We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Mara Intrepids far exceeded our expectations - which were high! Our three night stay was due to be the pinnacle of our 2 week Kenya trip, and wow it was! From the minute we arrived, every member of staff was friendly and welcoming, in a really genuine way. Julius, who assisted us every mealtime, learned our names on day 1 and was fantastic. We generally struggled a bit in Kenya with late evening mealtimes for our 3 young boys (2, 4 and 6 years) but Mara Intrepids were great - they took special orders for the boys at lunchtimes and their food was brought straight away in the evening, no hanging around waiting for the adults to order or for different courses (there were 7!!!) to be finished before bringing the children's food, as so often happens in restaurants. This was really appreciated. The food itself was amazing - everything beautifully presented and tasted great. 4 out of 6 of our party are vegetarian and the choice was very good. As for our game drive guide, Sammy, he was outstanding. He found us amazing and new spectacles every drive and was very patient with our less-patient offspring. How he spotted a leopard's tail in a dense tree, whilst driving, I do not know!! Nothing disappointed, everything delighted. Very much hope to go on more drives with Sammy in the future - only animal not ticked off our list is the elusive black rhino, so certainly need to try again for that one! (Though if you're reading this Sammy, we did manage to see the black rhino that Oscar adopted in Nairobi before flying home!).

Intrepids is situated in a great spot - never drove long before spotting giraffe, a leopard, hippos, and so much more. The airstrip is also a handy 5 minute drive away. We even had the pleasure of seeing a plane surrounded by a dozen or more lions when we made a quick stop to pick up more passengers at a nearly airstrip. Such amazing memories.

I hope we will be fortunate enough to return to Mara Intrepids someday (hopefully soon!).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheWaltersFamilyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. WE do invite you to visit again.
Good day.
The Mara Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 855 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Holiday of a life time. This place completely exceeded our expectations in every way! From the moment we landed every single staff member we came across were just so genuine, friendly and helpful. We travelled with our 10 year old children who also have not stopped talking about their holiday at Mara Intrepids. They were at a great age - wouldn't recommend for younger children. Firstly our family tent was divine and so comfortable to come back to after the game drives, just as you see in the photos - amazing! Beds very comfortable, clean - perfect. Little touchs eg the hot water bottles at night, the morning wake up with the hot chocolates and tea and biscuits - perfect. We were right on the river - had a croc on the bank for our arrival and lots of action noises at night of things running through the river. No matter what time we came back in the morning our 'tent' had always been cleaned and was ready for us again. The food - AMAZING!!! So much food I felt like a hippo when we left. Nelson our personal waiter was lovely and did a fine job for us all and was great with the kids. George deserves a mention too - he does a fine job and is a real character. The wine we felt was good and not over priced. I can not fault the food or service here. The game drives - omg ! Silas our guide was so professional and worked so hard to ensure we saw as much as possible. He really made our holiday and I thank him so much for that. Very impressed with his driving skills too! The girl in the kids club ( I dont remember her name) - so lovely and great with the kids! My children are so not into kids clubs but she managed to convince them to go along with her - they finally did it on the last day and they loved it. Had they done it the first day they would have gone everyday. It was great having the pool to freshen off for the kids. You don't have a lot of time to sit around but it was nice having it there for the kids. The pool is fresh but its nice. You will not go wrong by staying at this wonderful camp. It totally was a holiday of a life time. I would love to return!

Room Tip: Our family tent was fab. It's nice to have the children in the same tent as you especially with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralphnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hello Guest,
We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience at the Mara Intrepids. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were at Mara Intrepids for three nights during our stay in Masai Mara. The game drivers at Mara Intrepids are very experienced and do an exceptional job. The location is perfect and the tents are beautiful. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Well as for the rest, you really don´t feel the Masai Mara experience in this camp as it´s geared more towards the American tour operators. It´s more like the watered down Disneyland version.

The food is good, especially breakfast and lunch. I wasn´t all that impressed with dinner as it was nouvelle cuisine which I´m not a fan of. I really would have preferred a buffet as is done with lunch.

The camp does seem to have some security issues within the property as we were disturbed in our tent during a late hour by an intruder who was throwing objects at our tent and then running a pointed object along the length of the tent that frightened my girlfriend. I proceeded to phone security and the intruder must have heard this as we could hear him running away. The security people asked us for more information the following day but never heard anything further regarding the incident.

The camp is very nice but in my opinion, not really worth the money. There are so many other camps out there which don´t cost nearly as much and are excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hello Guest,
Thanks for this review. I will follow up on this security issue that you have raised. As you know the unit is in the Reserve and has an Electric Fence all round it. ideally therefore you would hardly get an intruder in such a surrounding. However I will take it up.
Have noted your other comments too.
Kind regards,
The Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My family spent two weeks on safari through Kenya and Tanzania. The Mara Intrepid was our first tented camp and our favourite accommodation overall. The staff were so friendly, the tents were very comfortable in fact they had the most comfortable beds in our 3 week holiday. The food was very tasty and plenty of variety. Vincent, our driver was amazing, funny and had a great knack for finding Lions. We thoroughly enjoyed our picnic breakfasts with him in the Masai Mara.
I would recommend Mara Intrepid to everyone especially families with young children because they had a fantastic kids club.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelPrincess025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hello,
Thanks for this wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed.
Good Evening.
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've just had part one of our great adventure in Samburu, fantastic.
Part two.
The Masi Mara is very different, big plains, and due to unseasonal rain, long grass & lot's of wet areas.
Our game driver , Raphael was so knowledgeable, found us all of the major animals, lion, lepard, rhino (1 of about 20 left), cheater, hippo, croc, hyena, elephant, buffalo and numerous other small anamials and birds.
The highlight was the final game drive before flying out when he found a mother cheater and her adolescent cub who joined us by using the roof of our lwb landrover as a viewing platform!

Room Tip: An excellent 5* tented camp with all mod cons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice-JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks for the support to the intrepids Camps. They are so diverse and one can not miss something to do as you discovered.
So glad you enjoyed immensely.
The Mara Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our last stay in Kenya and it outstanding & as good as the Intrepid camp we stayed at in Samburu. This camp is in the reserve so the safari starts at the gate which is wonderful as in most cases there is travel to the reserves. Once again the staff and facilities were fabtastic, the pool and massage was very refreshing after a day out on safari.

The food quality was fantastic & lay out of the camp even better than the last. It is larger buffet lunch which was nice as we over ate the entire trip, very hard to say no to good food and so much.

Unfortunately we had heavy rains at night which prevented the out door dinning but they more than made up for it the service and choices. This is a nice experience and you must do the hot air balloon.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Daz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hello Guest,
So glad you had a nice time. thanks for reverting with these wonderful reviews.
Good Day.
The Mara intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Africa and our first Safari. After many months of research and planning we decided to stay at the Mara Intrepids. We read all the reviews and looked through the pictures, and thought we would give it a try.

My husband was not sure about the whole "Tented Camp" thing, as we are used to very nice accommodations. Had we known it was this amazing we would have definitely planned on staying longer! It is a 5 star camp! I will say that the pictures of the tents look exactly as they show in pictures, however, one can not imagine until you see them just how great they really are. They were spotlessly clean, The views breathtaking, down comforters were luxurious, and room service was great!

We had read about the hot water bottles but didn't really appreciate this service until we experienced it! Our wake up call every morning was a tray of coffee or hot chocolate, and some cookies, at the time we requested to rise! We always felt safe, and absolutely loved the staff! We are long time cruisers (32 under our belts!) and are used to cruise ship service and food. Mara Intrepids food met all expectations and was delicious! We enjoyed our picnic breakfast that was packed (recommended by our guide, John) so we could stay out on our game drive longer!

Our driver, John, was very knowledgeable and accommodating, looking for all the animals we requested to see and staying as short or as long as we wished upon spotting them! He knew just were to go to see them.

If you are considering a stay at the Intrepids, book it before it is unavailable as you will not regret a minute of your stay! Our only complaint was we weren't there long enough to enjoy the full facility! The pool looked very relaxing. We are already talking about when we can return!

I am happy to give anyone who would like more detailed info should you have more questions! You can email me personally at kellie@apologia.com

Thank you, Mara Intrepids and staff, for the time of our life!
Mark and Kellie~

Room Tip: We had researched and requested 12 A and it was fabulous! Although there is not a bad tent area in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kellie1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks for becoming our Ambassador. We are so glad you enjoyed every moment of it and cant wait to host you again soon.
Good Day.
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,064 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,055 reviews
9.4 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#40 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
334 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
959 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $465 - $1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing