We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Camp in Masai Mara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Best Camp in Masai Mara”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We went to Mara Intrepids in September 2011. It's amazing place with 5* guest service, tents, food and game drives!
We got the best tent in a camp (tent nr. 26). Amazing view to Talek river and wildlife. It's was very good location for sun downer.
Tent - modern, clean, comfortable.
Restaurant - 5*. Amazing food and caring staff. Perfect choice of wines!
Game drive - our first visit of Masai Mara was in June 2011. So this time we has known what we really want to see. We got Big 5 in a first two game drives. Leopard was just 2 min drive from our camp, saw him many times during our 4 nights stay.

it's amazing place! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Best tent nr. 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Alex0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
It gives me great pleasure to read this wonderful review. Our policy in the Mara is "MAD". Making a difference. We are glad we made to difference to your experiences.
Good Day
The Mara Intrepids Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    113
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
242
314
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Never have I seen the delivery of service this flawless. The concept of "assigning" a game driver, a waiter, and a room attendant to a "party"(or group) is brilliant. This approach to service creates a strong relationship between the guests and the employees of Mara Intrepids. It was not uncommon to observe guests hugging their game drivers and waiters on the last day of a trip.
The area is stunning, and the abundance of animals is staggering. Mara Intrepids made this possible by providing three game drives a day. All other aspects of this place was above expectation.
This trip will be remembered forever.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are happy you had a nice experience in the Mara. Our most important asset are the People and we are elated they served you well.
I have sent your comments on our Wall of Fame for all the Associates to see.
Thank you for making it Mara Intrepids.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Mara Intrepids is a wonderful camp that we highly recommend. This was our first safari and it couldn't have been better. The staff was wonderful and catered to our every need, going above and beyond. Everyone is very helpful and friendly, always smiling. The food was fantastic. The dining staff (most notably John, Francis, Samuel, and George) was great. The tents were well-appointed and very comfortable. Great shower, toilet, sink; comfortable bed with mosquito-netting (although we never saw one mosquito our whole time there). The game drives went beyond our expectations. The guides are very knowledgable about wildlife behavior and the particular animals that live in the area. Our guide, Dennis, not only showed us every animal we wanted to see, he also taught us a lot about the area, animal behavior, and about the Masai people. We even learned some Swahili from him. It was like being in our own National Geographic film. The Masai Mara is a magical place and this was a life-changing trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback. I was the Manager of Mara between 1993 and 1997. I have since moved on to oversee the Operations of the whole Heritage Group of which Mara is part of.
My moments of rejoicing have been to see that most of the things we put in place right from early 1980s when Unit was started have been retained and improved on. These include an Awesome Game View Experience, Good Food, Hospitable Staff and making the place a Haven of Rest.
I am so glad this is your testimony too
I have shared these comments with my colleagues Dennis, Francis and the others you have mentioned. It is such Joy for all of us to have contributed to your comfort.
We thank you and wish you all well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at Mara intrepids for 3 nights whilst on safari. The accomodation is in luxury tents overlooking the Talek River. The tents are quite large with a lovely comfortable bed and an ensuite of double hand basins, shower and toilet. There is also a platform at the front of the tent with seats to enjoy the view .Breakfast and lunch is held in the garden amongst the trees and the evening meal is in a covered area. We were visited by Masai dancers in the evening and some of the guests joined in with them The food was very good and all the staff were excellent . After dinner a guard took us to our tent . Our early morning call was a staff member bringing hot chocolate and coffee before we went on our early morning drive returning back to Intrepids about 9am for breakfast. The shop at Mara Intrepids has a very good range of goods including Masai blankets. .A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thanks for feeding the stream with your Feedback. I have taken note of all the wonderful Bouquets and these will be shared with the Team.
Mara Intrepids aspires to be the best place ever to be within this part of the World and your feedback is invaluable in helping us reach this standards.
Keep watching this page as we address all issues that keep arising and sustain and maintain the Good ones.
Good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from our second visit to Mara Intrepids (we were there in July last year).
Once again we were looked after superbly - the luxury tents are extremely comfortable, the food is superb nad the game drives revealed the amazing variety of game and wildlife that are present on the Mara.
All the staff were charming and halpful, ensuring that our every need was met.
The proximity to Olkiombo airstrip is also a bonus as no time is wasted with transfers.
We recommend Mara Intrepids without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guests,
We are Glad you enjoyed every moment of your stay at the Mara Intrepids. You are correct we are two minutes drive from the Airstrip and so within a short time you can freshen up and waste no time in starting your adventures. We are also right in the Middle of the Reserve and in place least populated by Vehicles but with awesome numbers of Animals.
We are happy you have been here before and we can gladly refer to you as Family.
WE all look forward to having you again soon. You may know that on your subsequent visits you will benefit from some wonderful additions on the House like a Bush Breakfast, Free Bird Walk in the Unit and the Like.
The Mara Family says "Ashe Oleng" meaning thanks so much.
Good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Three women traveling to 3 different national preserves found the best at the end of the trip, Mara Intrepids Club, on the incredible Masai Mara. We were treated to an extraordinary tent- camp experience. with elegant mosquito-netted beds, luxury bedding, a tiled ensuite bathroom, a vanity with mirror, seat and electrical outlet, a storage closet and cupboard, and a sitting area including a desk and chair and a small refrigerator. To top it off, our deck overlooked the river where hippos, antelope, and baboon gathered. We could enjoy this sight safely behind the unobtrusive electrical fence, and the sounds in the night from the safety of our comfortable beds. The staff was exceptional in that they were available, friendly and truly eager to provide excellent service. And, kudos to the chef and kitchen staff for providing a variety of succulent meal choices. Our guide on the two daily game drives, Ag Grey, made sure that we experienced the Mara, seeking out places where we could view and photograph the wild and beautiful animals unobtrusively, up-close, safely, and away from the sometimes many other land cruisers. In total, it was the most extraordinary travel experience of my life. And, I know my companions would agree. Thank you Mara Intrepids Club!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BendPBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guests,
We have read your review for the excellent time you had in the Mara. We are humbled that we contributed to your overall experience.
I note your good comments on the Culinary Arts and have passed the feedback to the Team.
The Mara Intrepids Community is committed to "excellence" and I am glad you gave us an opportunity to exercise the same.
Good Day
The Mara Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We've just returned from our 4th visit to the Mara Intrepids since 2006, we love it there.

The tents are amazing with wooden floors, four poster bed(s), a shower and flushing toilet - my kind of camping !

You are awakened at your requested time each morning with your choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate, perfect before heading out on safari. You have the choice to do 3 game drives a day or, what we do, take our breakfast with us and stay out all morning, come back for lunch then go out for our afternoon drive.

The staff at the camp are both friendly and helpful - all of them. I'm quite a fussy eater but even I never struggled for something to eat. Lunch is a buffet set up with varied choices of hot and cold food. Dinner is 4 courses which you pick from the menu, there is always plenty choose from.

Special mention to Frances & Abby in the restaurant who made every meal that bit more enjoyable. Also to our guide, the wonderfully brilliant Vincent who knows the Masai Mara like the back of his hand, he was just amazing - again.

We love the Masai Mara and love staying at the Mara Intrepids, we've never thought about going to another camp, just can't see how anything else could be better.

Until the next time . . . . which will hopefully be next year :o)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandydonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this review. I have noted your kind remarks about Abby, Francis and the Driver Guide. I have posted their names on the "Wall of Shame"
I notice you enjoyed the Morning Wake up Call and what comes with it and you enjoyed the Culinary experiences. And yes, Mara Intrepids is a Luxury Tented Camp.
It is always our pleasure to have repeat Guests and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#55 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,022 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
931 reviews
9.4 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing