We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maasai Mara National Reserve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Maasai Mara National Reserve”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our 2 days/nights at The Mara Intrepids just couldn't get any better. The luxury tent was on a riverside site. We enjoyed the river roaring us to sleep every night, the hot water bottles to warm the beds and our wake up call at 6am with hot coffee and goodies to enjoy on our deck with the monkeys watching. Breakfast, lunch & dinner were enjoyed on an outside deck. The swimming pool was lovely. Everything was lovely!! The staff was excellent and strived to please. WiFi, gift shop and plenty amenities were ours to enjoy. Even enjoyed the swinging bridge over the river going to the safari vehicles!

Room Tip: Tents closer to "reservations" have a shorter walk to dining area, pool and shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Guest,
it is always our pleasure to make sure our Guests are elated. We are glad you made the Voyager
Kind regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    115
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
250
318
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was the perfect touch of luxury as part of a 3 week trip to Kenya and Uganda. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel rested and at home. The hot water bottles at night and wake up call with hot chocolate were a magical touch. Similarly the manager circulating around guests in the evenings was very impressive. The food was fantastic, a real feast each mealtime. A special mention to George and Abby who were quick to learn our names, most welcoming and highly attentive.
Despite it being rainy season we saw fantastic game and have photos to last forever.
Thank you all for making this such a special part to the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippa_gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Most grateful you got time to post a comment in the TripAdvisor. We all look forward to hosting you again soon.
The Mara Intrepids Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

On arrival from the Great Rift Valley Golf Lodge it was nice to get back to a Luxury Tented Camp! Our Tent was lovely and had everything we needed...comfy beds and even hot water bottles at night. How lovely and not really totally necessary but a lovely touch at the end of a long day. The hotel staff were excellent, and sorted a problem very swiftly with our Hot air balloon booking. We took the Hot Air Balloon ride and strated out at 4.30am in the morning, very early BUT very worth while!! The hotel pool was looking a little bit tired but was very refreshing for a midday swim. The restaurant and food choice was lovely and cultural talks so interesting, not to be missed. The fire pit near the bar and cocktails went down very well after fabulous Safaris with William our driver. We saw all the animals we had hoped to...and more. A highlight was the Hippos at the river crossing wher there were loads all making noises and enjoying the water.

Room Tip: There were no rooms that had fantastic clear river views in our experience but the Tents were excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you go to Mara Intrepids and you are really into adventures, I suggest you ask for Dixon as your Ranger. He will make your trip worth while. Aside from having really good knowledge about the wild life, he is HILARIOUS! and gets you closer than anyone to the scenes of action. We even had the cheetahs up in the roof of our Safari car (took great pictures). Each game drive was full of surprises, and I could say we had many close encounters thanks to his boldness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello,
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Mara Intrepids and indeed agree that Dixon is a Gem. He is currently one of the longest serving Drivers and has made all of us very proud.
We are glad you came.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The welcome and service through the hotel/lodge was good but not quite as good as that provided at a sister hotel in the Samburu. The safaris under the watchful guide, Paul were very good where we came up adequately close to lions, cheetahs, croc's, hippo's and many more. Could have spent more than the two days here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Mara Intrepids. I have taken note of your comparison of welcome experience between Mara and Samburu. I am sure this is a challenge to the Mara Team and they will want to rise to the occasion, yet congratulations are in order for our Samburu brothers.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our two night/three day safari adventure was booked one day in advance. We were completely satisfied with our whole visit! Sammy, our expert safari guide, driver, porter and smiling self was exceptional! Not only knowledgable, but Sammy is also patient and helpful as we indulged ourselves in hours of photographing the Masai Mara's wildlife! The waitstaff in the restaurant, especially Abbie were attentive and efficient. Edwin, the property GM, met us at the airstrip and continued to check on us throughout our stay. We came for a safari adventure but were thrilled with much more, our hot water bottles in our canopy beds at night were a special highlight. We also enjoyed our 3pm crepe treat before our evening safari drive! Thank you Mara Intrepids for helping make our life long dream of a Safari in Kenya come true!

Room Tip: Tents 1 & 2 and 11 & 12 are lovely and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Mara and we contributed to your Dream Holiday. We are waiting for your next visit.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We just spent 4 days at this very nice camp. The staff and guides were amazing. The tents are new, and feel very chic. They are large with decks overlooking a swollen river. The food was good, as was service. The game drives were out of this world. We even had a cheetah jump on our jeep.

One downside was two young guys who sat at the bar drinking from morning to night. They purported themselves to be professional safari guides, and seemed to be touting for business. The staff including managers did not mind this. They were also smoking in a non-smoking area. I just found this to be odd for an otherwise high class establishment.

Would go back for sure, and also take friends.

Room Tip: Any on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AccaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take note of your comment that a NON SMOKING area was being used to SMOKE and this will be corrected.
So glad you came.
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#55 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
323 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
927 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
942 reviews
23.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing