We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly safari camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

From the moment our charter flight landed at the airstrip next to the Intrepids Camp until when we departed four days later, we were charmed by the friendly "Jambo" greetings from the staff and their happy smiles. Our tent was spacious, had very comfortable beds, and OK bathroom area, but located some distance from the dining area and pool, with no real outlook. Not all tents have a view of the Talek River. Recommend taking a torch to negotiate the pathway at night and early morning. One small bother was that our tent was near the Massage room, and found that when some of the staff sat chatting there in the afternoons, and when they were frequently getting water from a tap right next to our bathroom it disturbed our rest time. They were not noisy, but in such a quiet place the sound imposes. Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - very good food selection, pleasant eating lunch under the trees, wake up call with hot chocolate and biscuits in time for early morning game viewing was appreciated, and entertained one evening by young Masaii dancers. We saw game that we had not encountered on a previous safari, so were thrilled to see hippos (especially while having breakfast near the hippo pool), leopard sighting, and cheetah and young.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Massage room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erskine10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hello Guest,
we are glad you enjoyed. The concerns noted and will be addressed immediately.
The Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
There are newer reviews for Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 846 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The accommodation, food, the game runs, our walk about in the Mara.... in short every minutes of our 48 hour two night stay was perfect! JOHN, our amazing guide went above and beyond to show us all that he knew was out there! We saw so much out on our early morning runs complete with breakfast under the Mara tree, then came back to the resort for a truly relaxing and enjoyable lunch... and off we went again for the afternoon/sunset game run...Wow! Our evenings were magical with a formal dinner and informative Massai presentation at the bar! Just Reseve, Pack up and Go! You will love it!

Room Tip: we had #18 and 19! River view!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaandsuninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Jambo,
Indeed. What a honor to have been of service to you. We are glad you came.
The Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Mara Intrepids Club in february. Our fantastic driver Silas Siele showed us the wild life with respect for the animals but understanding for our need for great photo ops.
Nelson treated us with great hospitality together with his colleagues, and Anna gave us massage.

Besides all lovely people working there I especially want to stress that Mara Intrepids Club has beautiful tents, situated by the river side. It is perfect in size, 30 tents, and the food was over all expectations. It has a boot camp trail for the ones with ants in their pants, and a pool with lovely fresh water for the lazy people.

I will certainly do everything i can to get back there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sernera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hello Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to hosting you again soon.
Good Day
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We 5 adults have just made our annual pilgrimage to Intrepids and it just gets better ! Our sincere thanks to Edwin , Nelson , Tappen , and John - all such lovely people - we still miss you ! great tents, perfect location and if you want to see the big cats well its unbeatable ! See you again next year. The Big Five !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newtonian_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hello,
It was such a privilege to be of service.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Mara Intrepids far exceeded our expectations - which were high! Our three night stay was due to be the pinnacle of our 2 week Kenya trip, and wow it was! From the minute we arrived, every member of staff was friendly and welcoming, in a really genuine way. Julius, who assisted us every mealtime, learned our names on day 1 and was fantastic. We generally struggled a bit in Kenya with late evening mealtimes for our 3 young boys (2, 4 and 6 years) but Mara Intrepids were great - they took special orders for the boys at lunchtimes and their food was brought straight away in the evening, no hanging around waiting for the adults to order or for different courses (there were 7!!!) to be finished before bringing the children's food, as so often happens in restaurants. This was really appreciated. The food itself was amazing - everything beautifully presented and tasted great. 4 out of 6 of our party are vegetarian and the choice was very good. As for our game drive guide, Sammy, he was outstanding. He found us amazing and new spectacles every drive and was very patient with our less-patient offspring. How he spotted a leopard's tail in a dense tree, whilst driving, I do not know!! Nothing disappointed, everything delighted. Very much hope to go on more drives with Sammy in the future - only animal not ticked off our list is the elusive black rhino, so certainly need to try again for that one! (Though if you're reading this Sammy, we did manage to see the black rhino that Oscar adopted in Nairobi before flying home!).

Intrepids is situated in a great spot - never drove long before spotting giraffe, a leopard, hippos, and so much more. The airstrip is also a handy 5 minute drive away. We even had the pleasure of seeing a plane surrounded by a dozen or more lions when we made a quick stop to pick up more passengers at a nearly airstrip. Such amazing memories.

I hope we will be fortunate enough to return to Mara Intrepids someday (hopefully soon!).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheWaltersFamilyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. WE do invite you to visit again.
Good day.
The Mara Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Holiday of a life time. This place completely exceeded our expectations in every way! From the moment we landed every single staff member we came across were just so genuine, friendly and helpful. We travelled with our 10 year old children who also have not stopped talking about their holiday at Mara Intrepids. They were at a great age - wouldn't recommend for younger children. Firstly our family tent was divine and so comfortable to come back to after the game drives, just as you see in the photos - amazing! Beds very comfortable, clean - perfect. Little touchs eg the hot water bottles at night, the morning wake up with the hot chocolates and tea and biscuits - perfect. We were right on the river - had a croc on the bank for our arrival and lots of action noises at night of things running through the river. No matter what time we came back in the morning our 'tent' had always been cleaned and was ready for us again. The food - AMAZING!!! So much food I felt like a hippo when we left. Nelson our personal waiter was lovely and did a fine job for us all and was great with the kids. George deserves a mention too - he does a fine job and is a real character. The wine we felt was good and not over priced. I can not fault the food or service here. The game drives - omg ! Silas our guide was so professional and worked so hard to ensure we saw as much as possible. He really made our holiday and I thank him so much for that. Very impressed with his driving skills too! The girl in the kids club ( I dont remember her name) - so lovely and great with the kids! My children are so not into kids clubs but she managed to convince them to go along with her - they finally did it on the last day and they loved it. Had they done it the first day they would have gone everyday. It was great having the pool to freshen off for the kids. You don't have a lot of time to sit around but it was nice having it there for the kids. The pool is fresh but its nice. You will not go wrong by staying at this wonderful camp. It totally was a holiday of a life time. I would love to return!

Room Tip: Our family tent was fab. It's nice to have the children in the same tent as you especially with...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralphnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hello Guest,
We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience at the Mara Intrepids. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were at Mara Intrepids for three nights during our stay in Masai Mara. The game drivers at Mara Intrepids are very experienced and do an exceptional job. The location is perfect and the tents are beautiful. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Well as for the rest, you really don´t feel the Masai Mara experience in this camp as it´s geared more towards the American tour operators. It´s more like the watered down Disneyland version.

The food is good, especially breakfast and lunch. I wasn´t all that impressed with dinner as it was nouvelle cuisine which I´m not a fan of. I really would have preferred a buffet as is done with lunch.

The camp does seem to have some security issues within the property as we were disturbed in our tent during a late hour by an intruder who was throwing objects at our tent and then running a pointed object along the length of the tent that frightened my girlfriend. I proceeded to phone security and the intruder must have heard this as we could hear him running away. The security people asked us for more information the following day but never heard anything further regarding the incident.

The camp is very nice but in my opinion, not really worth the money. There are so many other camps out there which don´t cost nearly as much and are excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hello Guest,
Thanks for this review. I will follow up on this security issue that you have raised. As you know the unit is in the Reserve and has an Electric Fence all round it. ideally therefore you would hardly get an intruder in such a surrounding. However I will take it up.
Have noted your other comments too.
Kind regards,
The Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#41 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
330 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#15 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
940 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
954 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#5 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $493 - $1,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing