve brought him a bracelet similar to his own, James unfortunately wasn't happy with it (as it didn't have blue), and Steve then arranged for another bracelet to be specially made for him by one of the ladies in the local village (at no cost to us).

We also had the most wonderful waiter look after us at mealtimes, Francis, who was extremely attentive and helpful and no request was too much effort or trouble for him. He was polite dignified, helpful, attentive and made a special effort to accommodate every request we had. It was my partner, Kevin's, birthday on 11 September, and I asked Francis if he could possibly arrange for the staff to bake a cake for him, which Francis did – the most delicious cake – and also arranged (on his own initiative) for the Masai warriors that visited the lodge every two nights, to come sing to him. This special, personal touch was so appreciated by both Kevin and I – Francis really went out of his way to make that evening a special one for Kevin.

We also had a brilliant guide, Samuel, who was so knowledgeable about the area and the environment and he also made a real effort with my son. His driving was also absolutely excellent. We visit the bush in South Africa quite often and have spent many, many hours in a landrover, and so know what a skill it is to drive this well, especially on the very bumpy roads.

We found the accommodation extremely comfortable, and the food was exceptional. I have never eaten more desserts in one holiday. Even my very picky vegetarian sister ate more than she ever has in her life before! Each dinner was a five course meal, with food befitting a fine restaurant. The hotels also arranged a surprise breakfast in the bush one morning, complete with a guard (to keep wild animals away), a beautifully set table with linen and crockery, two tables of freshly cooked food, and the most beautiful bush toilet. The staff had, once again, clearly gone to a great deal of trouble to make the morning memorable for us.

We would most definitely stay here agin on our next trip to the Mara.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room - two tents joined together with a family room, excellent for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for this long review where clearly you have taken time to give us feedback on your experiences in the Mara.
Our CEO has already contacted you directly and this explains how much we value input from the Guests. This is what we use to plan for the future and keep improving our products and services so they reflect the face and needs of the Guests.
You will be happy to know that all the associates you have mentioned have had their names entered in a draw and they may just win some special goodies which are part of our reward portfolio.
We are also excited you stayed with the Mara Intrepids and we look forward to hosting you again. If you like we shall book for you your favorite driver and tents too.
kind regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived late September and flew into the masai mara. The Intrepids camp is 3 minutes drive from the airstrip. We were greeted with a drink and a towel, checked in and shown to our tent. Considering it was a tent the standard was excellent, four poster bed, hot water was available at certain times of the day and it was piping hot eventually. Night time's a hot water bottle was placed in the bed and the mosquito nets drawn around the bed. There was even wi-fi in certain areas albeit quite slow but I was impressed. The food was good with buffet breakfast and lunch, evening meal was waiter service with up to 7 courses, quality was good and the service good. The staff within the camp were wonderful could not do enough for you and so friendly. our guide and driver was Michael and he was great within 2 days we had seen everything, it was a good idea to take a breakfast box on the 6.30 Safari so you could travel further and you were out for about 5 hours. You could have a wake up call which consisted of Samson our room attendant bringing tea, coffee or hot chocolate and calling outside the tent nice and gently. I would thoroughly recommend this site and if choose not to come here, it is definitely worth flying into the mara near your camp. the reason I have not given 5 out of 5 is the pool needs some refurbishment and dont' believe you should pay for water at meal times. however I would give 4.5

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Mara Intrepids and most important for posting a review. We truly appreciate.
You have given us very ranking on most of the stuff and for this we do appreciate. You have also raised concern about Water with meals and the need for a better swimming pool. These points have been noted and are on my screen for resolution.
We are so honored you stayed with us.
The Mara Intrepids Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#54 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
932 reviews
9.4 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing